Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Rydges on Swanston Hotel

701 Swanston Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.4

based on 370 reviews

325 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (370)
Sort by:
Jia Q. Couples Australia, February 16, 2014
worse hotel experience

checking out of there
2.3
Staying at this Rydges made me thank again about staying at Rydges in general. I was there for a surprise proposal. I booked an extra room in order to surprise my fiance, and I told the reception to contact her room in order to bring her down - their response: "Sir, you know that the other room is not refundable." Not only was it insulting to me that I was even suggesting for a refund, but they made absolutely no effort to acknowledge this occasion for me. And it doesn't end there... On the first night, they have false fire alarm at 5:19 AM, with no instructions on how to evacuate. There was no evacuation meeting point, or even a head count. They were clearly not concerned about the patron's safety at all. The next morning, there was no apology - in fact, the staff in the morning did not even know about what happened the previous night until about 10am. Other things I should mention are: the pool was closed without notifying us; they were not concerned about our Skybus back to the airport running slightly late and casually said "if we have booked it, it will come". Yes, duty manager, key word is 'IF'. Checking out of there was the best thing of the trip. Melbourne is a great city, I haven't been there in 10 years and it's a shame such a large name hotel had to ruin the experience.
Report this review
Shelley H. Business travelers Australia, February 16, 2014
sub-standard

nothing much
2.3
fire alarm went off at 5am in the morning, all visitors had to come outside the building until cleared by fireman. i almost slept through it as there was no voice-over that says 'evacuate now' with fire alarm. didn't realise what it was until later. manager ' was very unhelpful. we wanted to double check if a shuttle bus to airport was booked properly as we explained there were problems booking in the morning but the manager told us to just wait and didn't want to help us until we had to really ask and force for it. the pillow was very high and uncomfortable, builiding was very old. it felt like motel rather than hotel. the conference was held at this hotel, and food was suboptimal as well. i strongly do not recommend this hotel for any business/conferences.
Report this review
Winnie C. Couples China, January 21, 2014
NEED IMPROVE

RECEPTION OK AND THE ROOM IS BIG
4.7
Some of room cleaning staffs are unprofessional for example, they forgot to dispose the rubbish after cleaning the room. 2 - The design and construction of bathroom is bad as shower area is NO DOOR. So after the bathing, the floor of the bathroom is all wet. We will not come again.
Report this review
Adele H. Families with young children Australia, December 25, 2013
Good value- great facilities

Pool spa and gym
7.7
Yes enjoyed the roof top pool and spa and deck area. The bathrooms were a bit outdated but were clean.
Report this review
Ying C. Groups Australia, December 19, 2013
Pleasure stay

large beds, free wifi, close to public transport
7.7
Report this review
Jennifer L. Groups Australia, December 8, 2013
Easy Melbourne stay

location, room, pillows
10
fine. we are from Melbourne and just wanted an easy stay in the city as we were attending a concert and didn't want to drive all the way home. Great room and walking distance from Lygon street was a bonus
Report this review
Alton V. Business travelers South Africa, November 12, 2013
Short stop but comfortable

Rate, availability, location
8.3
Very pleasant stay and the free wifi was a welcome change from the other business hotels that use this as a money spinner.
Report this review
Natasha E. Solo travelers Australia, October 21, 2013
Eventful.

Bed, pillows and room size were the only positives
6.3
Firstly we were unable to access the Pool, Spa and Fitness area on the only hot day of the week due to a booked birthday party, then we were evacuated after the fire alarm was activated by a customer smoking in the building. I only had a one night stay and was not advised these areas would be unavailable. Poor staff service
Report this review
Kim L. Business travelers Australia, October 14, 2013
Very quiet great location

First impression it was well presented
10
Report this review
Kathleen G. Couples Australia, October 13, 2013
Very comfortable and relaxing

Such a comfy bed. Superb location and really good room. BTW did I mention the bed was REALLY comfortable?
9.3
Short and sweet. We collapsed there overnight after our daughters 21st which was just around the corner. Fabulous location to be able to walk to and from the venue, excellent price and fabulous room. Again the bed and pillows were really comfortable and we had a fabulous rest.
Report this review
Previous page 81 - 90 of 325 reviews Next page
Rydges on Swanston Hotel MelbourneRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - ReceptionRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Queen Spa SuiteRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Queen Spa Suite BathroomRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Queen Spa Suite BathroomRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - GymRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - SurroundingsRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - SurroundingsRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Executive QueenRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - LobbyRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Parkview KingRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Executive Queen TwinRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - King ParkviewRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Blues Bar & GrillRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Blues Bar & GrillRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - ReceptionRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Queen Spa SuiteRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Executive Queen RoomRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Queen Spa SuiteRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Queen Spa SuiteRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Blues BarRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Executive TwinRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Blues BarRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Deluxe Queen Twin Rydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Guest RoomRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Decking UndercoverRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Parkview RoomRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Exterior Rydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Swimming PoolRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Spa Suite Rydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Guest RoomRydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Queen Spa Living Rydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Deluxe Queen Twin Rydges on Swanston Hotel Melbourne - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03