Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shalimar Hotel

46, Panchikawatte Road Maradana, Maradana, Colombo, Sri Lanka 00100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Maradana Number of Rooms: 30

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

6.9

based on
183 reviews

105 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
6.9
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (183)
Sort by:
Ronald N. Couples United States of America, December 14, 2015
Just exactly the hotel we needed for one night

location, food and drinks, travel assistance
8.7
We stayed only one night at the Shalimar, but it felt luxurious that night between a train trip into Colombo from Galle and out again by train to Anuradhapura the next day. Mr Gopi was especially generous in helping us obtain intercity train tickets, in that the first two trains we tried were fully booked. Room service was fast and good, AC and shower were fantastic. Also, gave good exchange rate on $100US.
Report this review
Huzaima A. Business travelers Maldives, October 3, 2015
AC was loud and not adjustable

Location friendly staff
7
Ok
Report this review
Peter S. Couples United Kingdom, March 12, 2013
Very very very Noisy

Near Station
5
Report this review
Peter S. Couples United Kingdom, March 6, 2013
Very very very Noisy

Near Maradana station
5.7
Report this review
Petra F. Solo travelers Czech Republic, January 14, 2013
small clean hotel

workers were nice
5
price more than standard in the Colombo we had window, but the window was not able open, and the windows go to the restaurant:( Wifi does not work
Travel tip: close to the railway station
Report this review
Emily S. Groups New Zealand, December 29, 2012
Clean rooms and good restaurant

Restaurant food and service, nice and big clean rooms
8.7
We checked in to the hotel very late at night around midnight. The lights in the lobby were very dim, but there was a sleepy fellow who checked us in. The lobby is pretty empty, worn and uninviting so we were a bit worried. But when we entered the room, we were relieved, as it was very clean and spacious for the 2 of us. Staff were very friendly throughout our stay, with great service and good food for breakfast!
Report this review
Derek F. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 1, 2012
big basic rooms. hotel is on a busy road.

Budget hotel, close to Maradana Railway Station
4.7
Given the late landing in Colombo at 02:00, it doesn't really make sense to pay for an expensive hotel so I chose this one. The room was big, the shower was fine. The a/c and the fans worked. The hotel didn't arrange for pick up at the airport as they said they would.There are no amenities nearby - seemed to be car workshops in the street and I did not eat here.
Report this review
Satrio A. Solo travelers Indonesia, November 25, 2012
Good Location and Very Near to Odel

Only the good location
5.7
The hotel was average. The service is average. If you want to stay 1-2 nights, this place is recommended. In the evening, the area surrounding is gloomy.
Shopping Tip: The Odel (Shopping Place) is very near to Shalimar Hotel, only Rs 150 (max.) by Tuk Tuk.
Report this review
Ahmad S. Couples Indonesia, November 13, 2012
Value for money

near train stations, 24hrs reception, value for money
6.3
We arrived at this hotel very late night after 1.5 hrs taxi drive from airport. Check-in process was fast and we got a room on 3rd level. Room facilities were okay, bathroom was clean, they provided electric kettle with some free instant coffees and a bottled drinking water. Very basic facilities good enough for transit hotel like. The only bad experience we had at this hotel was power off, it happened three times, that made us feel so spooky. But, when we moved to other place in srilanka we also had the same experience.
Hotel Feature Tip: Bring map to show the location for taxi or tuk-tuk driver.
Report this review
Chun Y. Groups Malaysia, November 13, 2012
NIce and lovely rooms

Convenient location
8.3
Very nice and clean hotel. Location is convenient, there is a railway station nearby, 5 mins walking distance.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 105 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04