Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

ServiceWorld Backpackers Hostel

5 Banda Street, #02-82, Chinatown, Singapore 160052

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Good

6.4

based on 27 reviews

18 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.7
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
6.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.4
Food/Dining
4.3
All reviews (27)
Sort by:
Carol M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 27, 2016
Mr Yip is a very good host.
5
For a budget solo traveler Mr Yip's Service World hostel is very good. He used to have a hostel in Banda street but now in Chin Swee . The man who owns the hostel now in Banda Street and is calling it a very similar name was very aggressive and not friendly or particularly helpful. Unfortunately Agoda had given me the wrong address. However when I made it to Mr Yip's Hostel he was so helpful and welcoming and it felt safe. the hostel at Chin Swee is close to both Chinatown and Clark Quay and so has the best of both worlds.Thank you.
Report this review
Chaw L. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 19, 2016
Budget stay with good location
4.3
The location is near to chinatown mrt interchange which is very close to downtown. Suitable for backpacker travelers.
Report this review
Bryan P. Solo travelers Philippines, December 6, 2015
At the heart of Chinatown

Fit for budget/solo travelers like me
7.3
Report this review
Chien C. Solo travelers United States of America, October 31, 2015
Efficient and convenient

Early check out but I staff was around. Did not know what need to be involved at checking out so wander how to return towels
5
Good wifi services
Report this review
Jay F. Solo travelers United States of America, October 29, 2015
Retired Senior

Location is great, near food stalls and can eat with the locals. Clean floors. Great price.
7
I thought the price was great. All I needed was a place to sleep and store my things. Locker was a little small but I managed to get all my things in the locker. Wifi was good. that's my biggest need for contact with friends and booking other hotels as I travel. Initially hard to find the office. If you check in late, you have to read the signs to find out where to go.
Report this review
Bich T. Couples Vietnam, September 7, 2015
Not good as advertisement

Location, location and location
5
Quite acceptable
Report this review
Sophanith P. Solo travelers Cambodia, August 30, 2015
Good

Nothing
6.7
Good location
Report this review
Nguyen T. Business travelers Vietnam, August 23, 2015
Hotel is good , no problem

1. AC is okay 2. Water 3. Bed
5.3
I booked at this hotel , I had 5 days to stay here and I feel comfortable , but AC is so cold .
Report this review
Mai V. Groups Vietnam, June 30, 2015
Hidden gem in Chinatown

A pleasant experience
9
We are impressed with the location, so near to the MRT, right next to a big big food court and a very good porridge restaurant nearby. The owner is super friendly and we didnt know he used to be famous in Singapore (his dad is one of the best photographer in the world). Overall a pleasant experience, would stay here again!
Report this review
Edo H. Solo travelers Indonesia, January 21, 2015
Great stay

location, clean, staff
7
Report this review
1 - 10 of 18 reviews


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05