or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Royal Hotel

2 Rajdamnoen Avenue, Khaosan / Grand Palace, Bangkok, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Rattanakosin Hotel
Royal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/Terrace Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/Terrace Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Bathroom Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Interior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Interior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Bathroom Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior
Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Garden Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Swimming Pool Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Facilities Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room
Area: Khaosan / Grand Palace Number of Rooms: 300

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
658 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.5
Room Comfort/Standard
6.7
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (658)
Sort by:
Rio C. Couples United Kingdom, January 15, 2015
perfect location and comfy stay

Bed, location and peaceful
7.7
Quiet, comfortable and basic. Easy to get a tuk tuk from outside the hotel. 2 min walk to koh San road. Friendly and helpful staff. Needed airport transfer included.
Richard G. Business travelers United States of America, January 11, 2015
Over the karaoke

Location
6.7
Was given a room above the karaoke bar which vibrated the walls till after midnight
Karin A. Couples Sweden, January 10, 2015
Perfect location for our needs

Good location to tourist attractions.
9
Perfect location for our needs between the weekend market, Victory Monumet, China Town and the Royal Grand Palace. Will come back next time.
Sandra P. Couples Canada, January 8, 2015
Run down once majestic hotel

The location and pool are only good points.
4.7
Our air conditioning was not working. We were not asked if we wanted non-smoking room and there put in a smoking room. Paint was peeling off the inside of the bathroom door. The wooden deck around the pool is a mess - broken and missing boards. The pool furniture is rusty and a lot of that looks like flea market finds. This is our 7th visit over the years to this hotel and will be the last. Location is the only benefit.
Ann F. Couples Sweden, December 29, 2014
The location

Location, clean room, Nice staff
7.3
Okay
Anne D. Couples Australia, December 28, 2014
An old favourite

cleanliness, service and security; location, character and price
9
The Royal Hotel is an old favourite in a great spot close to Banglamphu. It is very clean with just the essential nod to modernity. There is a good choice of room sizes and service is great and without fuss. The Royal is quiet and just a short walk to the peaceful river area, ferries, quirky bars and restaurants as well as the noisy, glitzy, a little bit crass Khosan area. This hotel is great value.
Gordon R. Couples United States of America, December 1, 2014
Royal Hotel BKK

Close to shops, cost, other guests
6
The main parts of the hotel are unique in an old classic way. The room we stayed in had a strange odor and the bedding could have been nicer and it would have made a big difference in our enjoyment.
Gregory H. Families with older children United States of America, November 21, 2014
Great location but dated facility and room

Location
6.3
The location of the hotel couldn't be better, however the traffic and street noise was very loud depending on where your room is located. The hotel and rooms are dated and could use some upgrading. Also, they charge for the use of Wi-Fi . Not a bad deal, but would try to get a room away from the main road if staying there again.
Helen A. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 15, 2014
Royal hotel

Location for temples was good.
6.3
The reception staff were very unfriendly, wifi was only available in the lobby and at 150 baht for 2 hours, my room smelled of smoke but when I said that it did, they told me I was wrong. Breakfasts were fine and the doormen friendly. I wouldn't choose to go back.
Jeffrey W. Solo travelers Australia, November 8, 2014
As good as ever

food, cleanliness and staff
8.7
I have reviewed this hotel many times, and always very favourably. Friendly staff, big rooms, the most comprehensive breakfast of any hotel I have ever stayed at, and an unbelievable cheap buffet lunch. My only criticism is the lack of wifi and internet access and the antiquated TV's in the rooms .But nobody is perfect

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Royal Hotel BangkokRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/TerraceRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/TerraceRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - BathroomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - InteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - InteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - BathroomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - GardenRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Swimming PoolRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - FacilitiesRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Royal Hotel, Bangkok

AS-AGWEB-3B06