Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 2475 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2475 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

pascal C.
United Kingdom
August 08, 2013
a romantic getaway, from all the hustle & bustle
beautifully-done 1920's shanghai style decor; polite,friendly, attentive staff; chilled, live, jazz music in cotton bar; excellent & varied breakfast buffet; in the heart of chinatown - well worth it.

Dustin N.
Canada
August 07, 2013
great hotel, great design and comfy room
location, cleanliness, friendly staff
be cautious of the tour guides in the lobby of this hotel. I don't think they are associated with the hotel and you may not get your moneys worth.

Victor P.
United States
August 07, 2013
Surreal Shanghai
Location, Decor, Staff
Overall, it was a nice hotel with a prime location in Chinatown. However, you better know what you're looking for in Chinatown because no one around you will be able to help you find the secret spots for food or entertainment, not even the taxis. That's another thing - no taxi services like Chinatown due to construction so you better be ready to cough up money for a taxi who will. Traffic and construction make for a nasty congestion and commute so plan accordingly if you're trying to make it to the airport on time and such.

Fan W.
Canada
August 05, 2013
good location, convience and many food around
convience, many food around , good location
good environment, interesting place, easy to find, in the heart of the city, locate in chinatown, many food around until midnight.

Dave C.
Australia
August 05, 2013
Pretty good for a hotel
decor, big bed, big shower (cheaper rooms were small in comparison to the Ying Hua that we had)
Stayed here as the last 3 days of a 10 week trip through Vietnam and Thailand. For a hotel I imagine it was quite good, but we had stayed in 2 bedroom appartments mostly throughout the trip for around 1/3rd of the money, so to us it seemed expensive for one room, but dont get me wrong, that one room was very nice and the hotel overall was a success. BIG FAIL for us was the dinner at cotton.(on observation it seems that the small number of people eating there were probably new arrivals like us, to knackered to go outside for a feed) Very small menu - very small portion size at a very large price by asian standards. Consider that a small fried rice and small noodle dish with 2 poorly made cocktails cost more than the several course seafood and belly full of beer 50 metres down the road. I recommend and commend the hotel - the breakfast was great - just forget the dinner option.

Katherine N.
United States
August 03, 2013
Beautiful hotel, excellent service
Amazing service, elegant interior, beautiful and spacious room
As soon as we arrived, an employee met us at our taxi (after midnight) and took our bags inside. Then, he brought us tea and cold towels while he checked us in. The room was spacious and beautiful, with a huge bed and bathtub. Plus, mini bar snacks and drinks were complimentary (no alcohol). Overall, an excellent hotel with superior service.

Cheng L.
Singapore
August 02, 2013
Close to Chinatown eating and shopping
Good location, comfortable room, helpful staff
I had a good stay at this hotel. Not only is the location superb, being close to Chinatown eating and shopping, the staff are helpful and the rooms are comfortably decorated.

Suratwadee N.
Thailand
August 01, 2013
Uniquely Shanghai experience w THAI Smile Services
Good boutique hotel, Attentive staff, Comfortable bed
Being a fan of boutique hotels, I really enjoyed my stay at Shanghai Mansion. Spent 9 nights here, first in Ying Hua, then moved to Mudan just to experience the artistic style. Both rooms are big and comfy, mattress good pillow good with bath, rain shower, and separate toilet. The hotel was under renovation during our stay and the construction woke us up for breakfast. I hope they can finish it when we back next time.

Meng A.
Malaysia
July 31, 2013
Nice design and great location
Cosy environment, great location to explore China Town, easy access to nice restaurant
Enjoy my one week break at the hotel as it's at the heart of China Town, Bangkok. Great location enable you to explore China Town and enjoying good foods.

Suratwadee N.
Thailand
July 31, 2013
Art / design hotel
Romantic, Great Shanghai chic decor, Helpful and very friendly hotel staff
My boyfriend & I had such a lifetime memory at Shanghai Mansion. It's very romantic in the heart of Chinatown. Nice décor, cosy and very clean. Very helpful and friendly staffs. The hotel had a great lounge with a wonderful blues/jazz band. Totally loved this hotel. Highly recommended.