Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shakespeare Hotel

61 Albert Street, Auckland City Center, Auckland, New Zealand (Show on map)

Book now!

Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Balcony/Terrace Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Brewery Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/Lounge Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/Lounge Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Restaurant Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Restaurant Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Lobby Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Exterior Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/Lounge Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/Lounge Shakespeare Hotel Auckland - Restaurant
Area: Auckland City Center Number of Rooms: 10
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
74 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (74)
Sort by:
Jim G. Couples New Zealand, May 11, 2015
My stay at the Shakespeare

The helpful friendly staff, the Location, the access to Restuarant and Bar facilities
9.3
Our stay was very good, staff were helpful and friendly, the room was comfortable and nicely cleaned daily.
Donald B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 29, 2015
Hotel shakespeare

The pub at the bottom of the stairs. The view off the balcony. Great staff
8.7
I will stay again if i come to New Zealand.
Wing Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, March 9, 2015
Freindly staff, good location

Location, Staff, Food
8.7
It's a nice stay. It could be noisy during weekends but it is normal since it is weekend. The staff are super freindly and the location is convenient. The pub downstairs provides good food and drink.
Yao J. Families with young children China, February 18, 2015
Definitely will recommend

Staffs, value for money (rooms and dining), location
8.7
We are with young kid, and staffs here are nice and very helpful. Just love the restaurant on the 2nd floor and the room size are quite large compared to the rate.
Idam S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 25, 2015
quick Auckland stop

Excellent location, friendly helpful staff in a nice old building. cheap and convenient quick stop.
7.3
Generally all good. Was clean, had a good shower. Old building so had no aircon, and the window needed a new latch. But for the money most excellent, would stay again.
Jennifer T. Solo travelers Australia, December 10, 2014
handy location

nice manager good bed
4.7
I wasdissappointed, virtually no 24 hr service, 6 flights of stairs to get heavy case down early am, manager carried it up. Had to ring by mobile to get attention from staff to arrange case collection for next day. They didnt answer the in house phone, no reception on arrival, went to BAR and manager appeared. They said no to case collection,had to go down that night. So had to repack my case. There was just NO service. No security bars on window whic h was the only air ventilation for this tiny pokey stuffy little room that you could hardly move in. You hit your head on the ceiling as well. Shower had a dirty wet face washer in it, yuck. I am angry, and finally got to bed at midnight for 5am departure. I have had better budget rooms. I am disgusted. No ower point in bathroom.
Kerry F. Couples United Kingdom, October 24, 2014
Cheap and cheerful

Location, bar & staff
8.7
Ok not the cleanest or largest room but you can't fault it for location and price
Penny V. Solo travelers Canada, October 22, 2014
Great Location

Great location. Good beer prices. Excellent staff.
8.7
Lovely stay. Very handy location.
Ying H. Solo travelers Singapore, August 10, 2014
Good Location, gd for short stay

Location, bar, food
7.3
It is comfortable for non-picky customers. Good location, privacy and basic amenities. It is a perfect place for budget travelers who do not plan to spend long time in their room.
Yapp L. Couples Malaysia, June 11, 2014
comfortable

small room but friendly staffs
6
The hotel should be free wifi access to customer. However, they only provide 50MB for each customer.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Shakespeare Hotel AucklandShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Balcony/TerraceShakespeare Hotel Auckland - BreweryShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - RestaurantShakespeare Hotel Auckland - RestaurantShakespeare Hotel Auckland - LobbyShakespeare Hotel Auckland - ExteriorShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Pub/LoungeShakespeare Hotel Auckland - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3A02