Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Scandic Grand Marina

Katajanokanlaituri 7, Katajanokka, Helsinki, Finland 00160 (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Katajanokka Number of Rooms: 434

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
97 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (97)
Sort by:
Ivan S. Solo travelers United States of America, July 30, 2015
Good value

staff, cleanliness, location
After I made my reservations, I had doubts about the location and distance from the train station. However on arrival, it was an easy 20 minute walk at most. Just head southeast from the station, on any street, and when you come to the esplanade turn left and follow the road. Actually quite easy. Or take #4 tram. Staff was attentive and good. Hotel is clean and well maintained. Because lots of tours stay here breakfast gets chaotic, and once locating a table, it was hard to keep it when I would want a refill. For a single traveler, this is a serious inconvenience. There are a number of OK restaurants in the area. The highly rated ones usually are closed for holiday during the summer though. A ferry trip to Tallinn is a good day's expedition. Take a 7:30 ferry over and plan for the 4:30 return unless you go overnight. Beware that there are at least 3 ferry terminals so be sure you know which one you need. Although it looked problematic, the west terminal was an easy 2 tram trip from the hotel. Tallinn is pretty, with excellent food and very reasonably priced compared to anywhere in Scandinavia.
Report this review
Mira-Johanna B. Families with older children Finland, July 26, 2015
Great hotel

We got a suite! Our kids got so impressed and happy! There was glutenfree bread and even one cookie and all the food had written allergy information.
Report this review
Chu W. Solo travelers Hong Kong, July 3, 2015
Sufficient for helsinki travelers

Near to pier, near to fish market and provide good breakfast
I stayed 4 nights and the room is the basic one. Morning coffee is not good. But the fruits are good. Location is good and just 15mins walk from the train station.
Report this review
Yaron M. Solo travelers Israel, January 24, 2015
good hotel wit great breakfest

good location, great breakfest, excelent sauna
Very good hotel, friendly staff. Great breakfast buffet. The hotel has a very good sauna. Located 10 min. walk from market square.
Report this review
Johansson T. Couples Finland, January 7, 2015
Good price ratio

Location, food, hygiene
Report this review
Mark W. Solo travelers United States of America, December 28, 2014
Hotel near the Ferry

Breakfast buffet, proximity to public transportation, and easy check out
The hotel was nice. It is a little bit of travel time from the Central Rail Station but is very close to the ferry terminals. The breakfast was good but very very crowded. I didnt like that the bed was two twins side by side, they kept sliding apart when I tried to sleep. The staff was friendly for the most part.
Report this review
Ville K. Business travelers Finland, September 11, 2014
City hotel

Great location, clean rooms and friendly staff
Nice location and good value for money.
Report this review
Mark F. Couples Australia, July 24, 2014
Very disappointed, stay somewhere else!
Very disappointed.
Report this review
Karenne K. Solo travelers New Zealand, July 22, 2014
Within walking distance of city & ferries

Close to city, close to Viking line ferries, quiet
This is a very big hotel with lots of guests yet it is quiet and provides all that makes a stay pleasant. Is a nice walk along the wharf area into town and to the waterfront where you can catch boat tours, go to restaurants and browse the open markets. Was 200m from the Viking line ferry terminal which made my ongoing travel to Sweden very easy. Overall a great place to stay in downtown Helsinki.
Report this review
Merryn K. Couples Australia, July 3, 2014
Very convenient

We stayed a total of 5 nights at this hotel (4 on arrival in Finland and 1 before departure). It is a very large hotel and very busy as it caters for both conference clientele as well as the full range of tourists - groups, families and couples like us. Hotel is located close to the harbour so very convenient for return from Tallinn by ferry as well as the various ferry trips we took. Breakfast was always busy but there was plenty of food and good variety. The second room we had was better than the first, on front side of hotel so lighter. Rooms are quite basic but comfortable.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.