Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 737 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 737 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

Kimberley C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Good but can better !
Location good,room clean,staff polite
Good location,food around,Room clean,staff polite,but room need renovation,staff should have some travel information to assist traveler . The website of getting to hostel should update.
Reviewed October 17, 2015

Jezreel O. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2015
Awesome Location.
Location. People. Art.
I would definitely recommend this hotel! Awesome!
Reviewed October 07, 2015

Anggie A. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2015
good
good
Reviewed October 05, 2015

Emmi E. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2015
Casual and Comfy
I love the location : Muntri street have many cafes and attraction. The hostel breakfast buffet spread is fullfilling!
My stay was good.. But i just would like to comment how the staff were a bit rude when I first checked in. I booked a private room meant for 2 but there were 3 of us. The third person is my friend from Penang who were dropping us off and we need to get ready for a wedding ceremony. The staff at first would not let our friend enter our room stating it was for guest and not strangers ?!. Well she is not a stranger and she will not staying for the night. She just need to get ready for a wedding. We got into a bit of argument... the staff is so stringent and not thoughtful of the situation. I have stayed Ryokan many times and this would be the first time to face this kind of situation. In the end, we manage to get in and change. But the whole situation have spread out even the cleaner knows " Kamu yang stay 3 orang dalam satu bilik?" the next morning... Really? It was just the 2 of us and you have to make a fuss about it??
Reviewed October 03, 2015

Xin Y. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
More than a 2-star hotel!
Design, Comfort, Service
The staff were fluent in English and very helpful! Whilst it rates itself as a 2-star hotel, there is housekeeping daily and the design of the boutique hotel expresses itself as a very welcoming and stylish hostel while having that artsy Penang feel. Keep a lookout for the board opposite the check-in counter - there was deals for cafes near the hostel the last time we stayed there. ;)
Reviewed October 01, 2015

faiz R. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed one night in April 2015
Comfy and has a good location
Location, comfort, cleanliness
Good. Loved how homey it felt and how clean the place was. Staff were friendly and helpful in giving us suggestions as to where we should go/visit
Reviewed September 29, 2015

Thien V. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Awesome stay
friendly staff, delicious breakfast, nice environment
i went with a group of friends with 11 people, a nice place to stay as the location is great. friendly staff, delicious breakfast, and the most important is the place is clean and comfortable. after breakfast hour wil provide cookies for wholeday long. free drinking water too. spaces for small games and gathering. free wifi. this place is budget stay with shared washroom, for those who mind to share washroom can choose elseway. overall this place is awesome and i love the environment here. would definitely come back again.
Reviewed September 23, 2015

Wai T. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in September 2015
Short but Good
Clean, Good location, Friendly staff
I only stayed one night at Ryokan due to my schedule, so I'm not able to comment on certain things like food. Generally, it was nice and quiet, good for me as I slept earlier due to my early start the following day for a work meeting. Though it was short, I can say for certain that the staff are really friendly and out to help you. I got to know my roommate briefly as well, and that's the beauty of staying at a dorm-style accommodation. The place is also decorated very nicely, and I can definitely see where the Japanese influence comes from. I also had the fortune to share a pot of tea with the owner, who is really friendly and dedicated to running the hostel. Would definitely return to stay at the same place if I visit Penang again - this time with a group of friends! :)
Reviewed September 22, 2015

Kimberlee T. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Great location and vibe
Location, atmosphere, facilities
The Ryokan was overall a great hostel! The location is excellent in Georgetown-- very close to all of the typical things you'll want to see in Penang. It has a cool atmosphere and nice vibe with good facilities-- outdoor seating area, indoor beanbags for hanging out and reading, nice showers and bathrooms-- and everywhere was clean and well-maintained.Included breakfast has quite a few options and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The only disappointment was the bedroom. After everything else was so cool, it was just very simple and actually rather uncomfortable for me. And it got rather noisy from people in other rooms moving around. But it did have lockers, individual lights, and plugs, which I appreciate.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

SOON T. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
Recommended to friends
Clean, comfortable, convenience location
Comfortable stay and staff are friendly and helpful
Reviewed September 10, 2015