Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel

62 Muntri Street, George Town Heritage, Penang, Malaysia 10200

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.4

based on 724 reviews

469 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.7
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
8.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (724)
Sort by:
Nyoman S. Solo travelers Indonesia, July 19, 2015
they deliver what you pay for

cleanness, working facilities, good hotel management
9
I arrived early morning as i used the night train from kualalumpur.. i couldnt checkin yet till 2pm as the room hasnt ready yet.. but, they do allow the luggage to be left there..so that i could explore the city lighter... I checked in in the afternoon for a 6 mix dorm room i booked.. they give me the key to the room and some sort of magnetic coin to open the access doors...the main door and the stair door to the rooms.. The rooms are located in the first floor.. we're not allow to use our shoes from the alley to the rooms.. but it got carpets that seemed to be vaccumed every day..very clean.. they also got a shoes cabinet in the entrance alley so that everyone can put their shoes in orderly manner... they also got air conditioner in the alleys and in the rooms that worked perfectly.. it stayed cool even in the hot penang day... the bed and pillow are quite comfortable, and they cleaned it for you...it was very clean... The shared showers and toilets are also in a good working order... the water burst strongly... In short, i was happy to have stayed there, and wouldn't mind coming back...
Report this review
Kesmond T. Solo travelers Singapore, July 12, 2015
Just OK if you aren't fussy

Friendly staff who can speak English, Chinese and malay
5.7
1. Checked in at 12 midnight and the night staff was nice and I was prop pry given the keys 2. Counter staff were helpful with directions etc. 3. Towel was changed and bed made as promised. However 1. Towel did not smell fresh. 2. Floors were squeaky 3. Toilet did not have hot water all the time. The only time the heater was working, it was only lukewarm. Not that I mind a cold shower but a hot shower was promised in the price. 4. Toilets and room were not terribly clean. 5. Overall PERSONAL opinion: overpriced, therefore I was expecting more. But it is still a decent accomodation if you are not fussy.
Report this review
Alex L. Couples Malaysia, June 28, 2015
Affordable, unique, clean and convenient

unique heritage building, clean, convenient
7.7
The hotel is situated in middle of heritage area, with ease of access to restaurants, shops, cultural and art showcase, bicycle rental and touring. However the sound isolation of the hotel is very bad. Especially for room downstairs, you will be able to hear every foot steps on the floor above you.
Report this review
Yang I. Solo travelers China, June 27, 2015
Good

Clean
8
Clean nice great location
Report this review
Tay Y. Groups Malaysia, June 24, 2015
Good experience

clean, friendly, willing to help
7.7
Everything is good and the price is reasonable. Will stay there again if go to Penang.
Report this review
Muhammad N. Solo travelers Malaysia, June 24, 2015
nice, comfortable 2 nights stay

the hostel provides beds with breakfast. There are helpfull staffs, and plenty of bars and cafe nearby the hostel. The breakfast provided is also satisfying enough with local food and breads served.
9.3
everything was perfect!. The price is highly reasonable. I've been here three times before and they never dissapoint. They keep upgrading and improving every single aspect. The floors are now covered with mat. And the breakfast provided is much satisfying! Thumbs up for ryokan muntri street. Highly recommended for backpackers!
Report this review
Anggie A. Solo travelers Indonesia, June 24, 2015
good

good
10
Report this review
Jeraldine W. Solo travelers Malaysia, June 17, 2015
Clean , Worth Value , Location , Excellent Service

Clean , Worth Value , Location
10
Clean and worth the price , more than just a hostel .Strategic location between Love lane and Blue mansion with just walking distance about 5 min. Even help us arrange our clothes and placed it nicely , just it said it impressive and such a good working staff. Definitely worth the price and solo traveler will love it. Even providing free cookies and snacks. Free food provided by boss , I guess . So nothing could ask for more .
Report this review
Wen N. Groups Malaysia, June 14, 2015
Comfortable Stay

convenient, breakfast included, clean.
9.3
travel with friends, the room is very clean and have comfortable bed.
Report this review
Melanie L. Solo travelers United States of America, June 7, 2015
Nice hostel, too noisy!

Comfortable beds, awesome staff, great l
7.3
Report this review
Previous page 41 - 50 of 469 reviews Next page
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel PenangRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Entrance Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Four Bed Dorm or Female TerritoryRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Six Bed Dorm Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Luxury Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Share Bathroom Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Luxury Room-BathroomRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - EntranceRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - EntranceRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Resident’s LoungeRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Chillax CornerRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Chillax Corner Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Chill CafeRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Chill CafeRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - InteriorRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - FacilitiesRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Guest RoomRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Luxury RoomRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Private Suite bathroomRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Dining counterRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Night viewRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - DiningRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - EntranceRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - HallwayRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Dining AreaRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Dining Area CounterRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Dining CounterRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - InteriorRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Balcony/TerraceRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - EntranceRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Guest RoomRyokan Muntri Boutique Hostel Penang - Exterior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05