Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa

88 Moo 7, Prunai Sub-district, Koh Yao Yai, Koh Yao District, Phang-nga Province, Koh Yao Yai, Phuket, Thailand 82160

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.9

based on
634 reviews

340 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.8
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
9.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.4
Room Comfort/Standard
9.5
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (634)
Sort by:
Yi L. Families with young children China, February 3, 2016
good stay for vacation with kid

Great view, fantastic buildings and pools
7
Generally speaking, It is relaxing. You will be really shocked by the beauty at first sight by arrival. The beach, the wooden buildings and the rooms on the hill. The wooden car takes you up to the hill also looks amazing. The activities on the beach is fun. We tried kayak in the morning. You can find local food by going down to the other side of the beach But, The gas smell of the wooden car ruined the beautiful scene, a green car with electricity power is expected. Breakfast service is really below average. My son need some boiled noodles, the chef first doesn't understand and ask waiter to bring me a pot of hot water, later when he understood, he just refused by saying they don't have noodles which is not true, they served fried noodle that morning. This is not 5 star standard. The loud Chinese customers shouted to each other as if they are in the market even when there is perfect quietness and people were taking nap aside. It is a sheer shame as I am a Chinese as well. But the stay deserves any way.
Report this review
Patrick Y. Couples Malaysia, February 1, 2016
nice room, poor staff performance

room size, design, view
7.7
room, cleanliness and sea view is fantastic. Food is relatively good even by Asian standards. However, front desk service and communication skill is very poor and not upto 5 star hotel standards. Given the hotel is on an island away from Phuket, transport is very tricky... 1. Front desk staff did not respond to airport transfer (to hotel) email query during reservation. however they did provide a guide how to get transport on the day of arrival. 2. Front desk staff promised to sort out transport (to Airport) on check-out. The staff failed to communicate properly with water transport and caused us to miss the boat. We ended up have to spend extra 3000 bhat for private boat. Not only that, the issue caused us to almost missed our international flight (2 minutes before bag drop closes). VERY UNHAPPY how things turned out despite repeatedly checked with staff on transport. For the above 2 points, the hotel DO NOT deserve 5-star status.
Report this review
Anthony C. Families with young children United Kingdom, January 17, 2016
What a great place.....

Location, rooms, service
9.7
Extremely relaxing, and the staff were exceptional. There were a couple of muddled food orders at dinner one night, but nothing which upset the ambience. Do get out of the resort using local transport and meet local islanders though...it would be a shame to travel to the island but not venture outside the resort.
Report this review
Madison D. Couples Australia, January 12, 2016
The most amazing room ever!

Beautiful wooden detail everywhere, great pool, huge breakfast spread
10
I honestly did not completely grasp the epic nature of this hotel before I arrived. It is truly amazing what they have managed to build essentially on a cliff and in a jungle environment. The room is incredible and so much nicer than the already amazing-looking pictures. The amount of detail that has gone into the wood carvings everywhere is insane. We opted for a "garden view" and although the view was of nice lush jungle plants, we regretted not getting an ocean/sea view very much. The breakfast was the best of our entire trip. We had seen some amazing spreads before we reached Santhiya, but this topped them all! The view from breakfast and of the new infinity pool is divine. Being on a cliff means the only way to get around is in little wooden carts. We initially thought this might be an issue, but we never had to wait for than 2 minutes for a car and the journey only took 5 minutes to our building. I honestly don't know why anyone wouldn't like this place, it's gorgeous. I would highly, highly recommend it!
Report this review
Alexander C. Couples United Kingdom, January 11, 2016
Holiday

The hole place is very nice
9.3
Fantastic will come back again soon. Just think that the Champagne is over priced at £480.00 per bottle. Everything else is very good.
Report this review
Lili C. Couples China, January 9, 2016
Great place for family

great view, nice service and facility
9.3
Report this review
Simon P. Couples United Kingdom, January 8, 2016
Not even close to five star !

