Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 113 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 5.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 6.4
  • Food/Dining 6.4
Sort by

Felix B. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Good stay
Clean, good location, comfort
Reviewed November 09, 2014

Raul R. from Netherlands
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2014
Friendly Staff but important improvements needed
Staff
Hotel is well located, with a large Mall on 3 min walk, and staff is very friendly, rooms are large. On the negative side the Hotel has a moisture problem (very strong smell), which is even worse inside the rooms due to the carpets(I stayed at 11th floor), an important upgrade is needed. Internet is almost inexisting.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

mustari T. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Location
Location, location and location
I was fortunate to have been staying at a smoking floor in a smoking room, i am a heavy smoker, so having been able to smoke freely it makes my trip woth while wasnt it.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Michael T. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed one night in December 2013
Very hepful staff, clean room, large room
helpful staff, clean room, centrally located.
The hotel has friendly staff. They are always being very polite and helpful. The room itself is big and clean. In term of the location, it is centrally located.It was very nice stay at the hotel.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

victor S. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2013
I should not select if I know before
Location
Reviewed November 09, 2013

edy H. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2012
great location close to the popular supernarket
city view from the window
A star hotel services obtained completely that guarantee satisfaction a long with the 'sahid' name on hotel accomodation business.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Michael L. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Well-located Olde Worlde Palatial hotel
Location (next to mall) and Charming Service
The Sahid has a well-deserved reputation having stayed there on several occasions. Sadly this visit was disturbed by many small inconveniences. 1) The room wasn't ready so we were nicely upgraded. But that meant we couldn't really unpack as we had to move again the following day. Which meant we couldn't go out for the day. 2) The reception didn't accept my Credit Card, although it was the same one used last year and used the day before at the airport. I had to show them how to 'swipe' an American Credit Card with no chip. 3) Note that the lower class rooms are called DeLuxe and upper are Executive. 4) It was not possible this time to walk along the beach as it is being re-modeled and there's no access.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Scott H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Good location but in need of a refurb.
Next to a mall, and a nice rooftop pool.
Overall I was satisfied, though some of the room fixtures and furnishings could do with an upgrade. The bved was comfortable and staff were very friendsly and professional. Nice location in the city beside a mall and not too far to the coastline..
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Serica F. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in April 2012
5-star hotel with 1-star cleanliness
great location
Sorry, but I will definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only + about this hotel is its location in the city center. I went to Makassar quite often for business trip, so I knew what to expect from its value. Both lobby and room has these strange odor sensation you usually get from old building and furniture. Besides old and smelly, it's not clean neither. I have to ask the housekeeping to redo the bathroom cleaning. They also need to train their guest relations how to behave more politely when encountered with problems, as it is not a 5-star hotel attitude. Sahid Jaya is probably one of the renowned hotel back then, but with a very poor and bad maintenance, really, I don't think they deserved a 5-star rating.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Hilyani H. from Indonesia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Great location but old hotel, need improvements
location, mall next door
Because we are the old couple, we choose this hotel because there is a mall next door, so easy for us to go shopping or to find a food. The hotel need renovation
Reviewed February 07, 2012