My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Vainguinim Valley, Dona Paula, Panaji, North Goa, India 403 004 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Deluxe Compact Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Deluxe Premier Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - 1 Bedroom Suite Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - 2 Bedroom Suite Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Penthouse Suite Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Upper Coast Cafe Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Sea Pearl Restaurant Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Caitan ’n’ Joe Bar Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Salud Latino Bar Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Sea Pearl Restaurant Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Upper Coast Cafe Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Swimming Pool Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Kid’s Pool Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Gymnasium Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Fitness Room Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Lobby
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Hotel Exterior Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Hotel Exterior Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Hotel Exterior Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Guest Room Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Guest Room Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Lobby
Hotel Area: Panaji Number of Rooms: 72
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

8.1

based on
74 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
7.0
Staff Performance
8.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.7
Guest reviews are written by our customers after their stay at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat.
All reviews (74)
Sort by:
Narayana R. Solo travelers India, September 23, 2012
Good Hotel with smiling staff

Quiet and calm place
8.7
I had a pleasant stay for 2 nights at this hotel; friendly staff makes the experience even better!
Shaikna L. Families with young children India, August 27, 2012
Lovely rooms

Receptionists were very kind and helpful, good hotel, great value for money, rooms were well maintained.
9.7
The hotel was excellent, lovely location, breakfast was superb with good choice of foods. Thumbs up for the hotel and would recommend to others too.
Kim J. Business travelers Malaysia, August 3, 2012
Lovely hotel with fantastic service

Environment and high quality tasty food
9.3
being the low season there were few guests in the hotel. the free shuttle to panaji and dona paula circle was very welcome, we love the breakfast and the freshly cooked food- omelette, thosay. we also enjoyed the dinner at reasonable price. desk staff weere very helpful and attentive
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: get to panaji and hope on a bus to old goa for a day trip of the famous basilica bom jesus , se cathedreal, archeological museum. walk 5 minutes to enjoy the beach. watch sunset at dona paula circle where hotel will shuttle guests.
Annamalai S. Groups India, July 16, 2012
Lovely hotel

location
10
best hotel in panjim. breakfast was excellent. rooms were new and clean. reception desk was very helpful. nice stay. clean swimming pool. excellent room service. travel desk was very helpful. rooms were spacious .
Nightlife Tip: nearby casino
Matthew B. Couples Australia, June 22, 2012
Nice hotel and friendly staff + a half decent gym

gym, restaurant, local shuttle bus
8
Very nice hotel with a pool, gym, table tennis, bar with pool table. Their Italian food in the restaurant is amazing and authentic - no unnecessary Indian spices. The rooms are nice and clean. There are a lot of small things that are annoyances about the hotel eg. the bedroom door alarm triggers randomly sometimes, the gym has a caretaker who likes to watch you work out, the room service menu often isn't available. In all the hotel is very good, we stayed there for 5 days.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: All of the beaches in Goa are dirty during the monsoon season, so stick to the hotel pool.
Avinash R. Groups India, June 17, 2012
Nice, Cozy & Good Value for Money !!!

Spacious Rooms, Excellent Staff & Service, Good Value for Money
8.7
Me along with 2 friends had stayed during June-12. The check-in and welcome were quick & courteous. The service of the staff were awesome & very friendly. Nice array of variety for a good breakfast. The rooms are very very spacious and very comfortable bed. The pool was a bit shallow and small though. They host a bar and gym which is adequate too. I understand they arrange a shuttle to Panjim daily provided you inform them in advance. Overall i would recommend people going with family or to relax in GOA, this hotel is the best suited for that. Suggestion: A SPA would be a great inclusion for this hotel. Hope the management will add this soon.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Location of the hotel is not close to the most happening nothern part of Goa. So if you are looking to be closer to the action stay somewhere near Baga or Calangute beaches.
Ilzam L. Business travelers Sri Lanka, June 8, 2012
Lovely Place to Stay

Staff, Service, Choice of Meals, Etc...
8.3
this place is quite good, its a littleaway from the happening goa but for business and focus of work this place is ideal. i quite enjoyed my stay here around and would recommend.
Nicholas B. Couples United States of America, May 21, 2012
Amazing Hotel, Staff, and Food!

Best Service In India, Delicious Food, Pool, Shuttle To Panjim, WiFi, 2 minutes from a beach
9.7
I had the honor of being able to stay at the Sandalwood Resort for 6 nights in May of 2012. Let's talk about the rooms first...Fantastic! They were spacious rooms, well appointed with modern amenities, seperate (and clean!) shower, large bed, small balcony, and properly working AC, WiFi, and TV. Everything someone could ask for and for a great price. Now let's discuss what makes this hotel SO much better than most others in India.....the staff is AMAZING! Everyone had a smile on their faces and seemed to thoroughly enjoy their jobs. I've been in a lot of hotels with staff that seem disgruntled (including the one I am in right now while I type this) and it's apparent from their attitude how the hotel is run. The Sandalwood seems to opperate like one large family. I need to give a special shout out to Ranjan (the executive chef) and Prem (the food and beverage manager). When I told them that I teach cooking classes in the States they were MORE than excited to be able to put together a small course in Indian cooking for me and show me how to make a special Goan fish curry, Chicken Makhani (which I ordered almost every day, it was fabulous), and discussed many other dishes with me and presented a demo in fruit carving. Chef Ranjan presents food in such a beautiful manner and has a real appreciation for the ingredients he is working with and the preperation behind them.  Francis in the restaurant gets a mention too. He regaled us with amazing stories of his love for adventure and the stories of his mothers cooking and travels. He is a kind hearted, genuine, and loveable guy and makes the restaurant dining experience so much better. I can go on and on about the hotel, but hopefully you will take a chance and book it for yourself. You will NOT be dissapointed!
Szabolcs K. Business travelers Hungary, April 11, 2012
great hotel with beutiful garden

deliceous food,cocktail bar,swimming pool
9.7
Great Hotel with beutiful Garden. The swimming pool is big. The cocktail bar is very nice,with lot of coctails and international beers,good music. The breakfast was rich,delicious. I recommend for everybody. The service is helpfully.
Travel tip: drink something in the cocktail bar
Nishant S. Couples India, February 22, 2012
Great hotel and hospitality

amazing rooms and a pivate beach
9.3
its an amazing hotel and offers all the amenities right from great balconies with pool and courtyard views. the rooms are amzing with formal and private zones.it was an absolute delight to be at this resort.
Hotel Feature Tip: Great rooms with huge balconies

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North GoaSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Deluxe CompactSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Deluxe PremierSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - 1 Bedroom SuiteSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - 2 Bedroom Suite Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Penthouse Suite Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Upper Coast CafeSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Sea Pearl RestaurantSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Caitan ’n’ Joe BarSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Salud Latino BarSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Sea Pearl RestaurantSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Upper Coast CafeSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Swimming PoolSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Kid’s PoolSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - GymnasiumSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Fitness RoomSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - LobbySandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Hotel ExteriorSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Hotel ExteriorSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Hotel ExteriorSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Guest RoomSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Guest RoomSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Lobby


AS-AGWEB-3A03