Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1454 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 4.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.6

Jared F. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2012
Everything good except checkout
proximity, spacious
Salvo was in a decent location and had extremely large facilities. They tried to put us in a smoking room at first, which we were adamant in declining, and then at checkout it took nearly an hour, despite the fact that we had already paid. This crippling inefficiency ruined the image of this hotel; not sure if I'll stay here again. At least they spoke English!
Reviewed October 24, 2012

khaled A. from Egypt
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
great location and lovely stuff
best features
Salvo hotel is a classic hotel located in the heart of shanghai city Very close to nanjin pedistrian road and the bund. I recommend this hotel to anyone want to go to shanghai. Certianly you will like it.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nancy R. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2012
Fantastic, nice sized rooms w/panoramic Bund view
comfortable, views, food, location
Arrived late and tired after 17 hours on airplane. Staff greeted me and had my room ready. Bedroom separate from main parlor. Bathroom had large bath tub in a shower "room" with lots of shower heads to clean yourself. Bed was very comfortable, extra pillows and air conditioning allowed you to make as cold as you wanted. Free breakfast was amazing with view of Bund and Oriental Pearl. Would definitely recommend.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

KUAN H. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Great Location worth the money paid
room separated with 2 television and good bathtub
i have a wonderful stay at salvo hotel. i have booked 3 rooms business suite with good value offer by agoda. walking distance about ten minutes to river bund and nanjing shopping streets. surrounding areas with eatery not a problem. spacious room with partition.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Alison C. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 17 nights in June 2012
Nice rooms in convenient location
The rooms were large
I felt this was a four star hotel. The rooms were nice and the hospitality staff were very nice. Howevert, the concierge and other employees a the reception were not that helpful or friendly. The breakfast was pretty good, but not fantastic. The location is very good and many major sites are very accessible. The WiFi only worked in the lobby, which was disappointing. I think it was a very good value for the money.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Andrew P. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Good Hotel, well located and comfortable.
Comfortable and spacious
We enjoyed Shanghai and the Hotel is within walking distance of interest points.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hans S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in October 2012
Great Hotel
Position and view
Stayed 1 week at the Salvo Hotel .The initial check in had no problems as we expected. The reception staff spoke good english so check in went smoothly.The room was quite spacious with all the mod cons you would expect in a hotel.Our room faced towards The Bund area with fantastic views of Shanghai.A 10 minute walk to East Nanjing station (line 2).The rail system is the best way to travel in Shanghai,its very cheap,fast and simple to use with ticket machines with an English translation to make buying tickets easy.If I return to Shanghai ,staying at the Salvo would certainly be again considered.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Howard K. from Netherlands
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2012
large international Chinese 4 star
location, large rooms, complete offer to customers, free internet
stay monthly in this hotel, first time reserved via agoda, got business suite for the same price I previous got a normal room complete hotel with all facilities. Room service worked excellent, got good food and within 15 minutes. free internet.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Charlie Z. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Good location
Good location for tourist
Its location is a clear advantage. Hotel is a bit old. But overall, it's a good value.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Sally M. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2012
Surly staff
Great location
Nice room, nice view from room, overlooking river and Bund area. Room clean, bed comfortable. The front desk staff was not helpful at best and surly at worst.
Reviewed October 16, 2012