Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 4373 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 6.0
Sort by

Raina C.
Philippines
October 26, 2015
Chinatown Experience
Good Location, Lots of Food Options, Night Life
The place is generally dim and bit eery from the red walls, the red carpet, and basically red everything. The place looked old and slightly faded, but I guess that's part of the ambiance. When we arrived, the concierge seemed a bit cold (and even condescending) towards us. They didn't even offer to help us carry our belongings upstairs. I don't think I saw any bellhop when we checked in either. Instead of elevators, the hotel has single-file escalators on each floor. It consumes a lot of time if you stay at the 3rd or 4th level. Our room was really small, about 10 sqm. We only had enough space to walk from the bathroom to the desk. You could call it cozy, but some would call it awkward. At least the bathroom was spacious and had a shampoo and body wash dispenser. The breakfast is outside the hotel. The front desk gave us vouchers for Old Nanyang Cafe, which serve really good kaya toast, pastries and teh tarik, but the service is terrible. They kept forgetting one or two dishes from our orders for EACH DAY we were there. At night, the street directly beneath the second exit comes to life. It's call the Chinatown Food Street, where there are a lot of stalls serving different Singaporean cuisines, complete with beer and dessert. There's also a night market around the block where you can haggle for souvenirs.

Umaporn C.
Thailand
October 26, 2015
Good Location but noisy
Good Location

Kian T.
Malaysia
October 25, 2015
Elegant Lobby for a 3-star hotel
Close to MTR station, in front of eating street and helpful staff

walter P.
Australia
October 22, 2015
Much better than I expected
Staff, location and history
The concierge Mr Ho is a huge asset to the hotel. Location is fantastic. I do recommend paying extra for a balcony room. My room was bigger than expected. Ask for the quiet side of the building. I would stay here again.

DALNIM H.
South Korea
October 19, 2015
Worst ever
Smelly toilet , dusty aircon , too tick blanket , incompetent staff who let customers wait too long time

THACHAPORN A.
Thailand
October 17, 2015
Hotel near Chinatown in Singapore
Roomservice,In Chinanatown,Discount
Comfortable

Edilberto S.
United States
October 17, 2015
Cozy room, Great location!
Location, price, cleanliness
Very good, exactly what I was looking for. Good choices and shopping in Chinatown excellent. Small but clean & cozy room. Very close to MRT and a few stops from Sentosa, Marina Bay, Little India. I would stay there again. Only complaint is that the shower hot water was not hot or even warm but room temp.

Punnyapastra B.
Thailand
October 16, 2015
The staffs are nice and the room is clean.
Cleanliness inside the room, hotel location, nice staffs
Things are all good. It has some noise from beside the room and from the street. But it's quite acceptable

Socheata S.
Cambodia
October 16, 2015
The room is nice. But the toilet is so tiny.
good location, clean and comfortable.
It's been great. I love the location. It's quite close to china town MRT, exist A.

Derek P.
South Africa
October 14, 2015
Quaint little place
Location, decor, price
This is hotel is nicely positioned within Chinatown, just a short walk around the corner from the Chinatown MRT station. The hotel is quite cozy inside, with a lot of wood and everything seemed to be red. Really quaint. The room itself was small and windowless but perfectly comfortable with decent fittings. The bed was kind of in a booth or pod in the room, so it reminded me of capsule hotels in Japan. The bathroom was, again, small but fine for a solo traveler. The breakfast is provided by a nearby cafe, and was light but adequate. Considering Singapore is fairly pricey, you may as well pay more for something of a higher standard, or just get a really cheap budget hotel/hostel. This was kind of in between, and mostly worth it for the location.