Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shalimar Hotel

46, Panchikawatte Road Maradana, Colombo, Sri Lanka 00100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Other Number of Rooms: 30
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.9

based on
180 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
6.9
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (180)
Sort by:
Peter S. Couples United Kingdom, March 12, 2013
Very very very Noisy

Near Station
5
Peter S. Couples United Kingdom, March 6, 2013
Very very very Noisy

Near Maradana station
5.7
Petra F. Solo travelers Czech Republic, January 14, 2013
small clean hotel

workers were nice
5
price more than standard in the Colombo we had window, but the window was not able open, and the windows go to the restaurant:( Wifi does not work
Travel tip: close to the railway station
Emily S. Groups New Zealand, December 29, 2012
Clean rooms and good restaurant

Restaurant food and service, nice and big clean rooms
8.7
We checked in to the hotel very late at night around midnight. The lights in the lobby were very dim, but there was a sleepy fellow who checked us in. The lobby is pretty empty, worn and uninviting so we were a bit worried. But when we entered the room, we were relieved, as it was very clean and spacious for the 2 of us. Staff were very friendly throughout our stay, with great service and good food for breakfast!
Derek F. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 1, 2012
big basic rooms. hotel is on a busy road.

Budget hotel, close to Maradana Railway Station
4.7
Given the late landing in Colombo at 02:00, it doesn't really make sense to pay for an expensive hotel so I chose this one. The room was big, the shower was fine. The a/c and the fans worked. The hotel didn't arrange for pick up at the airport as they said they would.There are no amenities nearby - seemed to be car workshops in the street and I did not eat here.
Satrio A. Solo travelers Indonesia, November 25, 2012
Good Location and Very Near to Odel

Only the good location
5.7
The hotel was average. The service is average. If you want to stay 1-2 nights, this place is recommended. In the evening, the area surrounding is gloomy.
Shopping Tip: The Odel (Shopping Place) is very near to Shalimar Hotel, only Rs 150 (max.) by Tuk Tuk.
Ahmad S. Couples Indonesia, November 13, 2012
Value for money

near train stations, 24hrs reception, value for money
6.3
We arrived at this hotel very late night after 1.5 hrs taxi drive from airport. Check-in process was fast and we got a room on 3rd level. Room facilities were okay, bathroom was clean, they provided electric kettle with some free instant coffees and a bottled drinking water. Very basic facilities good enough for transit hotel like. The only bad experience we had at this hotel was power off, it happened three times, that made us feel so spooky. But, when we moved to other place in srilanka we also had the same experience.
Hotel Feature Tip: Bring map to show the location for taxi or tuk-tuk driver.
Chun Y. Groups Malaysia, November 13, 2012
NIce and lovely rooms

Convenient location
8.3
Very nice and clean hotel. Location is convenient, there is a railway station nearby, 5 mins walking distance.
Anshuman K. Couples India, November 12, 2012
Decent Rooms, Great Location

Location, Location, Location. Also, some rooms have balconies overlooking Panchikawatte Road.
6.7
This is a good, decent hotel if you're looking at a a place to crash for the night for a day or two. The rooms are cheap, clean and some even have nice balconies overlooking Panchikawatte Road, great for having that early morning tea before you head out. Location is extremely convenient -- right in front of MAradana Railway station, and 10 mins ( = 2.5 kms or about 200Rs. in an auto) from Colombo Fort Railway Station/Bus Station. Don't expect too much in decor and ambience. The downstairs area is a bar/wine shop where all kinds of shady characters drink all day (popular with auto drivers in the area, apparently). But it's a safe place -- ok for couples, mixed groups & single men. Wouldn't be too sure about women travelling alone, you may want to look at other options.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Colombo Fort Railway Station & Bus Station is close by. So if you're going into the Hill Country or going south to the beaches, this is a good place to stay. Airport is about an hour's drive to the north The national museum and government buildings, Odel shopping mall are about 4 kms away. The national museum and Odel, especially, are highly recommended. Don't leave Colombo without visiting them.
Nena S. Couples Croatia, November 10, 2012
Cheap - that's all!

Price.
5.3
It was ok for one night stay, between flights. Next time we'll choose another hotel. No matter it was inexpensive, we'd rather pay a couple of $ more and get more. Reception staff were exceptional - they really did their best to help with information we needed. Waiters behaved completely differently - incredibly slow. We've waited for ages no matter we were the only guests in the restaurant. When food (dinner and breakfast) finally arrived we were disappointed once more.
Restaurant Tip: Eat somewhere else!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


AS-AGWEB-3A02