or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Royal Hotel

2 Rajdamnoen Avenue, Khaosan / Grand Palace, Bangkok, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Rattanakosin Hotel
Royal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/Terrace Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/Terrace Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Bathroom Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Interior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Interior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Bathroom Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior
Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Garden Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room Royal Hotel Bangkok - Swimming Pool Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Exterior Royal Hotel Bangkok - Facilities Royal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room
Area: Khaosan / Grand Palace Number of Rooms: 300

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
627 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
6.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.5
Room Comfort/Standard
6.7
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (627)
Sort by:
Jane E. Solo travelers New Zealand, July 4, 2014
Old fashioned gem but a little shabby

Location, breakfast, swimming pool
7.3
The older part of the hotel is a little shabby these days although it still retains a certain amount of its "art deco" character; fantastic location - close to Grand Palace, the River, Khao San road area etc. Excellent breakfasts. Staff very helpful getting taxis. Disappointing no public access to Internet. Lovely swimming pool
Jeffrey W. Solo travelers Australia, May 13, 2014
Bangkok never changes

spacious rooms, friendly staff, breakfast variety
7.7
I have stayed at the Royal many times, it doesn't change and is comfortable
S S. Solo travelers Singapore, March 9, 2014
no loby sofas

hair salon, good view and small pool
4
not so good; aircon not so cold; hotel not good staff do not understand
Charles S. Solo travelers United States of America, March 5, 2014
a nice older hotel

It's location
8
My stay there was because it was the joining hotel for a small group tour going to Phnom Penh. Nothing special about this hotel. It was about what I had expected.
Athanasios P. Solo travelers Greece, February 28, 2014
bad

near to interesting places
6
Stayed here a few years ago when it seemed that an old 5 star hotel that without maintenance dropped to 3 star hotel was a good choice and it was! Now the story is different, the hotel stayed the same and looks like a 2 star hotel although you are paying for a 4 star one (bangkok pricing standards). The staff is terrible, they hustled me...they required a print of my booking, the ref no. was not enough! When asked for the internet code in order to show them my booking (I had a laptop with me) they wanted to sell me an internet scratch card. They charged me for using their own computer so that I could log in at my emails and show them agodas receipt!! The hotel is falling apart! The staff is rude and insufficient, no common sense, no manners. Expensive hotel compered to what you can find at Bangkok on that price range!
Allen E. Groups Australia, February 26, 2014
Older style hotel in great location

Location, location, location!
6.3
Generally comfortable but is showing its age. Wifi is expensive and only available in the hotel lobby. The only hotel that I stayed in during 5 weeks in south east asia that charged for wifi. Th rooms along the road are noisy. I was kept awake by traffic and music. Double glazing should be considered for these rooms. Great location near the Royal Palace, temples and nightlife.
Melissa S. Business travelers Germany, January 26, 2014
A nice stay

I can not recommend it
3.7
Not a friendly staff, animals in the room, person sleeping in the street, very dirty the outside part
Graham C. Couples United Kingdom, December 28, 2013
enjoyable

location. friendly staff.
8
Stayed here many times on my visit to Bangkok. Close to the Grand Palace and Koshan road.
Faye H. Solo travelers New Zealand, December 22, 2013
Interesting - see comment below.

Clean, not noisy because we had a room not near the front of the hotel.
5.7
Unfortunately we were there at the time of the protests against the government and our hotel and this part of Bangkok were overrun.
Sofia B. Couples Sweden, December 20, 2013
Budget hotel but nice surroundings

Near a night market, khaosan road and a budget hotel
6
The hotel is in need of renovation. The room was clean but small and smelly. It's easy to grab a taxi just outside the hotel and a relatively new night market with barely thai people is located opposite the hotel. Great prices and a lot of different things to buy. The hotel is also next to Khaosan road. The hotel is great to stay at if you want to visit khaosan but want to avoid the noise during the night.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Royal Hotel BangkokRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/TerraceRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Balcony/TerraceRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - BathroomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - InteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - InteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - BathroomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - GardenRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Swimming PoolRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorRoyal Hotel Bangkok - FacilitiesRoyal Hotel Bangkok - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Royal Hotel, Bangkok

AS-AGWEB-3A07