Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Salvo Hotel

339 GuangDong Rd,, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/Cafe Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Interior Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Interior Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Interior Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Interior Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Surroundings Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents Only Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents Only
Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents Only Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents Only Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
Area: People Square and South Bund Huangpu Number of Rooms: 600
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

from 1426 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (1426)
Sort by:
Bruce H. Families with young children United Kingdom, April 8, 2012
Room needs updating

No selling point
4.7
Booked this hotel after seeing positive comments from other travellers. Very disappointed. Room needs updating urgently. Bath room facilities very poor quality. Water drains very slowly. Will not come back. No wifi available.
Report this review
Mark J. Business travelers Canada, April 8, 2012
Decent hotel... But overpriced

Clean rooms, comfy beds
6
I was expecting bigger and more luxurious rooms for the price paid. Room was clean and welcoming. Bathroom was a little odd: awkward shower/bath combination that was trying way too hard to be more luxiousrious than it actually was. Room was missing things like a fully stocked minibar. The included breakfast was cold, but complete. Avoid the fried egg chef, did not cook eggs completely, they jiggled like jello and were cold almost all the way through.
Report this review
Yves T. Solo travelers France, April 7, 2012
very good hotel, well situated, quiet large room

cozy, large spaces, service, internet
8.7
Salvo is the type oh hotel I like : large bedroom, fast elevators, perfect buffet breakfeast and well situated in the city. I recomend it.
Report this review
Roni H. Couples Israel, April 7, 2012
Awesome suites, great breakfast and friendly staff

Affordable suites with very nice breakfast included, staff speaks good English and are friendly, location
9.7
We really enjoyed our stay at the Salvo hotel, it was definitely one of the best, most luxurious hotels both of us has ever stayed in. The room was really big and comfortable, with a nice view of Shanghai. Soft beds, nice bath tubs, well decorated... The included breakfast was really good too, and offered both Western and Asian dishes of high standards. Location was great, not far from the metro and within walking distance to everything we wanted to see! Staff could speak good English and was really helpful and friendly. Only downside was the gym- real disappointment..
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: We really enjoyed the Yu gardens (10 minutes walk from the hotel) and the old Shanghai streets around it. If you buy anything, bargain hard!
Report this review
Frederick F. Couples Hong Kong, April 6, 2012
Friendly, helpful and efficient service

Good location with reasonable price
8
The size of the room is good enough for two people to stay. The bed is comfortable. Facilities in the room are user friendly.
Report this review
Lisa K. Couples United States of America, April 5, 2012
Great location in the Bund

nice size suites and good location
6.7
i stayed at the salvo several times in the past 6 months and i have always been very pleased with the service. unfortunately, as the price has increased over the past year, the service has gone down. breakfast is now sub-standard, one morning we watched them "practicing" making eggs and wouldn't take our order. all the other food was old and cold even though it was only 7 am! also, the concerierges at the hotel now speak no english at all and even sent us in a taxi across town to the wrong location, costing us rmb roundtrip. i tried to complain to the executive management, and they didn't appear to care. i hope they get their act together because it was my favorite reasonably priced, great location hotel in shanghai to stay at until this stay!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Only two blocks from the river and to Nanjing road, you cannot beat the location in Shanghai!
Report this review
Tang M. Solo travelers Taiwan, April 4, 2012
good value for money

staff service attitude is good
8.3
'Room is clean and nice,breakfast is good too,location is okay,it's close to bund.Staff are really nice and helpful.The only downside is the hopital just across to the hotel.Over all,it's good money for value.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: if you like to shopping or for night view, it's good choice.
Report this review
Ari V. Business travelers Finland, April 1, 2012
Interesting location for Salvo hotel

Some original local life in the surrounding streets, close to the Bund and People's square. Easy access by foot to Nanjing Xi Lu Metro station. Really friendly housekeeping staff.
6
It was ok to stay in this hotel for a couple of days and take the metro or the taxi to the aapointments in the city. Interesting stroll along the Shandong Lu to the metro station or along Guandong Lu to the People's Square. Not so nice was that the window of the room was open on arrival and the room was really chilly (it was after midnight. The breakfast could be better as well. Really nice people working on housekeeping. Excellent quick service with e.g. getting an iron board to the room. Some local girls were trying to find company (=customers) outside the hotel but not too much disturbance about that. Rooms are a little old and tired looking. But clean.
Restaurant Tip: Many small local restaurants. Make a test in those. You might get a positive surprise both in price and the food quality.
Report this review
Abdul J. Business travelers Singapore, March 30, 2012
Hotel with good service and location

In the centre of Shanghai, convenient to Metro, close to many halal restaurants
8.7
This was my second stay. This time I brought my wife. We were very happy with the service. The housekeeping was very good. We had problems with the toilet flush. Housekeeping came several times to make sure the problem was sorted out. The hostel is within walking distance to many halal restaurants. There is one in front of the hotel at the junction of Shandong Road and there are many other halal restaurants along Zhejiang Road. The hotel is within walking distance to Nanjing East Metro station, the main shopping area in Shanghai.
Report this review
Jonathan W. Business travelers Malaysia, March 29, 2012
Great location

Space
8
The location of this hotel is so convenient to the bund or to the people's square. Rooms are big and comfortable and the best thing is that the lounge and bedroom is separated so it gives privacy to the guests.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Walking distance to the shopping areas and the bund
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Salvo Hotel ShanghaiSalvo Hotel Shanghai - LobbySalvo Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeSalvo Hotel Shanghai - InteriorSalvo Hotel Shanghai - InteriorSalvo Hotel Shanghai - InteriorSalvo Hotel Shanghai - InteriorSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - SurroundingsSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents OnlySalvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents OnlySalvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents OnlySalvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents OnlySalvo Hotel Shanghai - BathroomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom

Customer Reviews - Salvo Hotel, Shanghai

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B06