Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 4367 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 6.0
Sort by

CHARRLES H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2015
Our Short Stay
Location; Staff; lCeanliness
On our first visit we arrived at 0230 hours and with help of staff we found our room. We were both as little surprised that the room appeared so small but when we looked around it had all the modern mod cons including free Wi Fi. As we had to board a Cruises Ship at 1230 hours after a few hours we were off. On our second short visit we arrived at 1100 hours and again found he staff most helpful in all respects. We checked out at 1900 that evening to return home. It is there perfect location if you are interested in Chinese food and shopping around market style stalls. On both occasions we had a superior room - so one must assume the basic room is even smaller or perhaps not as well equipped. Please also note we did not dine at the hotel but in order to submit this review we had to include and assessment.
Reviewed January 13, 2015

Wilhelmina B. from Netherlands
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Perfect but noisy location
Location, staff, interior
Location in the midst of Chinatown is very good, close to the metro entrance, shops and restaurants. Only a few stops on the same metro line to the Marina Bay en Sentosa area. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Facilities for a 3 star hotel are good & sufficient. Like in more hotels in Singapore our room was small but clean. The interior in this former Chines opera House is special. Two minor points of our room were: the loud music in the foodstreet outside during the whole day (and Karaoke in the night from nearby cafe). The bathroom is very small, after taking the shower the water didn't run all away which meant wet feet in front of the sink and using the toilet.
Reviewed January 12, 2015

Nadir K. from India
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Honeymoon in Singapore
Location, location and location
If you are looking at a hotel only for sleeping at night then this is a great option. The room is a squeeze definitely uncomfortable for two people but the location is terrific. This is not a fancy hotel but a great option for budget travelers
Reviewed January 12, 2015

Gricelda M. from Canada
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in January 2015
Great Location
Location and convenience to shopping and dining
My stay was very good. Excellent location and very convenient to dining and shopping.
Reviewed January 12, 2015

Swee L. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Bad customer service and terrible bed
Location, internet speed and food choice
The lady at the front desk was very rude while checking in. Bed was horrible and room was tiny. If you are visiting Singapore, spend a little more and get a better hotel. There is no elevator. The hotel staff also missed the wake up call. Not recommended.
Reviewed January 12, 2015

Robert K. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Good Location LUmpy Beds
location and friendly staff
location is great. right in the middle of chinatown. in front of chinatown food area, lots of choices for meals. staff is very nice and helpful. drawbacks of hotel are that the beds are very very uncomfortable. the mattress is thin. the spring do nothing to support your back and you are basically sleeping on the wooden frame underneath. there is very little lighting in the hotel. the rooms are quite dark and the lobby and hallways are dimly lit.
Reviewed January 10, 2015

Kian L. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Poor Service
Hi, We stayed in Santa LCY from 26th Dec to 30th Dec. The night shift receptionist has to be fired. Her attitude is affecting the image. We called to service desk as there were no floor mat and toilet paper in rooms. Do you know what the reply was? "Are you sure? Why so many problems?" She cut off the phone call after saying this. Regards, Disappointed Guests
Reviewed January 09, 2015

elizabeth C. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Its nice
clean, location, and staff
Although the rooms quite tight, but its clean enough. And for you whom cant sleep with noises, maybe you can ask special room (e.g. dining food view). No breakfast in this hotel, but there is 7eleven near the hotel. Overall, i love staying at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Reviewed January 07, 2015

Kah S. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2014
Small but in Good Location
Location, Affordable, Clean
Reviewed January 07, 2015

melanie M. from Canada
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
My 14th visit to the hotel
locatin, staff, location
As always, staff were accomodating, location is fantastic for us.
Reviewed January 06, 2015