or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ryokan Fukuzumiro

74,Tohnosawa,Ashigara-shimo-gun, Hakone Yumoto, Hakone, Japan 250-0315 (Show on map)

Book now!

Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Garden View Room Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Garden View Room Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Garden View Room Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Garden View Room Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - River View Room Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - River View Room Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - River View Room Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - River View Room Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - River View Room Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - View Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - View Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - View Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Interior Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Interior Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Interior Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Interior
Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Hot Spring Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Hot Spring Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Hot Spring Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Hot Spring Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Hot Spring Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Interior Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Pub/Lounge Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Pub/Lounge Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Pub/Lounge Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Interior Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Interior Ryokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Interior
Area: Hakone Yumoto Number of Rooms: 18

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.7

based on
55 reviews

Value for Money
8.3
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
9.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Food/Dining
8.9
All reviews (55)
Sort by:
Arend S. Solo travelers United States of America, September 1, 2014
Comfortable, old-fashioned ryokan

friendly staff, cozy atmosphere, quiet location
9.3
The building is old and a little worn and shabby in places, but that was for me a large part of the charm: wood, bamboo everywhere. My room was quiet with a lovely view of the river. The staff were helpful and friendly--we got by with limited English (on their part) and limited Japanese (on my part). The food was good and the staff took their time to explain what I was eating. It really highlights the difference between a hotel and a ryokan.
Mirja K. Couples Finland, August 27, 2014
Wonderful place

View. Food. Atmosphere.
10
No complaints what so ever. Everything went perfectly. I can recommend this place. Wi-Fi was a pleasant suprise.
Siew L. Couples Singapore, August 22, 2014
Original ryokan but needs updating

Original 3-4 star ryokan; gorgeous view; location close to the station
7.3
We loved the view outside our room, enjoyed the onsen. The staff were nice and friendly although we struggled with the language barrier. The place was rather run down, the ancient air conditioner couldn't fight the summer heat and we were not comfortable with the toilets. For the price we paid, we have stayed in a better ryokan.
Joey C. Groups Taiwan, August 2, 2014
a good location to stay while visiting Hakone

japanese style bed is interesting experience, clean and convenient location
8.3
Pooja K. Couples Singapore, July 28, 2014
Nice, old ryokan

service, view, location
7.3
The ryokan is very old and located about a 15-min walk from Hakone-Yamoto station. When travelling with luggage, best to take one of the shuttle buses to a bus-stop right outside the hotel (ask at the train station). For other times, the walk is fairly easy to do. The ryokan has been around for a long time and this is visible in some areas. However, the view from our room of the nearby stream as well as the service more than makes up for it. There are no private toilets and baths but all amenities are provided - so don't despair. Overall, its a good value for money ryokan in the Hakone area if you'd like to stay in one. There are others closer to the Gora area, but they can be very expensive.
Yasunori O. Couples Japan, May 27, 2014
Valuable stay in Ryokan and Onsen.

Small world of Japanese courtyard and classic building enough maintained.Quiet and natural river sound.Hospitality and service.
9
Valuable experience. I could feel Japanese traditional hospitality.
Lik Y. Couples Singapore, May 23, 2014
great ryokan experience with onsens

authentic ryokans, onsens, attentive staff
9.7
The Ryokan is a 10 - 15 min walk from the Hakone-moto station along the main road, should be easy to locate. It does looks a bit dated, but given that its approx a century old and a preserved ryokan, it is well maintained. Toilets and bathrooms are shared. room was quite big, loved the balcony with a river view. can hear the sounds of the flowing river from the balcony too. Onsens are located in basement, one male, one female and one private (much smaller). Private one is first come first serve, good esp if you don't do public bath. Will recommend for a nice and authentic ryokan experience, with onsens.
Joe K. Couples Ireland, May 14, 2014
A unique cultural experience

The ambiance, the breakfast and the respect for tradition.
10
Our party of 3 chose Ryokan Fukuzumiro for an overnight stay with breakfast included. It was our first ryokan experience and we found it magical. We were warmly welcomed. Despite our lack of Japanese language skills, we quickly absorbed the routines and rituals that are a feature of traditional inns. This building is 100 years old and some rooms, including ours, had their own stories of artists, actors and writers who had been regular visitors. Our tatami rooms provided spaces for eating and sleeping, a view of the river and the sound of flowing water. For good measure, there is a small enclosed garden with a pond of carp on the way to the dining room. The three onsens in the Ryokan are unique, hot and refreshing. The gracious lady, who served us throughout, created a magnificent Japanese style breakfast in our own rooms in the morning. Our one regret was that we had not arranged to have our evening meal on the premises. Hakone-Yumoto is a few minutes walk away and the Tozan train station is up a flight of steps opposite the Ryokan, so it is perfect for sightseeing. We were given a little food gift when we checked out in the morning, having had an experience of Japanese culture that we will remember with pleasure for years to come.
Anthony J. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 7, 2014
Access to Japanese culture and customs and cuisine

Staff, location, food
8
As always, a Ryokan experience in Japan provides a cultural experience that is authentic. Westerners should expect to have to adapt and become immersed in something very different, with certain customs and rules embedded. Ryokan staff invariably help make this a very enriching cultural experience.
Chang H. Couples Malaysia, May 5, 2014
It's wonderful stays and friendly place

Foods, Spas and friendly staffs
10
It's awesome, I feel like staying at a 5-stars home-stay/ hotel. I love this place and i will definitely recommend to friends and revisit this place and stay here again!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Ryokan Fukuzumiro HakoneRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Garden View RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Garden View RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Garden View RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Garden View RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - River View RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - River View RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - River View RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - River View RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - River View RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - ViewRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - ViewRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - ViewRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Hot SpringRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Hot SpringRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Hot SpringRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Hot SpringRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Hot SpringRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Pub/LoungeRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Pub/LoungeRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Pub/LoungeRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - EntranceRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Japanese ChashitsuRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - GardenRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - ViewRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - ViewRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - ViewRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - InteriorRyokan Fukuzumiro Hakone - Interior


AS-AGWEB-3B04