Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ryokan Matsukaze

11-2 Nakajo, Matsumoto, Matsumoto, Japan 390-0816

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.9

based on 118 reviews

70 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.7
Location
7.0
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.7
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (118)
Sort by:
Susan D. Solo travelers Australia, April 5, 2016
Clean and convenient.
6
I stayed 2 nights at this delightful guesthouse where the facilities are clean and convenient. It would appear that there are several standards of rooms, and several bathrooms as the one I used was not the one shown on the accommodation information - not as modern, but certainly clean. The old couple are lovely and were very friendly trying to locate my Agoda booking that had somehow arrived with them as Booking.com ???
Report this review
Olivia D. Couples France, October 31, 2015
cosy homy feeling

cosy, cheap,location
9
This place is like going to "your japanese family" the location is little bit out compare to the station but it takes only 10 min to go. If you have a map very easy to find but what we loved was the size of the japanese room, the comfort of the futon, the cleaness of the bathroom and on top of it the super kindness of the owner. They don t speak english but to be honest it is not a problem at all we still could understand each other and we really enjoyed our stay!!! just go for it
Report this review
Siu K. Solo travelers Hong Kong, August 12, 2015
good hotel

sincere old couple running the hotel, even it is a bit difficult to locate, especially when u arriving after dark, the old couple is very kind and polite.
8
Report this review
David S. Solo travelers United States of America, June 6, 2015
great value...love staff...super hospitality...

location...price...friendly
8.7
Excellent. 2 nights. Very friendly. Great value.
Report this review
Hee S. Couples Malaysia, May 21, 2015
Comforable palce to stay in this small town

Confortable Japanese Style Room
8.3
This is my 1st time staying in this hotel. I get a jap Style room sleeping on Tatami Floor with comforter. The room size is good compare to any rooms size you can find at this budget in the city. The place is quite and you can really get some good sleep and relax all the time. However the location is not so easy access. The reason i choose this place is because im driving and i have no problem getting around .
Report this review
Hee S. Couples Malaysia, May 21, 2015
Comforable palce to stay in this small town

Confortable Japanese Style Room
7.3
This is my 1st time staying in this hotel. I get a jap Style room sleeping on Tatami Floor with comforter. The room size is good compare to any rooms size you can find at this budget in the city. The place is quite and you can really get some good sleep and relax all the time. However the location is not so easy access. The reason i choose this place is because im driving and i have no problem getting around .
Report this review
Khoo Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 25, 2015
Old but nice japanese style

Comfort, share bath, hot water pool
7.7
Report this review
Leslie A. Couples Australia, March 16, 2015
Isolated Hamlet

The room size
4.7
Ryokan Matsukaze is a bit of a hike from Matsumoto Station, apparently there is another line that can take you closer to the hotel once at Matsumoto Station. Give it a try, or face the 15 minutes plus walk. Once inside the ryokan you are left to your own devices, and on the positive side there is quality functioning wifi. You have a TV and fridge so if you want to stock up on snack foods that is convenient. In that case the nearby seven eleven is even more convenient. Sadly there are no quality restaurants in the vicinity of the ryokan so you'll have to track back to the station for good tucker.
Report this review
William F. Solo travelers United States of America, February 10, 2015
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!

Absolutely spotless. Genuinely sweet-hearted staff. Cannot beat the price.
10
This was my second stay here. I adore this place. The photos don't come anywhere close to capturing how clean and comfortable it is. I have extensive travel experience and I have never seen a place that comes close to their standards of tidiness. The family who runs the place are cute and friendly. The place is really quiet and laid back. Nothing fancy here, but I prefer it that way.
Report this review
Vivi Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, January 25, 2015
Too far away form station.

clean
6.3
Really far away from the station or other place. Not recommend.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 70 reviews Next page
Ryokan Matsukaze MatsumotoRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - EntranceRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ReceptionRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - LobbyRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - GardenRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Golf CourseRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - FacilitiesRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ExteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ExteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ExteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ExteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ViewRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - SurroundingsRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - LobbyRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - LobbyRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - EntranceRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - InteriorRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - ReceptionRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - FacilitiesRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - BathroomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - BathroomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - BathroomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - BathroomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Guest RoomRyokan Matsukaze Matsumoto - Entrance


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C03