arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.3
Based on 2350 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2350 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.0
Verified reviews

5.3 Jerry M.
United States
January 14, 2012
Hotel is average but has poor wifi reception
Had a good breakfast buffet (in another hotel a block away) many English TV channels
At the Royal Panerai we thought that the bathrooms were badly laid out and the rooms a bit small and noisy. Also had spotty to poor wifi reception. After 2 nights we moved to their sister hotel the Royal Pennesula a block away. Got a deluxe room much larger, nicer layout and balcony with view and good wifi reception. Recommend this hotel over the Panerai even thought it is a block further away from City Central.

3.3 Paninee S.
Thailand
January 13, 2012
Bad Service Ever!!!!!
location
I'm not impressed w/ this hotel at all. All the staffs are not service - minded. On the first day w/ our late check in, they already mentioned that we needed an extra bed, but they put us to two beds instead. When we called front office, a staff said there should have an extra bed (his tone seemed like we lied but why we had to lie). Anyway, it was ok for us cuz we just needed to rest during our New Year Days. Another day my friend just deposited our key w/ the front office. Unfortunately, I forgot sth. One of the front said to me why I needed my key???? Wasn't this strange? Then he gave me the wrong one and told me that I owed the hotel 250 baht -- but already paid thru algoda and it was our first day. I asked him to look at the room no at the key again and also checked the name of the person who stayed in that room. I'm thai but the guest's name is Anna, an european foreigner!! What was wrong w/ the service of the hotel!!! No safty at all...they don't remembered their guests...this show that anybody could get into our room!! The breakfast was so bad -- the servers served w/ mouth full of foods!! Moreover, we were not familiar w/ 0chiangmai, so we asked the front office again. He said 'I'm so sorry. I'm too busy. But u can ask the security guard at the parking lot.' I'm not impressed w/ this hotel at all and I won't go back or recommend anyone to stay there. The price is not worth to stay. And its not an excuse of the hotel of having a long holiday. No satisfaction a bit when we were there. We wanted to leave for the first day but since there hadn't had any places available.

7.7 kittichai P.
Thailand
January 11, 2012
good decent budget hotel
good price, nice and clean room
hotel room is nice and clean. the price is very attractive.

8.3 Konrad K.
Australia
January 10, 2012
Good value in Chiang Mai
large rooms
very good choice for budget travelers. nothing much to complain here for the price. rooms are spacious and quite well equipped. i extended my stay here a few times because of the good value and convenient location.

6.3 Yuphaphon H.
Thailand
January 09, 2012
great staffs
cute small garden infront of the hotel
my husband and i had stayed there for 3 nights, the room we got was a little bit too dark, the bathroom was smelly and the wall is too thin...you always hear noise outside the room and it was really interup my sleeping. other than that staffs were nice, the buffet were resonable and it was worth of the money.

5 Ram T.
United States
January 08, 2012
Great location, lousy hotel
Great location & cheap
The room was not insulated or sound proofed at all. It is probably one of the loudest hotel rooms I have ever stayed at - 1/2 cm gap around the door. Heard everything going on, on the same floor - loud and clear. Internet is spotty as the antenna is not located correctly. Lousy shower - water was not even warm with the instant warmer. Lousiest ABF ever experienced. Lousy bed, could not sleep. Same ownership and/or management. Had to walk there one morning for b'fast - about 200 m. Same conditions.

8 Brian C.
Ireland
January 07, 2012
Clean hotel with good service
The hotel is located just of the north east corner of the old town - easy access to the city
rooms clean and large with balcony breakfast is adequate with a mainly asian selection wifi can be problematic. staff are helpful and also provide information on the local tourist attractions

6.3 Noah K.
United States
January 07, 2012
okay hotel with mediocre service
good location
many mosquitoes in the room, but clean, and close to many attractions in chiang mai. supposed to have wi-fi but was inconsistent although there is a computer in the front room with internet access

9 Jeff R.
United States
January 02, 2012
Great basic rooms for the price - highly recommend
Value and location
Great location just outside the city walls so there's less noise but extremely easy access to the old city. Basic clean rooms for the price and the staff bent over backwards to help.

8.7 Wolfgang W.
Germany
December 30, 2011
good again, top-value in CM for single traveller
Value for money, free WiFi, big clean room
It was my third stay at this hotel, and as I have been staying in more than 15 different places in CM over the year, I know where I can get great value for money. Depends what kind of traveller you are. If you are one of those who prefers to stay at tiny, dark, worn rooms in "guesthouses", and think this is the "spirit of CM", then the PANERAI is not for you. But if you prefer clean and top-value NON-NONSENSE-accommodation, then the PANERAI is a very good choice. particularly for single traveller, as booked through agoda you can opt for single occupation, which makes the room even cheaper (as there is only one breakfast included then). really, for that amount of money you will not get any better value for money, considering the fact that the WiFi is now FREE (last time I stayed there was hundred THB per day if I remember that right), and there is a pretty decent breakfast-BF included - just keep in mind that 95% of the guests are Thais and the food is geared towards them. The rooms are of a decent size, spotless, good-sized bathroom. mattress firm but not as hard as a rock. Locationwise it is a stone-throw away from the SRIPHUM-corner of the moat, where shared Sawngthaews and TukTuk can be hailed down almost immidiately. About 15 minutes walk to Thapae Gate, if for some reason you want to hang out at the tourist-Ghetto. The breakfast is usually being served in their sister-property Royal Peninsula (which is more expensive and not half as good value as the Royal Panerai), a walk of about 200 Meters down the road, which should not bother you at all. I actually planned to stay 4 nights, but could only stay 3 nights, as it was full the last day of my stay in CM. Full on a regular weekday - this says all. If you are not scared to mingle with local guests and don't require to stay at Tourist-Ghetto accomodation, I strongly recommend this great Non-Nonsense Hotel. Easily the best Value for money in CM for a single traveler, and I will be back next time for sur