Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1038 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.0
Sort by

Lawrence H. from Canada
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Wonderful boutique in the heart of the city....
Price, amenities including good wifi, breakfast and spa...
We were cautiously optimistic and were pleasantly surprised by this property. Forms were generous size and wifi throughout hotel worked well. Breakfast was good and plentiful, except that you had to pay extra for Italian coffee drinks. Staff were helpful and articulate. The spa on 2nd floor is well done and you can't beat walking back to your room. Make use of hotel bikes to explore city at only $2/day. Also near best restaurants in the city including Joma coffee, Le Silapa and L'Adresse... Sometimes it pays to be cautious as this was #1 rated property, but Salana lived up to the hype. Enjoy!
Reviewed February 09, 2013

Allan M. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in February 2013
Very well appointed hotel
Very comfortable rooms, great staff who provide helpful and couteous service and a very good restaurant.
I had a nice comfortable, restful stay in a well appointed room and ate very well from the in room menu, as well as at restaurant. The only negative was that the free wi-fi could not connect and I had to revert to using an ETL dongle.
Reviewed February 09, 2013

Linda S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Lovely hotel in the old town
Quiet neighbourhood with temples and city centre nearby. Amazing view of temple from bedroom window. Staff friendly, helpful and enjoyed a chat. Delicious breakfast in pleasant dining room.
We stayed here over Xmas 2012 and had a great time "a different Xmas". There are lots of restaurants close by and you can visit most of the city on foot. Tuk tuks wre useful for further afield. The room was on the small side but the bed was very comfy and there were all mod cons at hand. We would choose Salana again on our next visit.
Reviewed February 09, 2013

Samantha D. from United States
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Gorgeous hotel in a great location
Small hotel with incredible customer service and a nice, homey feel
Stay at this hotel! What you get for the price here is absolutely amazing. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The welcome drink was delicious. The spa was amazing. The hotel restaurant provided some of the best food I had in the country. Stay here. Don't look anywhere else.
Reviewed February 08, 2013

Susan G. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
A Little Disappointing
Jacuzzi bath and brilliant bed.
Having read all the reviews for this hotel I was expecting something better. No restaurant or room service after 10.30pm - we arrived around 10 so despite asking could get nothing to eat. The suite room was pleasant but smelt of drains until all the windows were opened. Great Jacuzzi and comfortable bed. Staff were all helpful and friendly but overall was disappointed. Ordered room service the following day. My chicken burger was inedible. Nothing like the illustration. Breakfast both days was poor. Cold food and the hotel ran out of fresh bread and no toaster working. Fantastic spa and loved Vientienne.
Reviewed February 06, 2013

indran C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Lovely hotel with great location
Rooms were nice and clean and location was central
The hotel is charming with nice clean rooms and walking distance to food and night market.
Reviewed February 06, 2013

Calvin T. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2013
Nickel+Diming is not Becoming of a Boutique Hotel
Location
Overpriced as it is, I was going to write a favorable review until literally the last moment of my stay. The day before I asked about transport to the airport and the staff said "oh no problem, we have transportation for you to the airport, it's only 10 minutes from here". Now, you could argue I should have asked if there was a cost, but the staff's words and affect led me to believe it was a free shuttle, which wouldn't be abnormal for a place that costs this much per night. Not only did she not tell me there was a cost, they told me the cost literally as I was in the van with all my bags and the engine was on and we were ready to go. Now, if it were a somewhat normal cost, like say twice what a taxi would be, then OK, but the hotel charges around four times what a tuk tuk costs to go 10 minutes to the airport. So I said "no way" and had a stressful and unceremonious end to my stay at the Salana. For this reason they get an F, which is just a plain stupid way to run a business that ostensibly is an upscale establishment.
Reviewed February 05, 2013

Rungrudee R. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Perfect Hotel for business
Soft and welness in bed after the tuff business trip
The Third time to stay at Salana. It's a great place for business trip and relax while you are travelling in Vientien.Locate in the central of Vientien, not far from the River. Soft Bed Sheet and Boutique hotel. Let us have a deep sleep and fresh start on the next day. Great decoration. Have a variety and nutrition during our Breakfast.
Reviewed February 02, 2013

Maureen D. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Lovely hotel in the centre of all the action
safe at night to walk around..
We stayed here for three days in January 22,2013. We splashed out and got the Salana Suite. The room is very big with a kitchen and living room area that has a sectional couch. There is a nice balcony that runs the length of the room. The bathroom is beautiful and there was plenty of hot water. The hotel. Supplied all the shampoos and bath gel. Fluffy white towels and there was a jacuzzi as well. The bed was huge and very comfy we slept very well. The town is a lot of fun with a good selection if bars and cafes that serve terrific meals. The night market was a good diversion but has a lot of clothing that is too small to fit most western physiques..The town has a Lot of interesting sights and if you go for two or three days you will have plenty of time to see everything. The hotel us close to all the shopping and is situated on a street that has several shops. Walk towards the river you will see the cafe Common Grounds. This has terrific sandwiches. The night market is at the end of the street just a few blocks from the hotel. We noticed how clean this town is. Nobody hassles or tries to hustle you, they leave you alone. There are cars abound all very new and shiny clean. The staff a nice and try to be helpful, the breakfast was very good. Loved the croissants .
Reviewed February 02, 2013

Prahlad P. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Great Hotel
Great Location
We enjoyed staying in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is close to the Mekong River where we could take a evening stroll, watch sunset, and visit the night market. There are many restaurants in the area; so eating was not a problem. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast was good. Vientaine is not a big city; so we could take tuk-tuk (there are not many taxis in the city) to visit the monuments and other attractions in the city
Reviewed February 01, 2013