My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten

3-4 Kanda Surugadai, Chiyoda-ku, Akihabara / Ochanomizu, Tokyo, Japan 101-0062 (Show on map)

Book now!

Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest Room Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Restaurant Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Meeting Room Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Ryumeikan honten’s stuff Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Fried tempura Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Japanese style room Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Beef steak dinner Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Tempura dinner Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Ryumeikan honten’s stuff Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Japanese style meeting room Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Japanese full-course dinner Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Japanese breakfast Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Bathroom Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest Room Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest Room Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest Room
Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest Room Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest Room Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Hotel Interior Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Hotel Interior Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Lobby
Hotel Area: Akihabara / Ochanomizu Number of Rooms: 11
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
17 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (17)
Sort by:
Alain L. Business travelers France, November 22, 2013
Great Ryokan in central Tokyo

Ryokan-style rooms, generous in size and with private bathroom
8.7
Great experience in general, even though a few things could be improved : - English speaking staff in front desk at all times - Ironing / Laundry service on demand
Karl-Heinz J. Solo travelers Germany, April 24, 2013
Stay in Japanese Rom in the heart of Tokyo

Japanese room, futon bed, interestig area
8.3
quite nice, very friendly and extremely helpful staff
Adrien B. Couples France, April 12, 2013
A nice japonese style room in a great area

Nice rooms / near electronic town / good price
9
This hotel gives a great value for someone looking for a japonese style room. Could be easier to find but this problem stands for all places in Tokyo...
Kai H. Solo travelers Hong Kong, February 24, 2013
A Traditional Japanese "Ryokan" inside a big city

Free Wifi, easy transportation and large room
7.3
the hotel is quite interesting. it looks like a traditional ryokan while it is surrounded by tall buildings. so, please do not expect any view from the window. yet, it is near to the jr station (ochanomizu, chuou line) (around 200m walk) and it was quite convenient. by its renovatiom, i expected there would be a large bathroom for guests but it did not have any.
Hotel Feature Tip: there is no elavator in the hotel, it would be a bit hard if you have large luggage. (although the hotel only has 1 floor) and, remember to return the key to the front desk before going out.
Kew L. Groups Malaysia, December 25, 2012
Great location but few facilities

Near to the Subway
7
this ryokan provides japanese room in a good and clean condition. it also very near to the subway station & jr station. the staffs are quite friendly and helpful as well. however, it is a small ryokan without lift service. actually, this is quite inconvenient especially we have to carry our heavy luggage by using staircase. there are no proper storage area for our luggages after we check out. also, no pick up service from and to airport. in tokyo, i think it is not a good idea to stay in ryokan, unless for those traveller with less or small luggage. overall, the stay is considered reasonable.
Theodore D. Groups Australia, December 24, 2012
Older hotel, but great location and friendly staff

Ryokan-style room comes pretty close to the authentic Ryokan experience.
9.3
We actually took the cab to the wrong hotel; their sister hotel which is in Chuo. The staff there was kind enough, however, to accompany us to a taxi to give the cabdriver specific directions to the Chiyoda location. We arrived at the hotel at around 1pm, but check-in wasn't until 2pm. Was kind of surprised by that. However, they were kind enough to take care of our luggage while went to for lunch. Upon returning, we were told our luggage was already in our room and were given a key. It was quite evident that this was an older hotel. To be honest, I was expecting it to be a little more elaborate considering how much we were paying per night. I was actually quite surprised by how quiet the place was as well. We were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was indeed smaller than what they appeared to be online (wide-angle lenses work miracles), but I should note it was one of the more spacious rooms we stayed in all trip. Add the cute little origami swans they gave us, and complimentary tea and water, and I'd say this place is a winner if you want to something central (5 minute walk from station) but a with a traditional Japanese feel.
Filip R. Solo travelers Romania, December 7, 2012
Good location hotel but overpriced room quality

Clean, location
7
The room was good, medium size for a Japanese hotel where most rooms are very small. Although the room was for non-smokers, I couldn't fall asleep easily because I could feel some tobacco smell. Other than that, the room was clean and the hotel receptionist greeted me nicely. I haven't tried the restaurant, but I looked over the menu and I think the prices are too high. There are many good restaurants, so no need to eat at the hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the location, and for the central location the price was reasonable. But for the quality of the room, I think it was too much.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: It is within walking distance from Ochanomizu station and Shinochanomizu station. From here you can easily get anywhere in Tokyo. Also the Imperial garden is only 15 minutes walk from here. Jimbocho, Ginza, Akihabara, Ueno and other areas are quite close. So I think the location is good.
Paul L. Solo travelers Canada, October 24, 2012
Great stay in a good location

Very clean, nice staff, private bath
8.3
This is a Japanese style or ryokan style hotel. Not a real ryokan. A nice way of introducing yourself to the style. With a private bathroom. Very clean and plenty of room for a solo traveler. LAN in the room but no wifi. Not even in the lobby. A bit hard to find as there is only signage in Japanese outside and the hotel is in what looks like an office building. Staff is very nice with limited English. Great location, steps from metro line, two stops from Tokyo JR.
Tyler S. Couples United States of America, April 15, 2012
Great Ryokan with a staff friendly to foreigners

The traditional rooms and atmosphere were amazing and provided a wonderful cultural experience.
8.7
The Ryokan was very friendly and greeted us by name every time we walked through the front door, even the first time when we checked in. The yukata, tatami, futons, and duvet were very comfortable. We did not try the restaurant because there are so many other places nearby we wanted to try. The doors close at midnight, so you must return by then.
Donna T. Groups China, April 12, 2012
Great location and cozy rooms

Within walking distance to Tokyo metro, quite location, friendly front desk receptionists
9
the hotel has only 11 rooms and i stayed in "pine" room, which is claimed to be 25 m2. this size is ok for me, but for the other room which is only 19m2, it is too small. good location and very convenient. small hotel but quite friendly, clean and nice. good value for money.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Ryokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Hotel ExteriorRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest RoomRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - RestaurantRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Meeting RoomRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Ryumeikan honten’s stuffRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Fried tempuraRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Japanese style roomRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Beef steak dinnerRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Tempura dinnerRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Ryumeikan honten’s stuffRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Japanese style meeting roomRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Japanese full-course dinnerRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Japanese breakfastRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - BathroomRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest RoomRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest RoomRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest RoomRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest RoomRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Guest RoomRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Hotel InteriorRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Hotel InteriorRyokan Ryumeikan-Honten Tokyo - Lobby


AS-AGWEB-3A05