Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Vainguinim Valley, Dona Paula, Panaji, North Goa, India 403 004 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Deluxe Compact Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Deluxe Premier Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - 1 Bedroom Suite Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - 2 Bedroom Suite Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Penthouse Suite Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Upper Coast Cafe Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Sea Pearl Restaurant Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Caitan ’n’ Joe Bar Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Salud Latino Bar Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Sea Pearl Restaurant Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Upper Coast Cafe Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Swimming Pool Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Kid’s Pool Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Gymnasium Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Fitness Room Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Lobby
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Hotel Exterior Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Hotel Exterior Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Exterior Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Guest Room Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Guest Room Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Lobby
Area: Panaji Number of Rooms: 72
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
77 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
7.1
Staff Performance
8.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.5
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (77)
Sort by:
Nicholas B. Couples United States of America, May 21, 2012
Amazing Hotel, Staff, and Food!

Best Service In India, Delicious Food, Pool, Shuttle To Panjim, WiFi, 2 minutes from a beach
9.7
I had the honor of being able to stay at the Sandalwood Resort for 6 nights in May of 2012. Let's talk about the rooms first...Fantastic! They were spacious rooms, well appointed with modern amenities, seperate (and clean!) shower, large bed, small balcony, and properly working AC, WiFi, and TV. Everything someone could ask for and for a great price. Now let's discuss what makes this hotel SO much better than most others in India.....the staff is AMAZING! Everyone had a smile on their faces and seemed to thoroughly enjoy their jobs. I've been in a lot of hotels with staff that seem disgruntled (including the one I am in right now while I type this) and it's apparent from their attitude how the hotel is run. The Sandalwood seems to opperate like one large family. I need to give a special shout out to Ranjan (the executive chef) and Prem (the food and beverage manager). When I told them that I teach cooking classes in the States they were MORE than excited to be able to put together a small course in Indian cooking for me and show me how to make a special Goan fish curry, Chicken Makhani (which I ordered almost every day, it was fabulous), and discussed many other dishes with me and presented a demo in fruit carving. Chef Ranjan presents food in such a beautiful manner and has a real appreciation for the ingredients he is working with and the preperation behind them.  Francis in the restaurant gets a mention too. He regaled us with amazing stories of his love for adventure and the stories of his mothers cooking and travels. He is a kind hearted, genuine, and loveable guy and makes the restaurant dining experience so much better. I can go on and on about the hotel, but hopefully you will take a chance and book it for yourself. You will NOT be dissapointed!
Szabolcs K. Business travelers Hungary, April 11, 2012
great hotel with beutiful garden

deliceous food,cocktail bar,swimming pool
9.7
Great Hotel with beutiful Garden. The swimming pool is big. The cocktail bar is very nice,with lot of coctails and international beers,good music. The breakfast was rich,delicious. I recommend for everybody. The service is helpfully.
Travel tip: drink something in the cocktail bar
Nishant S. Couples India, February 22, 2012
Great hotel and hospitality

amazing rooms and a pivate beach
9.3
its an amazing hotel and offers all the amenities right from great balconies with pool and courtyard views. the rooms are amzing with formal and private zones.it was an absolute delight to be at this resort.
Hotel Feature Tip: Great rooms with huge balconies
Bu Q. Families with young children China, January 27, 2012
Very good hotel

Nice Room and nice service
9
The hotel is very nice, 93 sqm is enough for a family. But the location is not good, There are no any shop\bar\market around 5 KM. The beach and sea is very dirty. A lot of sewage through raceway to the sea, make the beach to black. Swiming pool open only till 7pm. Closed too early.
Nightlife Tip: There is a party in the garden every night.
Manoj J. Couples India, January 22, 2012
Nice hotel to stay

Clean, not noisy.
7.7
stayed at Delux compact room for 3 days. It is quite clean, room service was good.Hotel staff were always helpful.Good food and surrounding were nice. connectivity to different places is a bit problem,no public transport, you have to hire a Taxi. Still I would be happy to stay there again.
Yashesh A. Couples India, December 29, 2011
Very Good Hotel

spacious rooms, very good food, good ambience and friendly staff taking care of minute details
9
very good hotel in a good location. proximity to a quiet beach ..which was exactly my preference. however, if you like crowded places like b. ga, anjuna, etc...the same are quiet far from the hotel. the travel desk of the hotel was disappointing. the food especially, the breakfast was a excellent...would recommend trying the chilli cheese toast ..you may like it. all in all a great family resturant with good ambience, spacious rooms and hotels, bars and beach.
Anthony S. Couples New Zealand, December 27, 2011
Comfortable hotel with good sized rooms

Nice rooms, nice pool area
6.7
A comfortable hotel with nice rooms and nice pool area (very much appreciated after a hot day in Goa). Staff generally pretty polite and helpful. Restaurant fine for breakfasts but only average for evening meals - and the one disadvantage here is that there are few other options for meals nearby.
Restaurant Tip: For a bit of variety, take the free shuttle offered to Dona Paula jetty in the evening and enjoy a meal at beachside restaurant - get cab back to hotel afterwards.
Faiyaz S. Couples India, December 17, 2011
Average hotel

Nothing special
4.3
the room was small and was not worth the price the swimming pool is sad with the tiles loosing color and cleanliness was not upto the mark, location is also a minus
Christian P. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 5, 2011
Overpriced average hotel

Isolation
4.3
On to other things. The 1st room I was put in was damp smelling and the 2nd smelt like a pet shop, although this went away. The food was good although was terribly slow. I was the only person in there sometimes and yet I still had to ask for the bill 3 times. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and they charge silly amounts for cabs. Use of the shared private beach was nice, although don't even think about sitting on a bed as they belong to the other hotel and their security guard blows a whistle and tells you to get off!
Piotr D. Couples Poland, November 30, 2011
Good hotel in a remote location

Service, ambience
8.3
well, i have a hard time to evaluate this hotel. the hotel itself was very good and we can't find anything to complain about. however, it's location makes the choice not so obvious. the location is very remote, it's hard to get anywhere and you have to spend money on taxis. the nearby beach is very small and nothing is there. if you like such places without crowds then you'll like. but if you want to have some fun at the beach or eat something in a beach shack, then forget it. sunbeds are available only for guests of a bigger, adjacent resort, so you can only take a mat from sandalwood hotel and lye directly on the sand. if you're fine with those inconvenience than you can choose the hotel and you won't be disappointed.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North GoaSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Deluxe CompactSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Deluxe PremierSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - 1 Bedroom SuiteSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - 2 Bedroom Suite Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Penthouse Suite Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Upper Coast CafeSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Sea Pearl RestaurantSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Caitan ’n’ Joe BarSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Salud Latino BarSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Sea Pearl RestaurantSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Upper Coast CafeSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Swimming PoolSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Kid’s PoolSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - GymnasiumSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Fitness RoomSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - LobbySandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Hotel ExteriorSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Hotel ExteriorSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - ExteriorSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Guest RoomSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Guest RoomSandalwood Hotel & Retreat North Goa - Lobby


AS-AGWEB-3B05