or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ryokan Matsukaze

11-2 Nakajo, Matsumoto, Matsumoto, Japan 390-0816 (Show on map)

Book now!

Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Entrance Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Reception Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Lobby Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Interior Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Interior Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Interior Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Shared Toilet Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Shared Toilet Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Interior Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Garden Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Garden Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room
Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Golf Course Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest Room Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Facilities Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Exterior Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Exterior Ryokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Exterior
Area: Matsumoto Number of Rooms: 14
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
103 reviews

Value for Money
8.7
Location
6.9
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (103)
Sort by:
Leslie A. Couples Australia, March 16, 2015
Isolated Hamlet

The room size
4.7
Ryokan Matsukaze is a bit of a hike from Matsumoto Station, apparently there is another line that can take you closer to the hotel once at Matsumoto Station. Give it a try, or face the 15 minutes plus walk. Once inside the ryokan you are left to your own devices, and on the positive side there is quality functioning wifi. You have a TV and fridge so if you want to stock up on snack foods that is convenient. In that case the nearby seven eleven is even more convenient. Sadly there are no quality restaurants in the vicinity of the ryokan so you'll have to track back to the station for good tucker.
William F. Solo travelers United States of America, February 10, 2015
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!

Absolutely spotless. Genuinely sweet-hearted staff. Cannot beat the price.
10
This was my second stay here. I adore this place. The photos don't come anywhere close to capturing how clean and comfortable it is. I have extensive travel experience and I have never seen a place that comes close to their standards of tidiness. The family who runs the place are cute and friendly. The place is really quiet and laid back. Nothing fancy here, but I prefer it that way.
Vivi Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, January 25, 2015
Too far away form station.

clean
6.3
Really far away from the station or other place. Not recommend.
Phyllis T. Solo travelers Singapore, December 9, 2014
Quiet location and good service

Quiet location and good service
7
The hotel is located about 20min away from JR Matsumoto station on foot. I'm a solo female traveller and although I know that Japan is relatively safe, I still felt uneasy when walking back from the station at night, as the neighbourhood was quiet and dark. Nevertheless, the hotel is located in a quiet area and good for people who are looking to stay away from the hustle and bustle near the station. The shared bathroom and toilets are clean, although you'll have to wait quite awhile if someone's soaking in the hot tub. My room reeked of smoke even though it was supposed to be an entirely non-smoking hotel. I could smell strong smoke in the morning and night.. not sure if it's my neighbour even though he denied it. I spoke to the owner and he was very apologetic about it and said he would speak to the guests about it, but I guess there was little he could do. The smoke kind of spoiled my stay, but the good service from the friendly and helpful staff made up for it.
William F. Solo travelers United States of America, November 13, 2014
This is the place to stay in Matsumoto!

Spotless. Friendly. Location.
9.3
This place is a gem! I've stayed in dozens of hotels and ryokan all over Japan, and this one is absolutely the best. It is so clean that it makes the others look shabby. Seriously—this place is as sanitized as a hospital. The photos don't do justice... to be honest I expected it to be a little run-down, but it's ultramodern. The bath is really cool! And the staff could not be nicer. The women at the front desk were funny and friendly, with lots of personality. The neighborhood is quiet, but a 15 minute walk from the train station. Loved it!
Lidya S. Solo travelers Indonesia, September 30, 2014
non speaking english staff

although they can only communicate in japanese, they'll try their best to keep communicate with you. really helpful and sweet people
9.3
Patrick D. Solo travelers France, September 26, 2014
Frindly and affordable ryokan

Spacious room, Friendly staff, 10 minutes from station
7.7
About 10-15 min from the JR station. The staff can only communicate in Japanese but they try their best to communicate with you and are really helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious enough.
Rattikarn K. Couples Thailand, September 9, 2014
Good if you are on tight budget

clean open 24h kitchen
7
Staff was a bit annoying, also we wanted to use the washing machine (2 common washing machines) but the staff said we are doing our laundry first so we had to wait until 10pm to start our washing. Rooms are all right, nothing special. There is a common kitchen which is nice.
Paloma A. Couples France, September 3, 2014
Perfect cheap stay in a Ryokan

Cheap,spacious room,welcoming staff
8.7
We had really good deals on the price rooms,our room had everything we needed and was spacious,calm with beautiful japanese windows. The staff is really nice and try to make you comfortable. We definitely recommend staying there. Its better if you stay in the main building at the 2nd floor (not too close to the toilet or bathroom because it can be a bit nosy when peoples walk to it at night)
Pascal R. Families with older children France, August 14, 2014
Nice Ryokan

Onzen Staff and room
8
Very nice stay in this hotel. we had 2 rooms in the ryokan area and enjoyed with onzen. 15 mn by foot to the station and for dining or shopping

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Ryokan Matsukaze MatsumotoRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - EntranceRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ReceptionRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - LobbyRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - InteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - InteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - InteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Shared ToiletRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Shared ToiletRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - InteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - GardenRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - GardenRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Golf CourseRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - FacilitiesRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ExteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ExteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ExteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ExteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ExteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ExteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ViewRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - SurroundingsRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - LobbyRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - LobbyRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - LobbyRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - LobbyRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - EntranceRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - InteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - InteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - InteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - InteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ReceptionRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ReceptionRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - FacilitiesRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - FacilitiesRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Facilities


AS-AGWEB-3C08