Back to hotel info

Good 6.1
Based on 46 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 46 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 5.1
  • Location 6.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.9
  • Service 6.2
  • Value for Money 6.0
  • Food/Dining 6.6

ashish M. from India
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2013
Very avg. bad toilets. Run by a family, they r gud
Family running the hotel is gud
No hot water. Poor bathrooms Expensive for its quality
Reviewed February 18, 2013

maurice B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
lovely hotel but misleading informaton given
both the tuk tuk diver and the male attendant associated with the hotel were brilliant
Our rooms were very nice although no hot water and the toilet didnt work. Food was very nice as was the younger male waiter. In fact id lke to give him a special mention as he looked after us very well. Take what the older hotel manager says with a pinch of salt. Ask for the tuk tuk driver associated with the hotel...surely the best in sri lanka and honest too.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Brian C. from Ireland
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Dreadful experience - don't recommend
Near Sundaras Guesthouse
It's the rest time I've ever been greeted at a guesthouse not by my name. That set the time for two dreadful days. I booked a standard room (with fan) and had to request a fan. The sheets and pillows were damp - and there were watermarks on the walls. I requested to change room twice and was shown two similar damp rooms, which I refused to accept due to health reasons. I was upgraded to one of the two a/c rooms upstairs, which I appreciated. The following day I was due to change rooms, but was told I could stay in the same room. So I took a long day trip to Sigiriya and returned at 7pm in need of a shower and an early night, and was told I had to change room... and was shown to my original room - still damp, with damp sheets. Again, I pointed this out and refused to stay in a room in this condition. I was beyond annoyed, so went to Guesthouse next door who were kind enough to take me to another guesthouse by tuk-tuk free of charge, where I agreed to take a room. When I returned to Saman's I was then told I could stay in the room I was already occupying! I then had to return to Sandaras, thank them for their help and inform the other guesthouse that I would not now take the room. I've never had a more disappointing stay ANYWHERE - communication is poor, the standard rooms were damp, it wasnt particularly clean and I didn't feel welcome. I've never written a bad review before, but Saman's is primarily a restaurant - perhaps they should stick with what they are good at. This was recommended in the Rough Guide, which is disappointing.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Jussi H. from Finland
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Unique place with tasty food.
Truly great people, amazing food.
Here we had the best curry in two weeks' trip! And we got to go fishing with the owners, which was a real bonus. Thank You again! Walking distance away from the Cave Temple.
Reviewed February 04, 2013

Deepika K. from India
Groups
Stayed one night in December 2012
Go for other options
On main road
It is on the main road as suggested by few people on the reviews. They have two different bed sheets on two beds and that too, we get a doubt if they are washed. Right from bathroom mat, we have to ask for every thing. They gave us dinner and one of the curries got spoiled but did not reduce amount for that and charged around 870 for one dinner. People are friendly but the hotel should be good for stay. The window doors do not close completely, frog sounds the whole night, iron cots which are very small and you have to lie down in only one position whole night. Hotel is not clean and there is dust in the room.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Andrew E. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
An interesting place to stay, near the caves
Rooms were large, clean and had sitting areas.
we had two rooms, both upstairs. they both had sitting areas inside the room and their was a sitting area outside the room. downstairs rooms were a bit less appealing, but may not be available via agoda. excellent value for money. restaurant was a bit daggy, but food was okay. breakfast was mostly a huge pile of toast. lots of monkeys in this area and one of the staff would chase them off the room with a sling shot. don't leave anything outside the room unattended. however, the monkeys kept there distance when we sat outside. an interesting place to stay. the guest house next door had better dining options down than samans and the heritage guest house up the road a bit, was pretty reasonable for nice setting, 100rp by tuk tuk.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Kamilla O. from Denmark
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
Convenient but dirty and expensive
Location okay, good food
This hotel is conveniently located, but not worth the money. First of all they don't have any fans, which really is needed to stay in the hotel as there is soooo many mosquitos. The room was dirty and unclean. The sheets and towels smelled awful. The mosquito net kept falling down, as it wasn't pinned in. The food was tasty if you ate early, cos otherwise it would be really cold. And it was expensive too. We payed 3900 for lunch for 4 people, not incl. drinks.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Robert K. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Very friendly owner, nice rooms
Helpful owner, good rice and curry, nice rooms, free wifi
Rooms are very nice and clean with wood furniture, good bathroom, but no hot water ( but they will bring it to you in a bucket). The owner and most of the staff is very capable, but unfortunately that's not true with everyone (we repeatedly got food we didn't order). On the plus side the owner fixed it by offering us other food. Rs 600 per rice and curry per person (definitely plenty of food with around 7 side dishes, very good). Rs 1,100 for one fish (baked, with ketchup on top plus small side of fries, not worth it at all).
Reviewed January 20, 2013

JIA R. from China
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2012
Nice guesthouse!
location
We booked 2 non-air rooms.The owner is very nice. When we arrived and asked the owner if there is hot water in the room, she updated one of our rooms to air room and didn't charge extra money.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nicola K. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
very kind and helpful hosts
the owners were exceptionally helpful and generous in all the things we needed
what this guest house perhaps lacks in polished refinement it more than made up for with the generosity and helpfulness of the owners. they helped us arrange travel to sigiriya, provided a great breakfast early on our departure day and also helped us flag down the correct bus to get on to send us on our way!
Reviewed December 15, 2012