Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Salvo Hotel

339 GuangDong Rd,, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China 200001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Lobby Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/Cafe Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Interior Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Interior Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Interior Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Interior Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Surroundings Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents Only Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents Only
Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents Only Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents Only Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest Room Salvo Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom
Area: People Square and South Bund Huangpu Number of Rooms: 600
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

from 1413 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (1413)
Sort by:
Abdul J. Business travelers Singapore, March 30, 2012
Hotel with good service and location

In the centre of Shanghai, convenient to Metro, close to many halal restaurants
8.7
This was my second stay. This time I brought my wife. We were very happy with the service. The housekeeping was very good. We had problems with the toilet flush. Housekeeping came several times to make sure the problem was sorted out. The hostel is within walking distance to many halal restaurants. There is one in front of the hotel at the junction of Shandong Road and there are many other halal restaurants along Zhejiang Road. The hotel is within walking distance to Nanjing East Metro station, the main shopping area in Shanghai.
Jonathan W. Business travelers Malaysia, March 29, 2012
Great location

Space
8
The location of this hotel is so convenient to the bund or to the people's square. Rooms are big and comfortable and the best thing is that the lounge and bedroom is separated so it gives privacy to the guests.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Walking distance to the shopping areas and the bund
Michael D. Couples Australia, March 26, 2012
A 2* hotel masquerading as a 5*

Concierge desk
3
At the outset let me say that I get a lot more pleasure out of giving a positive review than a negative one. However, I cannot in conscience give the Salvo Hotel in Shanghai anything positive, apart from the concierge services. This hotel has some of the dowdiest, dark and uninviting hotel rooms that I have ever come across. However, let me dwell on something that I have some expertise on as an executive chef. The hotel's breakfast area is an absolute disaster. During our five days at this hotel, no once did we have a breakfast that we could describe as "hot". The food was in bain maries heated by fuel cannisters underneath. However, on two of the mornings the flames in the cans had extinguished so it was little wonder the food was cold. The egg station was a perverse joke. The "chef" would fry a dozen eggs, then put them on plates and walk away for 10 minutes. The result was cold fried eggs made even worse by having to scrape them from the plate they had been deposited onto one's breakfast plate, replete with the grease that they had been cooked in. Tea and coffee? The tea was in a Connex container with one tea bag in it for the 20 cup container. Result: light brown water. Additionally, the tea, like the rest of the food was cold. The coffee? Once again in a Connex container, it resembled black tar and like the tea was cold on most mornings. The staff had not been trained properly. Despite standing beside the tea/coffee stand, they still did not serve the tables, with guests having to get up and serve themselves. Upon entering the dining room, no one was shown to their tables. On one particularly crowded morning, when all tables were occupied, the guests waiting for a table were never at any time approached by the staff. English is hardly spoken in this restaurant. Poached eggs with congealed Hollandaise sauce that had been cooked an hour earlier and of course cold. In a nutshell, the worst hotel I have ever stayed at!!
Travel tip: I would be disingenuous if I were to recommend this hotel to anyone. Until something is done about the appallingly trained staff and the breakfast, my tip is give the Salvo a wide berth.
Benson A. Families with young children Philippines, March 23, 2012
Hotel with great staff

Location, polite and accommodating staff
8
very soft and comfortable pillows. room needs a little bit of cleaning though. very delicious food. great service. lots of small but good eateries within the vicinity. we will stay again with this hotel.
Shopping Tip: Very near Nanjing east rd, you can just walk towards the area or to the subway where you can take the train to go to other places.
Cheok L. Couples Australia, March 18, 2012
Great hotel at great location

Location
10
room was big and clean, hotel close to everything. will stay there again any time!
Jenanne I. Couples Australia, March 18, 2012
Lovely hotel the staff were very helpful

Great position close to everything, Helpful staff with booking flights etc. Staff always had a smile. Business room was very large and comfortable. Meals were good .
8
Some very good restraurants in nearby streets. Small walk to the bund and many other attractions
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The hop on hop off busses are great for seeing all the attractions they go around town all day.
Peter C. Couples Ireland, March 17, 2012
Excellent location, very nice rooms

Location, room styling, breakfast
8.7
The hotel is within easy walking distance of many of the attractions in Shanghai and the subway is only 5 minutes away for the rest. The room was a suite with a really nice traditional luxury style. The western and Chinese restaurants were both very good and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The only problem was that their was noise from the other rooms during the night. The walls are not sound proof.
Nightlife Tip: For Europeans Xintindi is a must see at night. The restaurants and bars are just like home and full of Europeans. This is the only real European enclave that I have found anywhere in China.
Lone T. Business travelers Denmark, March 16, 2012
fabulous - i can strongly recommend it!

Really spacious rooms, bath tub, wonderful breakfast buffet, computer in each room
9.3
i can only recommend this place - it was simply lovely with a fantastic view, situated perfectly in the centre, reasonable restaurants and good service. we had a really good half-price deal through agoda.
Th.J. V. Business travelers Netherlands, March 16, 2012
hotel getting dirty

Location
5
i never got a room facing the backside. this time, i did
Gordon M. Couples United States of America, March 14, 2012
great location, good beds at a reasonable price

The location is perfect; the rooms are attractive, comfortable and clean.
9
For a leisure traveler the Salvo is centrally located among major attractions including the Old City, People's Park, and the Bund. The hotel is modern, the rooms very comfortable and the beds are excellent. For central Shanghai the price can't be beat. The restaurant and bar are small but adequate and many choices are nearby. The staff at the main desk generally does not speak much English, but the staff at the executive level checkin was always helpful.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: When walking the Bund be sure to go into some of the beautifully restored Art Deco buildings, especially the Fairmont Peace Hotel.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Salvo Hotel ShanghaiSalvo Hotel Shanghai - LobbySalvo Hotel Shanghai - Coffee Shop/CafeSalvo Hotel Shanghai - InteriorSalvo Hotel Shanghai - InteriorSalvo Hotel Shanghai - InteriorSalvo Hotel Shanghai - InteriorSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Suite RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - SurroundingsSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents OnlySalvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents OnlySalvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents OnlySalvo Hotel Shanghai - Business Twin - Domestic Residents OnlySalvo Hotel Shanghai - BathroomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomSalvo Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom

Customer Reviews - Salvo Hotel, Shanghai

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C06