or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Royal Lanna Hotel

119 Loykroh - Night Bazaar Road, T. Changklan, A. Muang, Night Bazaar, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50230 (Show on map)

Book now!

Royal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Restaurant Royal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming Pool Royal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Interior Royal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Exterior Royal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room Royal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and Beverages Royal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room
Area: Night Bazaar Number of Rooms: 274
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
1397 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (1397)
Sort by:
Pinto J. Solo travelers Singapore, November 29, 2014
Wish the hotel could be better.

The best thing about Royal Lana was its location. Room was spacious and had good view of the city. Big hotel with good breakfast.
7.7
Having stayed in a different hotel in chiang mai, I truly appreciated the location of Royal Lana hotel. Just right in the heart of the night bazaar with lots of restaurant and massages nearby. Bars aren't too far away either. The entrance to the hotel was pretty grand and being one of the taller buildings in the vicinity, it offered a great view of the city. However, upon entering the room, I felt as though I stepped back in time and was entering a room in the 90s. Everything felt old in the room, with the interior design, TV, aircon, furnishing and lighting similar to that of the 90s. With all that said, the room was generally clean and livable. Aircon and hot water working well. Unfortunately, no in-room safe. But they compensated that with safety boxes at the reception. The room doors were also pretty flimsy with only a knob lock for the door. The buffet breakfast was good, really enjoy it. Staff were friendly and willing to help. Also have a private carpark in case you're planning on renting a bike. I really do hope they renovate and modernize the rooms a little and make some changes to the doors and upgrade to keycards instead of the traditional key with huge room number keychains. This would make Royal Lana a great place to stay in Chiang Mai.
Carl S. Couples Canada, November 28, 2014
Good value, excellent location

location, location, location
8.3
wifi reception was spotty and in this day and age it is very important. Consistent stream of hot water for a shower was an issue.
Dome R. Families with older children Thailand, November 27, 2014
Royal lanna weakness

Not as expected , renovation needed urgently
4.3
We need cleanliness
Andrew C. Couples Singapore, November 25, 2014
Excellent hotel

location, cleanliness, large rooms
8.3
Chiang Mai is only a 3 hour flight from my home in Singapore so it's very convenient for short breaks. Royal Lanna is well located in the heart of the Night Bazaar area so it's very convenient for shops, markets and restaurants not too mention the famous night bazaar with its hundreds of stalls. It has a swimming pool which is both adult and child friendly and it's clean and well maintained and ideal for sunbathing and having a dip. The rooms are big, spotlessly clean and although not important to most tourists I would have prefered a more modern TV as we do not go out at night. It's perhaps an issue the hotel could consider although for most tourists its not important as they will be out and about at nighttime. The buffet breakfast is extensive, catering for both Asian and Western tastes. The food is fresh everyday and it's so tasty we tended to overeat. For the first time we used the hotel coffee shop which I would describe it as a "hidden jem". The food menu is excellent, it's presentation is very skilful and thoughtful which makes a very refreshing change to the rough and ready service and overcooked food you will experience at the nearby pubs and restaurants. The Royal Lanna is not the most modern hotel but it has a timeless quality and classy atmosphere .... it is an elegant hotel as can be observed by relaxing for a while in it's magnificent foyer .... very stylish The reception staff are both efficient and friendly and it's a pleasure checking in and having a wee chat. Usually we book a superior room but this time we decided to treat ourselves and booked a deluxe room for 200 bhat more per night. But really other than adding an armchair it provides no added value over the superior room which is the same in all other respects ... so go for the superior room and have a nice meal in the coffee shop with the saving.
Say K. Families with young children Singapore, November 25, 2014
big room but everything look old

location, value for money and friendly staff.
6.7
The staff is very friendly, the room of the hotel is very big but old, the bed is too soft for me the pool in the hotel small but clean, but for the price we paid is worth for the money.
William H. Couples Australia, November 20, 2014
getting old but good value

Location price
8.3
The hotel has a perfect location within walking distance to the night bazaar. Although it is getting older we had a great time here and I would not hesitate to choose this hotel in the future. Great value for money, great location couldn't ask for more.
Nerida M. Groups Australia, November 16, 2014
Great location

Location, price & ease
8.7
Good
Anthony C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 14, 2014
Good Hotel

location, quiet, breakfast.
9.3
Very nice staff to welcome you on arrival. The location is close to the night market, bars and restaurants. The swimming pool was clean but quite small. The room was a good size and located on the 16th floor which meant that it was quite and with good views. Our stay was very pleasant and we recommend this hotel.
Tong G. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 11, 2014
Old clean hotel

Nice view of the night sky during Loy Krathong
6.7
Although it looks dated (80s?) the room was well maintained. The rooms are spacious and the basics are all there. The aircon and compressor are noisy, so please bring ear plugs. Plus point: large window overlooking the mini skyline of Chiangmai's night bazaar. Great to view the lanterns during Loy krathong. Same old breakfast. Eggs and bread and assorted Thai dishes. I normally skip it to catch up with more sleep. Overall not bad considering the price and location.
Ronald N. Solo travelers United States of America, November 9, 2014
Great Location Royal Lanna

Location was good, Staff is Friendly, Rooms rates are very reasonable.
6.3
My staff was ok, The rooms needs some work the hotel is old. There is no air conditioning in the hallways. I guess when considering the price it is ok. The stay are very friendly and they try to help you however efficientcy is not great. If I had to I would stay there again however it was not something I was used to.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Royal Lanna Hotel Chiang MaiRoyal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - RestaurantRoyal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolRoyal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - InteriorRoyal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - ExteriorRoyal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomRoyal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Food and BeveragesRoyal Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Royal Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

AS-AGWEB-3A07