Back to hotel info

Very good 7.3
Based on 2407 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2407 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.0

klaus B. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Good choice in Low season
Sometimes price
The FX offers decent sized clean rooms it seems either the change of season or policy is increasing the price lately by the week so make sure you realize that all good comments in here consider the sometimes fantastic deals they have. With five hundred Baht plus they are now in a range where you can get better deals in Chiang Mai.The Staff is very friendly but internet only works proper close to the router as I need to download and make calls via skype a lot for business i needed to change room twice until I had a room right next to the router.But the staff was always very service orientated towards my request.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

THONGCHAI S. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
room
room very clean and nice
room very clean and nice hifi internet, we introduce you to stay this hotel
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Alexius P. from Singapore
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Cheap, basic and somewhat close to town
At least it is recently renovated and clean
This is a very spartan hotel which will feel very "budget" or slightly higher than back packer. You will get a room with clean beds, a newly renovated toilet and shower, a tv set, two bottles of complementary drinking water and not much else... In fact, this hotel doesn't even have its own dining area, if you need to dine, you need to walk 100m to the Peninsula Hotel. Most packages to this hotel are really cheap, but don't come with breakfast. If you want the breakfast, you walk to the Peninsula too. The Panerai is located just outside the Chiang Mai old city moat on the north end. You can walk to the night markets and many other famous Thai temples, if you figure out where is the best place to cross the moat (or river...). Most taxiand tuk tuk drivers will have no idea where this hotel is. And also it is slightly hidden away from the main road...so not easy to find. (Here's a tip...use google maps to search for this hotel, and then click STREET VIEW and you get some idea of where it really is and what the street it is located looks like). There is a 7-11 right at its doorstep (where you can buy hot coffee self-service) and a small restaurant which sells chicken rice and noodles. There is a gym somewhere in the hotel (no pool) but we didn't use it. Overall, it is a really budget 1-star hotel; the rooms are air-conditioned but the corridors are not. We got a really really low price from Agoda, but otherwise, we would not stay here.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Wolfgang W. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
ooooppss, i did it (booked it) again
best value for money in all of Chiang Mai, free Wifi
okay, so as previously announced, I again had to travel to Chiang Mai and again chose the Panerai for its extraordinary good value for money (room only). no other place in Chiang Mai offers such decent 3-star facilities for such a low rate of just little more than eleven Euro. free Wifi worked again, and the staff was friendly as always. for a more detailed review, just scroll down a little to read my earlier reviews of May 2012.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

ELENA K. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Great value hotel
Large, clean rooms at good price
the hotel is good value offering large air con rooms with toiletries etc outside city wall but still within walking distance to all.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

ben E. from Israel
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
excellent valeu for money
staff was superb !!
Great location ,5 min walk from the center and 15 min from the night bazzar staff was extremely happy to help, we even celebrated a birthday there so they helped organizing a surprise and put balloons in the room ang bought a cake Great atmosphere, great smiley people
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Randy K. from United States
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
Great hotel, quiet, clean good price!
Quiet, clean, price great.
Great place, staff is quite polite, rooms are quiet and clean and it is a bit away from the crazy part of town but not too far away (walking distance).
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Sakunlawan B. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Good price nice staff
Best staffs
staffs have best service mind and support anything you requested. the room is big, clean and comfortable. the hotel location is quite good, you can take the bus to other places in chiangmai city easily. there is car rent service and tour, it is not expensive. breakfast is good. i will be back and stay here again.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Lee K. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
Clean room with good location
Best value for money
Clean large room with large bed . Bath toiletteries provide free if charge. Towels are old but clean. Free wifi which is exellent. Only problem is no restaurant n coffee place inside hotel
Reviewed June 10, 2012

nipatta C. from Thailand
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Great location and good for the price
Good location ,very cheap and free wifi
The staff is very friendly, location is okay . Best deal. !!
Reviewed June 10, 2012