Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shakespeare Hotel

61 Albert Street, Auckland City Center, Auckland, New Zealand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.8

based on 83 reviews

57 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (83)
Sort by:
Yin F. Couples Malaysia, May 16, 2016
Good house brewed beer ever
5.7
The hotel location is good. Easy access to the city area. The must try thing is their house brewed beer. Very nice beer. However, the hotel is a bit old and no escalator. If you stay on the highest level, is a bit difficult to carry your luggage up. But, their staff willing to help out. Still value for money to stay.
Mike D. Couples United Kingdom, January 26, 2016
one night stay

location,staff, food
8.3
excellent
Navaneethan J. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 17, 2015
Traveller's place

Location, staff were friendly
6.7
Good
Aliyakone S. Groups Laos, November 21, 2015
Would be great if the hotel as an elevator.

Location and staffs' friendliness.
6.7
I'm quite tired to carry luggages up to my room in level 2 using the stairs. Would be good if there is an elevator for the hotel guests.
Shane N. Solo travelers Australia, November 2, 2015
In the Heart of....!

Location, Staff and Atmosphere
7.3
I found it entirely peaceful. Little noise from street heard and no noise from bar area at all.The staff were pretty cool, happy to help, the beers pretty good also! I will stay again!
Lynsey C. Couples New Zealand, September 5, 2015
Value for money

It has character
9.7
Excellent
Tay S. Couples Malaysia, June 2, 2015
nice enviroment place

comfort, nice location and atmosphere
7.7
overall is good and walking to downtown area all very close
Jim G. Couples New Zealand, May 11, 2015
My stay at the Shakespeare

The helpful friendly staff, the Location, the access to Restuarant and Bar facilities
9.3
Our stay was very good, staff were helpful and friendly, the room was comfortable and nicely cleaned daily.
Donald B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 29, 2015
Hotel shakespeare

The pub at the bottom of the stairs. The view off the balcony. Great staff
8.7
I will stay again if i come to New Zealand.
Wing Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, March 9, 2015
Freindly staff, good location

Location, Staff, Food
8.7
It's a nice stay. It could be noisy during weekends but it is normal since it is weekend. The staff are super freindly and the location is convenient. The pub downstairs provides good food and drink.
1 - 10 of 57 reviews Next page
Shakespeare Hotel AucklandShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Balcony/TerraceShakespeare Hotel Auckland - BreweryShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - RestaurantShakespeare Hotel Auckland - RestaurantShakespeare Hotel Auckland - LobbyShakespeare Hotel Auckland - ExteriorShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - RestaurantShakespeare Hotel Auckland - RestaurantShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - ExteriorShakespeare Hotel Auckland - RestaurantShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Exterior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C07