Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 137 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 9.1
  • Value for Money 9.1
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Jennifer M. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2016
Great hostel!
Everything about this place is great! The location is perfect (though it is a little hard to find, especially at night.) The ambiance is fantastic. It is very mellow unlike your typical busy hostel and sometimes you forget you're in the middle of a city. I think the best part of it all was the staff. They are wonderful and they really know how to make you feel like family. Definitely worth the money. I will be back!
Reviewed January 23, 2016

Jennifer M. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2016
Great hostel!
Everything about this place is great! The location is perfect (though it is a little hard to find, especially at night.) The ambiance is fantastic. It is very mellow unlike your typical busy hostel and sometimes you forget you're in the middle of a city. I think the best part of it all was the staff. They are wonderful and they really know how to make you feel like family. Definitely worth the money. I will be back!
Reviewed January 23, 2016

HIROSHI O. from Japan
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
everything is fine
griendly staffs,clean,location
Reviewed January 21, 2016

Mariko S. from Japan
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Great staff / location, Room was a disappointment
Staff, Location, Wi-Fi
The staff was wonderful and friendly - definitely a 5-star for them. The location was great! The Wi-Fi worked well. What didn't work well was the shower and toilet in our room. Maybe the water heater was broken but we only got cold showers (and it can get quite chilly at night and in the morning in Chiang Mai!). We had to flush the toilet about 5-10 times, which wasn't fun. The bed was comfy enough and we were given extra blankets when we asked for them (again, staff was really nice), but it was so loud all of the time. Perhaps it's because SDT Home organizes its own tours, but there was always chatter quite early in the morning and it sounded like there were people talking at the foot of our bed. All-in-all I guess we got what we paid for!
Reviewed January 19, 2016

Dmitry G. from Russia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
All is good in this hostel
Free locker, towel, soap, shampoo, drinking water
Very friendly staff. Free locker, towel, soap, shampoo, drinking water
Reviewed January 06, 2016

Myriam B. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
Great stay
Friendly staff, comfortable room and easy to get around
Short but it was so cheap, staff was gentle offered me to shower even if I arrived too early to check-in and they checked my bags during the day, I had an activity planned and they called them to make sure that they were picking me up
Reviewed December 23, 2015

chen S. from Taiwan
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
superb
staff, budget price, clean room
it was nice! very easily to make friends with those staffs. can always get helps from them once you need anything.
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Jai W. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Best service in town
The people who run it; the location; the laid back vibe.
This is the second time I have stayed at SDT Home. I came back because of the service and good people who run the place like a family and who want you to be a part of it. The facilities are simple but for the budget-conscious traveler, there is no better place to be in Chaing Mai.
Reviewed December 17, 2015

Aleksei G. from Russia
Solo travelers
Stayed 9 nights in December 2015
Excellent place
Very nice garden, nature vibes, friendly staff
Reviewed December 17, 2015

Richard B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Can't beat the value of this place
Extremely friendly staff, pretty good location, very traveler friendly
I had a fantastic stay at the SDT home. Everyone was extremely friendly, and I met some awesome people. One of whom I'm currently traveling with! Very family like environment with a bohemian vibe that made for a really relaxing stay. This place is miles away from ordinary, in a good way.
Reviewed December 11, 2015