arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant

707 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket, Thailand 83100

Very good 7.8
Based on 2291 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2293 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Liliia K.
Russia
March 01, 2013
you should understand you have to choose
silent, nice view from room (only for downside part) and nice view from restaraunt
in spite of booking the oceanview deluxe, on our arriving we were settled to the room at the "hillside" part of the hotel (but i am not sure that even was the same hotel) with the roofview and it was on another side of the huge-trafficking road. After speaking with the manager we were re-settled to the booked room, but only on the next day. And you have to understand it is impossible to go to the nearest beaches by your own legs. We have found the way from Karon to Secret Cliff through the Cliff Resort Hotel but it was huge climbing and you should have enough fun to speak to the securities of that hotel that you lives here to come in. Restaraunt has cool view. Villas has cool view too. But remember when booking - that when you are booking the ocean-view (in words not in pictures) room you could be settled to the room from another side of the road with "a little bit vision of the ocean far from you" - and as we were heard many guests had the same problem. So they sell you one picture - and then they settle you to quite another "ocean view" (on paper).

Federico B.
Italy
February 27, 2013
nice hotel
great seaview
clean and big room, sea can be reached only by taxi/motrobike. romantic environment

Gerhardus M.
South Africa
February 25, 2013
nice hotel,big rooms. friendly and helpfull staff
very nice view clean rooms very beautifull view from swimming pool.
i found the stay at secret cliff hotel very nice,i lost my suitcase the last nite of my stay and the staff did everything they could to help me find it.the breakfast is great.if you want a nice relaxing holiday as a couple i would definitly reccomend the hotel to stay at.

wen L.
China
February 19, 2013
A good-view hotel but inconvenient for living
silent
For the reasons of airline,I got to the resort at about 3 o'clock in the morning, almost earlier half day than the check-in time. I'm grateful to those staffs for arranging us to rest at SPA room for several hours. As the resort, I have to say that it's some inconvenient for shopping and going to beach. Maybe the good-service is a compensation for that.

Yih G.
Malaysia
February 18, 2013
Amazing view at this hotel away from the bustle
Great ocean view, spacious room
it is a great hotel for people travelling in groups of 4-5 as that means transport fees can be split, thus making the distance away from the main bustle insignificant.

John G.
United States
February 11, 2013
Beautiful Resort, Good Value
View!
i would give the secret cliff 4 stars other than a reservation issue (they overbooked) which forced them to move me to another hotel in kata for the first night. otherwise the secret cliff is beautiful with stunning views and a real value for the money. i did not experience the poor service that others have complained about. in fact the manager and staff were quite friendly and helpful. one negative aspect, the hotel is about 3 kn from karon beach or patong and taxis charge a rediculous 300 baht each way. i rented a motorbike from the hotel for day.

Robert F.
Canada
February 09, 2013
Nice views and quiet stay close to Karon/Patong
Ocean views
The Secret Cliff is an affordable option for travellers looking to spend the night away from the hustle and bustle of either Karon or Patong. Both are easily accessible by tuk-tuk for 150-250bht. Definitely splurge for an ocean view, preferably on the upper level of any of the buildings. Decent breakfast and accommodating staff, though English is a little limited. One con: The resort is definitely on a cliff and the trek up to the lobby and the road from the rooms is definitely some hardcore cardio. If you have health issues, be sure to book a room on the upper levels. This is an older resort, but the rooms are neat and tidy even if some areas (the veranda) could use some paint.

Rizzalie B.
Philippines
February 07, 2013
Nice hotel and nature loving ambiance
The location is nice and you feel the nature with overlooking the beach but the beach is too far 15-20 minutes.

Jacqueline L.
Malaysia
February 06, 2013
Not as enjoyable as before
Amazing view at the restaurant and pool
this is our second time staying with the hotel. the first was back in 2010. we stayed in the same room we stayed in and loved very much back in 2010. the spacious and lovely room was still as well kept as we remembered it. however, the sunbathing benches by the pool were not very clean. there was also expansion works going on next to the restaurant during our stay this round which made enjoying the amazing view while dining not as enjoyable as before. service was okay but not as accomodating and friendly as before.

YIAN Z.
China
January 31, 2013
Great view with large rooms but secluded
The room we stayed was spacious, having a lovely view of sea but partially blocked by tree
We had a nice trip here, the room was very large and the view was pretty. However, we noticed that not every ocean view room has a perfect view to the sea, some of them are blocked by trees. The hotel is built on top of a mountain. There's a long steep walk from your room to the reception hall and restaurant located at the highest point of the hotel. The best view of the hotel is at the restaurant where the sea and both patong and karon beach are clearly in sight. You would really enjoy the cool breeze and sunshine when having breakfast. The location of this hotel is the most disputable point when people judging the hotel. You could only take Tuktuk or taxi to either Patong or Karon beach. It is not within walking distances nor safe for walking downhill. Though the hotel offers shuttle Taxi to Patong and Karon once a day, taking taxi to beach or return is inevitable and the price is about 400B round trip. My suggestion is that if you can rent a car or scooter to drive around, this place is great for you. Otherwise, the transportation should really be taken into consideration. Last thing is that the swimming pool is very tiny and seemed to be abandoned when we were there. No body was there swimming or taking sun bath.