Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel

JP Marg, Thamel 29, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal 11856

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.9

based on 150 reviews

104 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.5
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
9.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
8.2
All reviews (150)
Sort by:
Kirk M. Couples Canada, March 26, 2016
Very expensive for what we got
4.7
This is a three star hotel. Staff were very nice and helpful, as they are at all hotels in Nepal. The rooms was fine, everything worked and was clean, but for the price we could have booked something way better. We moved the second night and found a much nicer hotel for nearly half the price.
Report this review
Emdadul H. Business travelers Bangladesh, February 20, 2016
real boutique hotel
5.7
they dont have lift its a problem
Report this review
Krishna B. Couples Nepal, February 6, 2016
Clean Hotel, Overpriced.
5.3
I booked seeing good reviews here but was little disappointed. No warm welcome may be because we were local people. Room was small for the price but was clean..A/c runs only when electricity is available. Similar standard rooms are available for 30-40% less price. Breakfast was good.
Report this review
Azli B. Business travelers Malaysia, October 4, 2015
A Surprise in Thamel

Location, Food and Staff
7.3
The hotel received good reviews and so I gave it a try. The location was superb, at the tourist centre of Thamel, Kathmandu. It's close to a Halal restaurants. The staff are attentive and helpful. The only downside is that they don't have a nice view.
Report this review
Rhona B. Business travelers United Kingdom, September 2, 2015
Best Penguin

Cleanliness , staff so helpful , food good and there for a long time
10
Extremely comfortable and everything worked well and looked good.
Report this review
Elena S. Groups Russia, August 21, 2015
Excellent service

nice staff, comfortable rooms, service
10
Their crazy-menu is a must-see thing. Never seen anything like that even in hotels in other countries. They offer all sorts of services - from babysitting and yoga classes to decorating your room with balloons and rose petals. Be attentive looking through it - some services listed there are free: I ordered a larger coffee mug instead of the standard cup provided in the room. Usually I find cups provided in all hotel rooms too small so it’s really nice of them to give guests a choice.
Report this review
Evgeniya S. Solo travelers Russia, August 21, 2015
Perfect place

perfect service, location, comfort
10
New and comfortable hotel, room luxury and clean, with bright lights, AC and hot water (and it's really hot! It not so easy to find in Nepal). Breakfast I chose from a list with sets, it was delicious and plentiful. Staff helpful and polite, when I needed a local sim-card receptionist sent the guard with me to show the closest place to buy it. It's my second staying in Royal Penguin, and when I'll come to Kathmandu again this hotel will be my first choice.
Report this review
Olga B. Solo travelers Russia, August 17, 2015
Luxury hotel with a great service

Comfortable, Great service, Food
10
The room was perfectly clean and looks new and nice decorated. There are everything for comfort stay: fridge, kettle, big TV screen, mini bar and huge bathtub. I had a great time staying at the hotel. The staff was very attentive and helpful, especially receptionists.
Report this review
Anna C. Solo travelers Netherlands, August 17, 2015
Great place in Thamel

comfort, best service, design
10
Great hotel, central location in Thamel yet very quiet. Very comfortable rooms. Outstanding service, The staff does everything possible to make you feel like at home. When I needed an ATM, they not only showed me the direction but one of the staff even went together with me so I could easily find it.
Report this review
Anna P. Solo travelers Russia, August 17, 2015
Highly recommend

design, staff, food
10
Royal Penguin is definitely the one of the best hotels where i ever have been . Room has very cool design , nice toys and souvenirs . U can order in the room all food from the restaurant on the grand floor , also breakfast available 24 hours. That's stunning service. Gym has all machine and equipment that needs. Highly recommend
Report this review
1 - 10 of 104 reviews Next page
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Executive Suit (Non-Smoking)Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - ExteriorRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - FacadeRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Restaurant- Teak root hallRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - EntranceRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Hotel ReceptionRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - ReceptionRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Fitness RoomRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Fitness RoomRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - GardenRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Penthouse Suite (Non-Smoking)Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Super Deluxe (Non-Smoking)Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Executive Suit (Non-Smoking)Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Executive Suit(Non-Smoking)Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Super Deluxe (Non-Smoking)Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Super Deluxe (Non-Smoking)Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Deluxe King (Non-Smoking)Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Penthouse Suite (Non-Smoking)Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Deluxe King (Non-Smoking)Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Executive twin Suite roomRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Room Key HolderRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Weight MachineRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - FreezeRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Safety Deposit BoxRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - FacilitiesRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Bathroom kitRoyal Penguin Boutique Hotel Kathmandu - Golden Circle Award 2016


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03