Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ryokan Senkei

592 Yumoto, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone Yumoto, Hakone, Japan 250-0311

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.6

based on
313 reviews

176 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.2
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (313)
Sort by:
Siau S. Families with older children Malaysia, December 30, 2015
Great location !

Onsen bath, location and shuttle service to train station
6.3
Generally decent Ryokan but the staffs were not very proficient in English, hence were not able to help with a lot of queries. However, they were generally helpful. For our stay, We had booked a room for 2 adults and I had earlier tried to book for a room for 3 but they were unavailable. Also, queries for additional bed were not addressed by Agoda. Hence, during check in, hotel were shocked to see 3 guests (2 adults and a older child) but they were kind enough to allow us to check in with an additional charge for thr 3rd staying guest which we are more than happy to pay for. As for the room, generally small with basic amenities. Unlike the usual Japanese bathroom in other hotels where we have stayed in where the toilet seats are equipped with the heater and wash functions, the toilet seat in our room was just the regular model.
Report this review
Lap K. Couples Australia, December 29, 2015
It was superb

Hotel located away from the main Hakone yumoto strip, tucked away in a quiet but accessible location. The service was terrific, the lady lead us to our Ryokan, followed by servicing of green tea.
9
Report this review
Ji S. Solo travelers South Korea, November 4, 2015
Reasonable Price

The staffs are very kind and polite. Outside Oneshen has a very good veiw and cozy.
7.7
Good.
Report this review
Maria E. Families with young children Philippines, November 4, 2015
Disappointing

Onsen was good
5.7
Report this review
Peter A. Families with young children Japan, November 2, 2015
Over priced

Location is good, Onsen was not bad (but a long way from the best), room was big (but no window)
4.7
For the price we had to pay and in comparison to other onsen ryokan's in Japan very disappointed with this place. JPY45,000 per night for no food and a room without a window is very expensive. Particularly considering the rooms were quite old, didnt have a lot of amenities (which is pretty standard) and the onsen was not that great (average at best)
Report this review
Gavan N. Families with young children Singapore, October 26, 2015
Great Food and service

Spacious Room, Outdoor bath and Excellent food
9.7
Room is spacious where we can have our family dinner together in 1 room with plenty of space for kids to run around too. Great view and really excellent food. The service crew is also very friendly. Shuttle bus are provided at certain timing to the train station. Not recommend to walk from train station to hotel if you carry quite a number of luggage. It is roughly 15 mins walk.
Report this review
Pirasak S. Families with young children Thailand, October 22, 2015
In my opinion it is not a real ryokan

Open door bath, Indoor Bath, Not far from train station
5
In my opinion, it's not real ryokan thought that it is a inn. If you looking for a real ryokan l am not recommend to choose this hotel
Report this review
John O. Couples Ireland, October 15, 2015
Hakone

Location, large room, onsen
7.3
Report this review
Dennis L. Couples United States of America, September 24, 2015
Stayed at the Senkei Plaza, not the Ryokan

The room was quite spacious and comfortable compared to most Japan hotels. Staff was very friendly and helpful, spoke English well. Outdoor Onsen on the 5th floor was beautiful.
9
Room was spacious, about the size of a one bedroom apartment in Japan. Bathroom was really tiny. Nothing fancy or outstanding about the Plaza side (unlike the Ryokan side) but is was clean and comfortable. Amazingly we had a decent view from our window. The sound of the rushing river right outside soothed us to sleep, if you don't like that sound all night long ,you shouldn't stay here.
Report this review
Elaine K. Solo travelers United States of America, September 1, 2015
Very satisfied

Clean and comfortable, very nice rooftop bath, helpful staff
9.3
My stay was very nice! The room was very large and comfortable and included a spacious sitting area. The best part was a large rooftop bath which was very nice and beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful - they prepared my room right away since I arrived to check in a little early and gave me plastic bags to keep my luggage dry from the rain. It is also close to a couple restaurants for dinner and breakfast. The only slight downside is it is a little bit out of town, but it keeps it quieter and there is a free shuttle from the train/bus station!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 176 reviews Next page
Ryokan Senkei HakoneRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - BallroomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Food and BeveragesRyokan Senkei Hakone - Food and BeveragesRyokan Senkei Hakone - Food and BeveragesRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - EntranceRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - InteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - GardenRyokan Senkei Hakone - GardenRyokan Senkei Hakone - InteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - InteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - InteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - InteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - InteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - InteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - InteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - SpaRyokan Senkei Hakone - SpaRyokan Senkei Hakone - SpaRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Senkei Hakone - FacilitiesRyokan Senkei Hakone - FacilitiesRyokan Senkei Hakone - FacilitiesRyokan Senkei Hakone - FacilitiesRyokan Senkei Hakone - FacilitiesRyokan Senkei Hakone - FacilitiesRyokan Senkei Hakone - BathroomRyokan Senkei Hakone - Bathroom


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05