arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 4267 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 4267 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Staff Performance 7.0
  • Value for Money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 6.0

7.3 Peter B.
Indonesia
September 07, 2013
Compact and classic in the heart of Chinatown
location, interior design, proximity to transport
We pretty much enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Though initially taken aback by the small room we quickly adapted. Loved the classic imperial decor of the establishment though the carpets could do with a good clean, particularly in the stairways/escalator regions. On the whole staff were friendly and helpful - there are always some exceptions. Our bed was very comfortable, and though the room was streetside it wasn't noisy. It was also wonderful to throw open the shuttered windows in the morning and see the shopping activity in the alley below. Breakfast doesn't rate highly - after one try we decided to eat out for the remaining 4 days of our visit. Can't quibble about the location right in the heart of Chinatown and close to all the places we wanted to visit. With the MRT very close by and taxis available outside the front door, transport was never a problem.

7.7 Alan M.
Australia
September 05, 2013
Pleasant stay. Small room,tiny bathroom!
Central position,pleasant staff,cleanliness.
After reading reviews we were pleasantly surprised at all aspects of our stay I was only sorry I was not able to take a photo of the bathroom due to reflection from the silver inlay in the tiles!

5 ALICE L.
Hong Kong
September 04, 2013
hotel in center
convenient
beds are not comfortable at all. you can feel slept on the springs not mattress. also, feel having fleas biting during sleeping. rooms are extremely small.

5 On Y.
Hong Kong
September 04, 2013
Great Location, Samll room, Small bathroom
Great Location, easy access to MRT, great food nearby, lots of chinese restaurants aorund

5.7 Vivienne L.
Malaysia
September 04, 2013
Centrally located, but noisy
Location, Close to MRT, Moderately priced
I booked this hotel because it was centrally located and close to the MRT. The rooms were decent, but what spoiled my experience was the lack of noise insulation. It was probably my mistake to book a hotel in Chinatown during Chinese New Year - I could hear everything going on below, but most notably the techno CNY music which went on till late at night and started again early in the morning. To be fair, I can't say what it's like on a regular day, but noise from the hotel corridor could also be clearly heard; and it doesn't help when there are inconsiderate guests shouting down the hall at 5am! If you need a centrally located, clean hotel at a reasonable price, you could opt to stay here - but just be warned that you might not get a good night's rest.

8.3 Jose O.
Philippines
September 04, 2013
Very comfortable and enjoyable.
location, friendly and helpful staff, internet (WiFi)
I had an enjoyable stay at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. I love how the staff is very helpful and friendly.

8.3 Yee L.
Malaysia
September 04, 2013
small but comfortable
nice design, good location.
located at centre of china town. steps aways from MRT station. easy access to food and drinks and lots of sightseeing places in china town.

6 Mee K.
Malaysia
September 04, 2013
Pleasant and mysterious
Newly renovated, clean and quite
Overall the environment is pleasant,mainly due to its classical Chinese interior designs, which really bring visitors back to 1960s' feel. The hotel only have two main problems, firstly the room is too small even for an Asian's standard. Secondly, there is no sound-proof for your room, even someone talk loudly along the alley or your neighbouting room is pulling the chair or talk louder, you can hear it cleary!

8 Theodorus S.
Australia
September 03, 2013
Excellent, comfortable stay
Good hotel, budget price, close to shopping & restaurants areas
Excellent stay with good Restaurants and Shopping area. Also very good Transport Connection.

6.3 Ooi F.
Malaysia
September 03, 2013
Enviroment, Place, Price
Friendly Staff, Cultural Design, Quiet
The room was small, but if solo traveler, can considered. It is not a 'high class' hotel. The budget or price slightly cheaper then others. Overall, that is quite good to stay and easy to access to MRT or shopping centre.