Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane

9 Glenelg Street, South Brisbane, South Bank / West End, Brisbane, Australia 4101 (Show on map)

Book now!

Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen Room Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen Room Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen Room Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Twin Room Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Twin Room Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bathroom Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - CBD - Cafe Bar Dining at Ground Floor Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Podium level terrace Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - View Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - View Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Podium level pool and terrace Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Swimming Pool Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Food at Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Meeting Room Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Meeting Room
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Fitness Room Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Interior Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Entrance Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Exterior Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Deluxe King Suite Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Brisbane CBD Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Storey Bridge Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Surroundings Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Meeting Room Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Interior
Area: South Bank / West End Number of Rooms: 304

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

from 215 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
8.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (215)
Sort by:
Jennie S. Solo travelers Australia, August 27, 2015
Shower & air con were no good

Clean room, great service, great location
8
I wasn't happy about having to stand in the bath for a shower as I have bad knees & almost fell, plus the air con didn't work. Otherwise it was good.
Report this review
Peter H. Couples Australia, August 14, 2015
Night out at Brisbane

The staff were very helpful and courteuos.
7.3
I used this stay as stepping stone to start my holiday.
Report this review
Jian Y. Solo travelers Singapore, August 13, 2015
Solo traveller - Not up to expected standards

Location, Easy Check in/Check out.
6
I stayed at Rydges for 2 nights in August 2015. PROS: 1. Location of the hotel- Extremely near the train service and a multitude of restaurants at Southbank. 2. Good access to the city and very near the sights 3. Friendly staff, quick and easy check-in/check-out. CONS: 1. The rooms are extremely old and really not well maintained. I understand that it might be an oldish-hotel and can accept that some things might not scream "Modernised", but there were cobwebs from the vents/fire sprinklers that were strategically located over the microwave/sink. The floors felt dirty and the toilets had some stains on them which I did not pursue any further. 2. Horrible lighting in the room. There was a nice desk and chair provided for work/study purposes. However there was a small desk lamp that made reading impossible. Even with all the lights turned on to their brightest, I had to find a cosy little corner near the bed to read through my notes/work. This is unacceptable. In addition, there was a light that could NOT be turned off. Trust me, I searched every nook and cranny of the room for a switch, save for moving the entire bed to find a hidden switch. 3. No free bottled water. For a 4 star hotel, UNACCEPTABLE 4. Weird cigarette smell. There was a horrible cigarette smell wavering into the room on my check-in (was on the 11th Floor). I even googled to see if there was a cigarette friendly floor in the hotel and I was absolutely astonished to read that Rydges is completely 100% smoke free. I understand its not the hotel's fault that guest may smoke, but this was really off-putting and added to an already bad experience. In summary, this hotel basically is run-down and to be very frank, does not offer value for the exorbitant costs of its rooms. The only up side are the wonderful staff and the excellent location of the hotel. Otherwise, I really wouldn't bother returning. I'm really wondering how the hotel achieved its ratings.
Report this review
Lisa P. Families with older children Australia, August 13, 2015
Staying at Rydges Southbank

Location, facilities, big rooms
9.3
Great
Report this review
Craig J. Business travelers Australia, August 2, 2015
Excellent

location, late checkout, cheaper parking
9.7
excellent
Report this review
Gleniss S. Business travelers Australia, July 11, 2015
very disgusted and disappointed

close to convention centre
4
arrived evening thursday 9th july,2015 lovely front view of brisbane river- at 10p.m. shower had no water-rang 6am next morning for help, came & looked nothing happened-out all day at conference back at 6pm & discovered still no water from shower-went & saw them eventually put me in another room at back of hotel with noise of trains all night-i would like a reduction in my fees-said they had shifted my luggage while i was out-came back to find no luggage in room called them again and had to go down to floor below to collect it.not happy at all with the treatment i received from the hotel,certainly not 4star.
Report this review
Michelle K. Families with older children Australia, July 11, 2015
Nice Colourbond Roof View

Location / room size / Gym
7
Nice - but view was of the colourbond roof with cigarette butts loaded on it and bathroom very small
Report this review
Jenny A. Business travelers Australia, July 5, 2015
great location, needs an upgrade

location, location, location
7.7
Report this review
Tracey C. Couples Australia, June 26, 2015
one night stay

location. Clean . Location
7
only slept there one night. Thought it a bit rich when I paid $200.00 for 1 night then got hit with a $40.60 parking fee. Any other motel I have ever stayed at a parking bay is free. Made it very very expensive for 1 nights stay
Report this review
Murray C. Couples Thailand, June 13, 2015
Great

Area closeness restaurants
10
Fantastic very happy great weeks stay
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane BrisbaneRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Twin RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Twin RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - BathroomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - CBD - Cafe Bar Dining at Ground FloorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Podium level terraceRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - ViewRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - ViewRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Podium level pool and terraceRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Swimming PoolRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Food at Bacchus RestaurantRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Meeting RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Meeting RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Fitness RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - InteriorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - EntranceRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - ExteriorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Deluxe King SuiteRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Brisbane CBDRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Storey BridgeRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - SurroundingsRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Meeting RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - InteriorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - InteriorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Food at Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - SuiteRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - InteriorRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Food at Bacchus Restaurant Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Bacchus Bar - Podium LevelRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - South BankRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen St MallRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Queen St MallRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Guest RoomRydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane Brisbane - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3C03