Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 4356 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for Money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 6.0
Sort by

Sharena S. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2013
Overall experience of stay is fine
Accessible, well maintained, affordable
Our stay in the hotel is fine. The hotel has near access to the train station, local dinnnings and shops. The room is quite small but its clean and well maintained.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Louise S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2013
Heritage Hotel
Centrally located, clean and excellent service
The Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yeun is in a fantastic location in Chinatown. The Hotel was previously a Chinese Opera House. The bedroom and bathroom are very small so if you want space this is not the hotel for you. This property is excellent for a short stay. Although there is a small safe in the room the security level is low as the room itself, leading onto a verandah shared with other occupants does not have good locks.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Qin X. from New Zealand
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Good hotel
clean good location, free breakfast
clean good location, and nice breakfast.......always clean and nice breakfast
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nick W. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Interesting design
Design, location, price
Good service on arrival. Good location. I had a single room, but was even smaller than thought it could be. The toilet/bathroom area was nearly unusable as so small.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Garry S. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
Great stay
Very clean, convenient and comfortable
It was a very good hotel and everything was clean and comfortable. Located in Chinatown, so it was easy to get around.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ian D. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in July 2013
Nice, simple hotel with a history
Beautiful decor, friendly staff, strategic location
This hotel offers something that many other hotels don't: a story. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is a converted traditional opera theatre and it capitalizes on this interesting part of its history on everything, from the decor, the room names, and just the overall concept of this budget friendly hotel. I took a single room, which was slightly bigger than a shoebox but that is typical of Singapore. I'm sure many would complain about the space but not me. I was just right despite my 6'2" frame. There are no windows in this room, which was fine since I arrived past midnight and had to leave the next day. This is the 2nd time I stayed here and the friendliness of the staff has been consistent. While the front office staff were professional and efficient, I absolutely adored the breakfast room staff, who treated us like their grandchildren. Yes, the food was basic (boiled egg, toast, sausages, and fruits) but, hey it gave me enough belly space to sample the restaurants around Chinatown. I've been to other, more expensive hotels with better breakfast and bigger rooms but I still think Hotel Lai Chun Yuen tops them in terms of stories to tell. Yes they serve better breakfasts but those look like every other breakfasts in every other hotel in the world. They don't have 2 uncles and an aunt who goes around to check if you had your coffee... And bids you "see you tomorrow" as you leave.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Yoong T. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in July 2013
Overall it is value for money.
Unique interior design, friendly staff and good breakfast
Overall it is value for money. This hotel provide all the basic needs that a city hotel would offer.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Anusorn J. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Compare to price, not bad but not impressive
center of China town, various restaurant to choose, near MRT
We don't like room without window, which we did not notice when making reservation. room really really small, but never mind! important thing is the smell from toilet, not god ventilation system. could not sleep well. We rated average, but we won't be back
Reviewed July 13, 2013

WAI L. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Great location
Centrally located, easy access, historical & cultural
Within walking distance to subway. Centrally located. Nicely renovated. atmosphere of the oriental culture. Small but clean room.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Anita F. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
Pleasant stay with comfortable and affordable room
Clean, comfortable and convenient to MRT
We enjoyed our stay here. Chinatown is busy and noisy but our room was quiet, cool, and comfortable.
Reviewed July 11, 2013