Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane

9 Glenelg Street, South Brisbane, South Bank, Brisbane, Australia 4101

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on
223 reviews

219 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
8.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (223)
Sort by:
Jodie R. Families with older children Australia, December 31, 2015
Wonderful place to stay

Lovely view ,, good room service ,, comfortable bed
9
Enjoyed our stay Lovely view Great location Good staff
Report this review
Anna M. Families with older children Philippines, December 30, 2015
awesome location

location, cleanliness, accomodating staff
8
i love the location. just a stone's throw from everything: train station (ideal for travellers coming from airport w/o a car), city centre shopping, southbank park, convention centre and performing arts bldg. staff was great and ready to help and answer queries. definitely booking here again! 😊
Report this review
Lynne O. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 27, 2015
Great location

location, quality of rooms and views over the river
8.3
An enjoyable stay in a good location in a good hotel with good sized rooms with greta balconies with lovely views over the city and river.Good value for money
Report this review
Neil C. Couples Australia, November 16, 2015
Short break in Brisbane

Staff, room breakfast
9
Excellent as always, no need to look for alternatives when it's this good
Report this review
Mr M. Families with young children Thailand, October 7, 2015
Great location

Right next to Southbank Street Beach,water play park and Museum. Good child friendly room service menu.Very clean with helpful staff.
9
Report this review
Robert D. Business travelers Australia, September 23, 2015
Last time

Location only
6
Dining room staff very good, front desk staff inattentive, slow responding to requests.
Report this review
Jennie S. Solo travelers Australia, August 27, 2015
Shower & air con were no good

Clean room, great service, great location
8
I wasn't happy about having to stand in the bath for a shower as I have bad knees & almost fell, plus the air con didn't work. Otherwise it was good.
Report this review
Peter H. Couples Australia, August 14, 2015
Night out at Brisbane

The staff were very helpful and courteuos.
7.3
I used this stay as stepping stone to start my holiday.
Report this review
Jian Y. Solo travelers Singapore, August 13, 2015
Solo traveller - Not up to expected standards

Location, Easy Check in/Check out.
6
I stayed at Rydges for 2 nights in August 2015. PROS: 1. Location of the hotel- Extremely near the train service and a multitude of restaurants at Southbank. 2. Good access to the city and very near the sights 3. Friendly staff, quick and easy check-in/check-out. CONS: 1. The rooms are extremely old and really not well maintained. I understand that it might be an oldish-hotel and can accept that some things might not scream "Modernised", but there were cobwebs from the vents/fire sprinklers that were strategically located over the microwave/sink. The floors felt dirty and the toilets had some stains on them which I did not pursue any further. 2. Horrible lighting in the room. There was a nice desk and chair provided for work/study purposes. However there was a small desk lamp that made reading impossible. Even with all the lights turned on to their brightest, I had to find a cosy little corner near the bed to read through my notes/work. This is unacceptable. In addition, there was a light that could NOT be turned off. Trust me, I searched every nook and cranny of the room for a switch, save for moving the entire bed to find a hidden switch. 3. No free bottled water. For a 4 star hotel, UNACCEPTABLE 4. Weird cigarette smell. There was a horrible cigarette smell wavering into the room on my check-in (was on the 11th Floor). I even googled to see if there was a cigarette friendly floor in the hotel and I was absolutely astonished to read that Rydges is completely 100% smoke free. I understand its not the hotel's fault that guest may smoke, but this was really off-putting and added to an already bad experience. In summary, this hotel basically is run-down and to be very frank, does not offer value for the exorbitant costs of its rooms. The only up side are the wonderful staff and the excellent location of the hotel. Otherwise, I really wouldn't bother returning. I'm really wondering how the hotel achieved its ratings.
Report this review
Lisa P. Families with older children Australia, August 13, 2015
Staying at Rydges Southbank

Location, facilities, big rooms
9.3
Great
Report this review
1 - 10 of 219 reviews Next page
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane BrisbaneRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Twin RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Twin RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - BathroomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - CBD - Cafe Bar Dining at Ground FloorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Podium level terraceRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - ViewRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - ViewRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Podium level pool and terraceRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Swimming PoolRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Food at Bacchus RestaurantRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Meeting RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Meeting RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Fitness RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - InteriorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - EntranceRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - ExteriorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Deluxe King SuiteRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Brisbane CBDRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Storey BridgeRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - SurroundingsRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Meeting RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - InteriorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - InteriorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Food at Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - SuiteRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - InteriorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Food at Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Bar - Podium LevelRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - South BankRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen St MallRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen St MallRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Guest RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01