or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Royal Hotel

2 Rajdamnoen Avenue, Khaosan / Grand Palace, Bangkok, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Rattanakosin Hotel
Royal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/Terrace Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/Terrace Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Bathroom Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Interior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Interior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Bathroom Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior
Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Garden Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Swimming Pool Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Facilities Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room
Area: Khaosan / Grand Palace Number of Rooms: 300

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
644 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.5
Room Comfort/Standard
6.7
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (644)
Sort by:
Gordon R. Couples United States of America, December 1, 2014
Royal Hotel BKK

Close to shops, cost, other guests
6
The main parts of the hotel are unique in an old classic way. The room we stayed in had a strange odor and the bedding could have been nicer and it would have made a big difference in our enjoyment.
Gregory H. Families with older children United States of America, November 21, 2014
Great location but dated facility and room

Location
6.3
The location of the hotel couldn't be better, however the traffic and street noise was very loud depending on where your room is located. The hotel and rooms are dated and could use some upgrading. Also, they charge for the use of Wi-Fi . Not a bad deal, but would try to get a room away from the main road if staying there again.
Helen A. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 15, 2014
Royal hotel

Location for temples was good.
6.3
The reception staff were very unfriendly, wifi was only available in the lobby and at 150 baht for 2 hours, my room smelled of smoke but when I said that it did, they told me I was wrong. Breakfasts were fine and the doormen friendly. I wouldn't choose to go back.
Jeffrey W. Solo travelers Australia, November 8, 2014
As good as ever

food, cleanliness and staff
8.7
I have reviewed this hotel many times, and always very favourably. Friendly staff, big rooms, the most comprehensive breakfast of any hotel I have ever stayed at, and an unbelievable cheap buffet lunch. My only criticism is the lack of wifi and internet access and the antiquated TV's in the rooms .But nobody is perfect
Elena G. Couples Russia, November 4, 2014
great location

located close to Khao San and Grand Palace, 10 min+1 min ferry to Wan Arun, known by all the taxi and tuk-tuk drivers
8
pleasant
Robert B. Couples United States of America, October 6, 2014
The hotel is old and no repairs. No hot water.

It was near where we had to go. I wouldn't stay here other than location.
5.7
I stayed here 10 years ago and it was adequate now rooms are small, shower is terrible, no hot water, beds old and worn. Lots of noise from traffic in the street. Used to have cable tv now only BBC and Thai stations. Plus Agoda.com charged 300 baht more than Sawadee.com for the same room.
Jane E. Solo travelers New Zealand, July 4, 2014
Old fashioned gem but a little shabby

Location, breakfast, swimming pool
7.3
The older part of the hotel is a little shabby these days although it still retains a certain amount of its "art deco" character; fantastic location - close to Grand Palace, the River, Khao San road area etc. Excellent breakfasts. Staff very helpful getting taxis. Disappointing no public access to Internet. Lovely swimming pool
Jeffrey W. Solo travelers Australia, May 13, 2014
Bangkok never changes

spacious rooms, friendly staff, breakfast variety
7.7
I have stayed at the Royal many times, it doesn't change and is comfortable
S S. Solo travelers Singapore, March 9, 2014
no loby sofas

hair salon, good view and small pool
4
not so good; aircon not so cold; hotel not good staff do not understand
Charles S. Solo travelers United States of America, March 5, 2014
a nice older hotel

It's location
8
My stay there was because it was the joining hotel for a small group tour going to Phnom Penh. Nothing special about this hotel. It was about what I had expected.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Royal Hotel BangkokRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/TerraceRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/TerraceRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - BathroomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - InteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - InteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - BathroomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - GardenRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Swimming PoolRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - FacilitiesRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Royal Hotel, Bangkok

AS-AGWEB-3B02