a la carte lunch, spacious rooms, remoteness
6.3
Really rather disappointed whilst the rooms are good it's not great to be overlooking a building site we stayed level 5, great views apart from the re-development! Note also, the resort is spread over several kilometres of steep hillside road for which they run a wooden car service (converted pick up) it takes 10/15 mins to go from top to bottom and is not very comfortable and certainly not very green! There is an army of staff some of which were trying hard but overall the facilities are poor for this category and the staff lack direction. On the first night we tried the 'Thai ' buffet evening which was appalling with tired flavourless food more akin to a 3* chain than a 5* hotel left feeling very dissatisfied. This was a real shame as we later discovered that the a la carte menu was very good. Guests should be aware that the hotel beach is also very unappealing stoney and murky without loungers or service and full of sea lice during our early January stay making it very unappealing and empty of bathers. Both pools whilst adequate are far from special ground level pool particularly murky and full of leaves. I hate to sound negative here but having stayed in Thailand many times I really expected better especially for the money for this reason I'm rating 3.5 stars!!
Report this review
Nicholas O. Couples United Kingdom, January 3, 2016
A Place of Contrasts

View from the Infinity Pool, the Room & the staff trying to be friendly.
6.7
A place of contrasts: The positive: this place has some stunning features. We loved the room and the infinity pool. In fact we would go so far as to say this was one of the most stunning pools we've ever seen. Also, the staff were all delightful. They all want to do a good job and you can see they are making an effort. The negative: they have got some of the service procedures really wrong. The arrival checkin and checkout flow is too package tour like with lots of waiting - they lost our luggage on the return trip only to find it hadn't been loaded off the boat. The NYE event was a disaster - they tried too hard to create a luxury event but too much was happening and unfortunately the food, music and service wasn't great. The music from the speakers was so loud that it was almost deafening. The food was awful. The soup came with a large piece of bread that was like leather and it was cold. The beef was tough and chewy. The dessert was plastic and unappealing. We returned to the room before the end at 11pm. NYE totally ruined. The other really negative part was the transportation around the resort. It's uncomfortable and mood changing to get trucked around a five star resort every time you step out of the room. The other negative aspect is the food was hit and miss....for the pricing, it wasn't good enough. We ended up feeling that overall we wouldn't return. As much as we enjoyed the highs, the lows really were a deal breaker for us. We did complain about the NYE event and we were offered 10% discount only. For an expensive weekend - we felt ripped off.
Report this review
Gabriele M. Couples Italy, January 2, 2016
Perfect stay

Everything good. Very nice rooms. Beach so so. But the hotel and the view compensate for that.
9.7
Report this review
Gregory W. Couples United States of America, December 31, 2015
One of the best rooms I have ever stayed in

Room, Spa, and location
9.3
We stayed all over Thailand and both agree this was our favorite place. You must stay in the poolside villa oceanfront. We never wanted to leave the room. The pool was perfect, the view amazing (best sunsets) and the outdoor shower and bath tub was perfect. We actually had other guest that we met come back to our pool because the pool and view was that amazing. You have to take a boat to get over to it, but it is worth it all. It's quiet and relaxing. The spa treatments were also amazing.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 340 reviews Next page
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa PhuketSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - BeachSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - SpaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - RestaurantSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - RestaurantSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - VillaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - VillaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - VillaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Swimming PoolSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - RestaurantSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - BeachSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - BeachSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - VillaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Santhiya Ocean View Pool Villa SuiteSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - VillaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - VillaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - VillaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Santhiya Ocean View Pool Villa SuitesSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Guest RoomSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Balcony/TerraceSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Guest RoomSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - ChantaraSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - By The Sea Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - BeachSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - ViewSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - ViewSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - ViewSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Swimming PoolSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - SpaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - SpaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - SpaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - SpaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - SpaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - SpaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - SpaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - SpaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - SpaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - BeachSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Coffee Shop/CafeSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - ShopsSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Coffee Shop/CafeSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Kid’s clubSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - BeachSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - BeachSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Food and BeveragesSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - ExteriorSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - VillaSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Fitness RoomSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Fitness RoomSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Fitness RoomSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Private DinnerSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Food and BeveragesSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Food and BeveragesSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Food and BeveragesSanthiya Koh Yao Yai Resort and Spa Phuket - Food and Beverages


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C02