Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

25 Trengganu Street (near to Temple/Smith Street), Chinatown, Singapore 058476

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.1

based on
4068 reviews

2580 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.9
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.0
All reviews (4068)
Sort by:
Martin V. Solo travelers Netherlands, February 13, 2013
Great location, small rooms, but worth it

location, wifi, safe, water
7
I probably had the smallest room in the place, the one on the corner, directly above the store on Smith Street. (The store that is open till well after 12 and plays loud music) But wifi worked and a small safe was in the room. If you are only in the hotel for sleeping, washing up* and possibly breakfast. The repetitive breakfast might get the better of you by day 3. But otherwise there is not much wrong with it. You can practically walk everywhere from here, but the MRT station is around the corner. So a good base to start making trips from. Harbour Front, Sentosa, easy to reach. Onto orchard in like 5 minutes. Botanic Gardens, 20 minutes. Just when you come back, keep in mind to take the exit to Pagoda Street, then directly turn right. That way you skip the tourist streets. Staff was helpful, they even took the effort to print my e-ticket. * = Washing up, because the only bad point really is the bathroom. I don't know who came up with that layout, but obviously for the room I was in, it was horrible. Like many others have said, showers do not go between sinks and toilets. The ceiling was starting to mold and the drain smelled. There was 2 non working soap dispensers and a tray that made no sense. The bathroom was in no way practical to take a shower in. Either you'd get the toilet wet or the power plugs across from it.
Restaurant Tip: Any restaurant on Smith Street is worth trying.
Report this review
Kevin H. Solo travelers United States of America, February 12, 2013
Was as advertised

good location in China town
7
i stayed in a single, it was small but adequate. i didnt expect more. the room was clean, though did smell a bit musty. service was good and the location has many amenities around it. good value.
Travel tip: If you are looking for a clean private room and nothing more, this is your place.
Report this review
Andreas C. Couples Denmark, February 12, 2013
Great Location, small but good room.

Location, Price,
7.7
Small Rooms in good condition, a bit noisy but noting normal people cant live with.
Restaurant Tip: Not to fare from the big local food market in the middel of the financial district.
Report this review
Shaun H. Couples Ireland, February 12, 2013
Relaxing stay in central location

Location, clean, comfort
7.7
Report this review
Norman M. Solo travelers Germany, February 11, 2013
Great location compact room

Clean
9
Great place my second time there and happy to come back. Breaky isn't the best
Report this review
Danny D. Couples Malaysia, February 11, 2013
Nice hotel but small rooms

Nearby MRT station (Chinatown)
6.3
We stay here during CNY, the place is very crowded. The hotel entrance are blocked by street stalls. It was a nice hotel, we felt like we are in the chinese gengster movie scene.
Report this review
Lew J. Couples Singapore, February 10, 2013
Lovely and cozy design

near to chinatown
7.3
Good location, many local stalls, shopping centre, hawker centre nearby. Transport is convenient. I like the interor design of the hotel. Red makes the place romantic. Great for couple relaxation over weekend
Report this review
Cheol W. Solo travelers South Korea, February 9, 2013
Great location at the heart of Chinatown

Location, Clean, Service, Nice antique Chinese Style yet modern furniture
9.3
I stayed for 4 days for half business and half sightseeing. The hotel was easy to find and close to MTR even though the entrance was hidden by the street market. The interior of hotel reminded me of very antique traditional Chinese theater with overall red colored wall and pillars. The room was very small but equipped with a modern bathroom with misty fog shower facility. No refrigerator was in the room but th staffs were kind enough to bring one at no extra cost. The staffs were very nice and kind. Wi-Fi was okay and free to use with passcode and breakfast was okay with Western Style serving simple cereal and toast with sausage and ham. Of course, the fruits along with coffee were also beautiful. Nice recommendation for short trip for budget travelers. It has everything needed for budget travelers. Never expect 5 star service but it is a definitely good hotel.
Hotel Feature Tip: No Soap is provided though body shower and shampoo is provided. You can take one in advance if needed.
Report this review
Muliaty A. Couples Singapore, February 9, 2013
clean,affordable and comfortable.

Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
7.3
Report this review
Vivienne L. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 9, 2013
Centrally located, but noisy

Location, Close to MRT, Moderately priced
5.7
I booked this hotel because it was centrally located and close to the MRT. The rooms were decent, but what spoiled my experience was the lack of noise insulation. It was probably my mistake to book a hotel in Chinatown during Chinese New Year - I could hear everything going on below, but most notably the techno CNY music which went on till late at night and started again early in the morning. To be fair, I can't say what it's like on a regular day, but noise from the hotel corridor could also be clearly heard; and it doesn't help when there are inconsiderate guests shouting down the hall at 5am! If you need a centrally located, clean hotel at a reasonable price, you could opt to stay here - but just be warned that you might not get a good night's rest.
Report this review
Previous page 1511 - 1520 of 2580 reviews Next page
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Entrance (Temple Street)Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Standard Single RoomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Superior Twin RoomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Superior Twin RoomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Superior Double RoomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Superior Double RoomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Superior Double Balcony RoomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Deluxe King RoomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Deluxe King RoomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Family RoomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Family RoomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Guest Room AmenitiesSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Guest Room AmenitiesSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - BathroomSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Bathroom AmenitiesSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen - FacadeSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Hotel Entrance (Temple Street)Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Hotel Entrance (Temple Street)Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - ReceptionSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Hotel LobbySanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Coffee/TeaSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Coffee/TeaSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Guest Rooms Floor LobbySanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Guest Rooms Floor LobbySanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Hotel InteriorSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Hotel InteriorSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Hotel InteriorSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Hotel LoungeSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Hotel LoungeSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Hotel LoungeSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Hotel LoungeSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Near to Chinatown Food StreetSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - People’s Park ComplexSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Singapore Central Business DistrictSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - ChinatownSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Asian Civilisations MuseumSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - MerlionSanta Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore - Singapore Art Museum


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01