My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ryokan Shunkoso

554 Hakonemati-yumoto, Asigarasimo-gun, Hakone Yumoto, Hakone, Japan 250-0311 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Syunko-so Hotel

Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Bathroom Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Guest Room Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Japanese Style Room Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Tea Room Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Garden Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Hot Spring Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Hot Spring Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Until the beginning of July from June Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Until the beginning of July from June Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Exterior Ryokan Shunkoso Hakone - Exterior
Area: Hakone Yumoto Number of Rooms: 23

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.5

based on
13 reviews

Value for Money
6.9
Location
6.9
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (13)
Sort by:
Wen R. Couples Singapore, December 24, 2013
A normal ryokan stay

Super huge room and quiet environment
6.3
Peggy C. Couples United States of America, August 4, 2013
Serviceable, but overpriced for what it was

Comfortable yukata, fast check-in, fast check-out
5.3
Arrived at Hakone Yumoto Station after the buses stopped running. Walking directions: About 12-20 mins, depending on speed. From the station, cross Route 1, go straight & cross the little red bridge. You'll pass a 7-11 on the left. After about 10 mins, you’ll see the hotel sign on left: a white, rectangular lantern with kanji in black ink. Entrance is inside, on the left, up the driveway. Hotel - Built in the 1950s. Spiderwebs in the public areas; stains on the hallway carpet and mold in the hot spring’s changing room. Room - Japanese-style, the first room (with futons already made up upon arrival) felt cramped. Sitting area was larger. Saw a huge cockroach in the room. Two closets: (1) extra futons; (2) with comfortable yukata (Japanese robes) & hangers. Fridge: like a vending machine (canned and bottled drinks for purchase) and a tiny freezer. Toiletries: face cloths felt like sandpaper and toothbrush-and-toothpaste sets. “Indoor and open-air hot springs”: almost next to each other, separated by balcony-type sliding doors--at least, it was the case on the 1st floor; it was designated as the women’s one that day. Just look at the cloth/sign hanging in the doorway before going in. Breakfast - upon booking, not to be included, but upon check-in, we were told we could get breakfast the next day. Expected to pay at the entrance of the dining hall, but didn’t. Must check credit card bill for additional charges later. So far (5 days since check-out), so good. Buffet style – Western (looked sad; didn’t have any) & Japanese food—soy-braised radish, miso soup, rice, marinated fish for grilling at your table. Or, go to 7/11 for rice balls, etc, or near the station for coffee-shop type places.
Kwong L. Couples Singapore, March 30, 2013
Good Ryokan

Ryokan, Old but well preserved, Convenient but some distance from train station
8.3
Very good overall. We like in particular the good breakfast spread; also went for the ONSEN twice a day
Doreen L. Solo travelers Singapore, March 18, 2013
Large Room, Traditional, Simple

Friendly staffs, Onsen, Dinner
5
Stay there for only a day. very traditional. Shop closes at around 6plus so do get their dinner and remember to pack some snacks.
Ka W. Groups Hong Kong, October 31, 2012
Excellent services, good location, traditional

Good location with traditional taste hot spring hotel
9
Good! The outlook, book style and environment is really Japanese. The opening hours for hot spring is from 3pm to 12am, and 6am to 9am. The breakfast(Japanese style) is really good too (taste good and look good)! I can see many Japaneses go there. It is really a good choice for those who want to experience traditional Japaneses style hotel. it is about 15-20 mins walk from the station/main street, there is also bus (line #4) which can take off just next to the hotel which is very convenient. The only problem is that, there is no internet access at hotal room.
Restaurant Tip: Most of the restaurants would be closed around 6 at Hakone.
Mohamad H. Couples Singapore, December 24, 2011
Big Japanese room but cold in winter

Hot spring
4.7
We arrived at 2 pm and was told that we can check in only at 3pm, so we had to walk a long distance back out to the train station (there were no restaurants nearby) as there were no busses back to the train station. (shuttle busses from the station frequents about every 30 mins). The traditional japanese room that we had was huge, however it gets uncomfortably cold in winter. The indoor hot springs are good to soothe your tired muscles and the the breakfast buffet spread was simple but sufficient. When checking out we encounterd a problem with the staff there who did not seem to know what is, when I mentioned that we've made payment. They insisted that we had only made a booking online and no transaction had been made. (though my credit card statement already showed full bill). After an uncomfortable while, they realised their mistake and allowed us to leave.
Olga S. Families with older children Russia, January 26, 2011
Nice location, but room is cold in winter

hot spring bath, spacious room, truly japanise style, some command of English
8.3
This Ryokan is nicely located close to central station, 20 minutes by walk from the station, easy access to all transportation in Hakone.We have been the only European guests during our stay. The hotel is pretty old, it has it's own hot spring bath and it's a great pleasure after a long day. We have been in January, the room was pretty cold and I really could hardly get warm during a whole night. Suppose in other seasons it might be nice. The hotel serves European breakfast in traditional Japanese dining room. Be prepared, that most guest are Japanese and they will eat fish and tofu for breakfast. Really interesting experience.
Wayne O. Couples Australia, January 21, 2011
Nice Hotel and staff very helpful

Onsens
8
This was a nice older style hotel. Staff were very helpful, easy to find way into town area. Not close to shops and transport etc but only a easy short walk. Onsens were great for tired legs after lots of walking in the Hakone area. Room was fairly large and the heater struggled to keep it as warm as we would like it.
Yishin C. Solo travelers Taiwan, June 24, 2013
silence, good hot-spring

staff friendly, excellent breakfast, large room
8.3
Sheng-Han L. Solo travelers Taiwan, April 20, 2013
環境清幽

風景優美、服務友善、溫泉舒適
8.3

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Ryokan Shunkoso HakoneRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - BathroomRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - Guest RoomRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - Japanese Style RoomRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - Tea RoomRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - GardenRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - Hot SpringRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - Hot SpringRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - Until the beginning of July from JuneRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - Until the beginning of July from JuneRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - ExteriorRyokan Shunkoso Hakone - Exterior

Customer Reviews - Ryokan Shunkoso, Hakone

AS-AGWEB-3A04