Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 560 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 560 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Anthony P. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2012
OK pretty standard rooms, service good
Positioned at riverside, very clean, well trained staff
Being slightly disabled the approach from the road was very difficult as one had to climb over the floodwall; it would have been better if the floodwall was placed on the other ide of the main entrance path so one didn't have to climb over the wall every time one wanted to get to the car. Bedrooms pleasant and very clean. Food very indifferent and expensive; we thought that the spagghetti sauce probably came from a tin. Breakfast was OK.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Karla P. from Canada
Families with young children
Stayed one night in July 2012
Bordering on luxury but not quite
Amazing views and lovely setting
We just stayed here for 1 night on a little road trip we did of northern Thailand. We had originally booked a junior suite but when we arrived the local authority had cut power off for the day, so they upgraded up to the duplex suite. They were also incredibly accommodating, giving us free drinks and snacks while we waited in the restaurant. The room itself was quite nice and almost luxurious, but lacking the high-quality finish that you get in a real luxury resort. The balconies were unfinished with no seating, which is a real shame as the view was absolutely amazing out onto the river and we would have loved to sit there and really enjoy it. The best spot was the restaurant which was a riverside terrace affair. The food was okay, but not the best I've had. For all the little shortcomings, they were more than made up for by the excellent staff and service. They really bent over backwards to try to accommodate and requests and make your stay special. I'm sure with a bit more practice they'll get it right! I would definitely recommend staying here if you want something nicer than a guesthouse, but can't quite afford the Anantara down the road.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Frank G. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2012
Convenient to the Golden Triangle
Location
The Serene was recommended by a travel agent. The location was convenient after an exhausting day of touring. The hotel is located right on the Mekong River with a view of Laos and Mynamar. The view of the river during the breakfast buffet is stunning.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Jordan W. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Great location, lovely rooms, average food quality
Room comfortability, decor, personality, location, helpful service
This was a very lovely stay in Chiang Saen, Chiang Rai. Serene at Chiang Rai is a 4.5 star resort and has an exceptional staff who are willing to assist their guests without issue. The only thing I feel that they could improve upon is the food - which was fairly average. However, if you look at the value for your money and you are really looking for top service at an outstanding price then, really, look no further. Serene at Chiang Rai is your best option!
Reviewed August 18, 2012

David M. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Great hotel , good location with solid management
Location, View, Management
We really liked this hotel. The rooms were great and the management and staff work hard to take care of the guests. The only downside was the drinks and the hotel being very over priced (with additional service charge and VAT automatically added. We did not find this to be a big problem and its pretty easy to walk down the street for cheap beer.
Reviewed August 08, 2012

Cheuk L. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed one night in August 2012
Great location and right in front of the river!
The extra bed we requested is very comfortable! It is basically the bed used at twins bedroom!
The service was great and the Hotel restaurant was happening! It is also not too far away from 7-11. With the competitive price agoda offered as well, i would definitely recommend this to others!
Reviewed August 07, 2012

Eva M. from Germany
Families with young children
Stayed one night in July 2012
fantastic site and service
beautiful setting by the river
stayed only 1 night with my son, aged 2year and 4 months. The general manager and her driver drove us to nearby ChianSaen where i had enough time to stroll around and absorb the energy of the temple. staff was very friendly and patient with my boy. Had a room towards the street, but was not noisy at night. in general highly recommended. breakfast buffet next day had amply of choice for all tastes and preferences. the hotel is only a few hundreds meters from the actual golden triangle.
Reviewed August 04, 2012

john T. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
Lovely hotel in a great setting
Large comfortable rooms and a terrific swimmming pool
The chalets are large and airy and the grounds are lovely as are the views of the mountains. It is only 3 km's out of Pai so close enough to enjoy the town.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

JOHN R. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Best Choice in Chiang Saenz area
Location-Rooms-Service-Breakfast
This is the nicest hotel in this part of Thailand. It sits right down from the Golden Triangle and provides great views of the countryside and river. The rooms have everything you will need and are very well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the veranda overlooking the Mekong is great for the food and view. There is a small but very nice pool. We stayed here now twice and will return in the future.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Theerasak R. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2012
Nice and Clean on the Khong River view
Good price and good service.
try to book the room on the river-side for nice view. breakfast is good with friendly staff. bath room is quite strange because the hand washing sink is not in the toilet but it's outside next to the bed room. quite strange when you are brushing your teeth and someone is watchin it.
Reviewed July 12, 2012