arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant

707 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket, Thailand 83100

Very good 7.8
Based on 2273 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2273 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Staff Performance 7.9
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.5

8 Emma C.
Australia
January 10, 2012
Wonderful hotel, but not very close to beach!
The rooms were excellent, The pool, the restaurant, buffet breakfast, transport to beach / Patong
this hotel was really lovely, we surprised as we got such a great deal on agoda. the room was very large with all the modern amenities including flatscreen, cable, internet, mini bar, ac, big bathroom and close to the pool and pool bar. the pool was an infinity pool and had the most amazing views, especially at sunset. the hotel has great views because it is so high above the beach - luckily there is free hotel transport at certain times that takes you down to the beach. the only downisde was the reception staff - though perhaps they were having a bad few days, they were fairly unhelpful and no smiles, etc. overall i would still recommend staying though!

8.3 Inna V.
Russia
January 10, 2012
Very nice view and rooms, airy and clean
Nice view, nice rooms, nice food
In general we liked the resort. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious, the view is great. No noise around, very nice smell of leaves and grass. However there are several things we would like to point out to the hotel stuff: 1) the hotel stuff is very friendly but quite useless, as they are very slow at everything. For example is you ask for a car, you can wait ages even though it is an emergency and we need to go to the pharmacy with a fever (the fact that they have absolutely no urgency kit at the resort is another problem common to Phuket in general). 2) The carol beach is very close, but there is no way to get there except by a vehicle (we tried to walk, but the traffic is too heavy, so it is quite dangerous). and the tuk-tuk would charge you thb which is very expensive for a 5 minutes ride. There is a one-way shuttle bus to the beach in the morning, but it is not enough for a resort of this level. we guess it would be nice if they orginized several round trips free shuttle buses to the beaches during the day. Otherwise it is not so convenient to get to the beaches (carol and patong). the pool is quite small actually. there is not way to get to the see by foot from the hotel, which is a minus. Good value for money if booked with discounts.

6.3 Angeline L.
Malaysia
January 10, 2012
great scenery and serene environment
great view of the ocean and sunrise
scenic and serene place, suitable for couples to chill out, nice place for photography. however, there is no beach accessible and the nearest beach is located at karon or patong. as it is located on top of the cliff, between karon and patong, travelling to these two areas have to be by chartered transportation or public transportation which may cost up to thai bahts. the hotel staff will be kind enough to help arrange transportation to these areas.

7.7 Clive B.
United Kingdom
January 09, 2012
Great value hotel
Excellent views
Arrived late afternoon and checking in was fast, friendly and efficient and within minutes a tuk tuk whisked us and our luggage off to our room. Our room was spacious, very clean and had everything we required of it including our expected partial view of the sea. A partial view to us was quite acceptable as I believe the trees and shrubbery added well to the ambience of the whole site plus added some welcome shade from the sun. It has to be said that the hotels rooms are built into a very steep hillside, our room was about halfway down and being in our mid 60's was a bit of a struggle the first couple of times but by the end of our stay we managed it considerably easier so really not a place for those with walking difficulties. One dislike was the combined bath and shower, the bath being quite a high step up to get into and was also the only way to have a shower, a walk-in shower would have been easier and more preferable. The pool was quite small for the amount of guests but we never found it crowded and again there were excellent views from the poolside. Breakfast was good without being great but we've had worse in more expensive places and we only had dinner once during our stay and no complaints about price or quality.

6.7 Salim M.
United States
January 09, 2012
Great location, but understaffed
Natural beauty and view
We had a great view from our balcony, but the room had a strange musty smell that lingered for the duration of our stay. Also, the bathroom had a strange smell on the second day. I had to call the glof cart tompick me up whenever I eanted to go the main lobby, as the climb was very steep. Would not recommend this hotel to people who have any kind of mobility issues.

3.7 Lee M.
Australia
January 06, 2012
Very Ordinary
View
I would have to agree with a lot of the other reviews: Restaurant - very basic. Breakfast always stone cold, like the sausages and bacon, and decided to try asian noodles, it was all stone cold. I just ate toast and jam, and on the last day just could not be bothered stopping by for breakfast. Certainly not somewhere you would go for dinner. Room - we took the deluxe ocean view room. Furniture was missing, one bedside table and a big space on the other side of the bed where the other table and lamp would have been. An old coffee table pushed up against a wall, plenty of space for a sofa, but it appeared to be missing. Front Office - service was awful. I tried to order room service on the night I arrived, but it stops at 11pm. I asked front office where to go for some food, they said "everything shut, too late". They were just not interested in helping out their guests most of the time. I resorted to asking a tuk tuk to go to a 7eleven to get a cup noodle. Bear in mind that there is nothing walking distance from this hotel. Pool - fairly small tucked away between a few rooms, the bar was not open all the time.

9 Adam S.
Australia
January 05, 2012
Lovely hotel but problems with the shower
Service
Very helpful staff and a great location! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great location to both karon and patong beaches! Hotel staff were friendly and the service was great, thank you !

2 Sam J.
Australia
January 05, 2012
Horrible Rooms, terrible smell, was electrocuted
Zero
Completely misrepresented rooms, was nothing like picture and we paid a top price for Thailand hotel. The rooms smelt like sewage and when it was raining the water on the path had electricity running through it. We spoke with the staff who already knew about the problems, were unconcerned andrefused to give a refund on cancellation. Terrible Terrible Accommodation

5 Darko G.
Australia
January 04, 2012
A lot to be wished for
Position is promising.
Some staff is clearly trying hard, but majority cannot speak English or any language other than Thai. The feeling is as one is not welcome but a disturbance. Free transport to Karon and Patong beaches runs only once a day one way per beach. There is a lot of grey economy in transport there. Some staff has no courtesy and talk to guests in an ordering manner. I attribute this to very low level of training and lack of language knowledge. Our room was very clean, cleaning was missed one day, though. The bath tub did not have a screen so the water was splashing everywhere. The cupboard was squeeking, there was only one bed side unit.

8.7 Deepti R.
India
January 04, 2012
Great location, nice rooms.
Nice location, view of the beach, room service, bar, swimming pool
we loved this place. we walked into a room with rose petals on the bed - an instant hit with my wife :) the pizzeria and the hotel restaurant are decently priced and carry good food and drinks. they have a 2-way shuttle to the beach. there's a massage place right on campus that you can visit after a day of sightseeing.