Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Samans Guest House

Mathale Road, Dambulla, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Good

6.1

based on 46 reviews

22 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.0
Location
6.8
Staff Performance
6.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
5.1
Room Comfort/Standard
5.9
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (46)
Sort by:
Fred B. Couples Netherlands, December 15, 2014
Samans ok but not clean.

1st Its close to dambulla cave temple. 2nd The rice and curry is very good.
4
It was not as good as we expected the room was small dark and not claen there where not towels and bed sheets we had to ask for the and got old dirty towels. from all the guest houses we went to it one we will never return to next time.
Report this review
Eva B. Families with older children Denmark, April 9, 2014
untidy hotel

nice people
5.3
Report this review
Angela W. Couples United Kingdom, February 16, 2014
Drive past

staff very nice
5
We had a job finding a hotel and as this one was mentioned in rough guide we thought this would be ok If you were a back packer yes House keeping really not good it was the smell that really put me off Was glad to move on
Report this review
Manus C. Solo travelers United States of America, February 6, 2014
Walk to Golden Temple in 5 minutes

Staff and owners very helpful, location and food.
8.3
Staff was helpful in setting up tours which were not expensive . They tried in every way to help my stay be comfortable. Called for bus pickup at hotel for my next destination. Great collection of antique Buddha's and iron works. Nice garden for any meal. Food was very good.
Report this review
Frederick M. Solo travelers Australia, February 2, 2014
Enjoyable

cleanliness, food
8.3
I enjoyed the stay and support the owner and his son's efforts to upgrade the older hotel, as well as their attention to cleanliness. I appreciate in their situation that finding suitable craftsmen makes their renovation task difficult. The guesthouse deserves its high ranking in Dambulla, but needs to continue to focus on the details of the renovations.
Report this review
Stefan C. Couples Malta, August 26, 2013
Conveniently located for caves

Location, Large Room, Free Wi-Fi
7
Conveniently located for caves. Room upstairs was large, but owner should install some railings in the corridor upstairs
Report this review
Susanne R. Couples Germany, August 8, 2013
Comfortable and cute room, close to caves

Furniture in the room, good dinner, close to caves
7.7
The staff is friendly, nice and helpful. The room is very cute and nice. The shower a little small but fine. Dinner was very good. One can easily walk to the Caves but has to take a tuk tuk into town to catch a bus, for example. The ride should be 100 rupees. The Hotel organized a tuk tuk for us for one day for 2000 rupees to visit Sigiria, the mountain next to it Pidurangula (really great hike)and Ritigale. This was a good day trip. We really liked the hike up Pidurangula because of the great view of Sigiria from the top and very few people. Immediately a guide followed us to show us everything. This help was not necessary because the path was easy to find. Though at the top a little bit of climbing was required where I was happy to have the guide and my husband. We gave the guide 200 rupees and he asked for 500. Ritigale was interesting too but the drive was quite far. When we arrived at Ritigale the local park employee wanted to cheat us. He told us that there was no entrance fee but that we should make a donation of 1370 rupees per person. Luckily I had my guide book with me which said that the entrance fee is 500 rupees per person. I should it to the employee and he immediately backed off. A very off putting experience. One could also easilty do Sigiria, Pidurangula, and the the Dambulla caves in one day. The next day we took a bus to Annuradhapura. We caught the bus in the middle of Dambulla town and the ride took 1.5 hours.
Report this review
Mariusz N. Couples Germany, February 26, 2013
Quiet room with good working A/C

We reached the guest house befor the hour of check-in and there was no problem from the owner.
6.7
The breakfest is hier standard, no any extras, room was quiet, A/C worked good. At reception desk we beckome any help that we needed.
Report this review
Ashish M. Families with young children India, February 14, 2013
Very avg. bad toilets. Run by a family, they r gud

Family running the hotel is gud
3.3
No hot water. Poor bathrooms Expensive for its quality
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Sigiriya rock. Must see. Stay in kandy instead of dambulla
Report this review
Daniel A. Couples Germany, February 14, 2013
Never again

the owner was quite helpful with organizing our trip to sigiriya and the staff was very kind
4
all in all the room was not clean. for that price absolutely unacceptable.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 22 reviews Next page
Samans Guest House SigiriyaSamans Guest House Sigiriya - GardenSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - SurroundingsSamans Guest House Sigiriya - SurroundingsSamans Guest House Sigiriya - KitchenSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - GardenSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - EntranceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - EntranceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - BathroomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ReceptionSamans Guest House Sigiriya - GardenSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - GardenSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - GardenSamans Guest House Sigiriya - KitchenSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - KitchenSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - EntranceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - EntranceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - EntranceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - EntranceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - EntranceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Floor PlansSamans Guest House Sigiriya - EntranceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - ExteriorSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - EntranceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - GardenSamans Guest House Sigiriya - PlaygroundSamans Guest House Sigiriya - GardenSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Balcony/TerraceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Balcony/TerraceSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - RestaurantSamans Guest House Sigiriya - Exterior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A01