Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 2473 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2473 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Brigitta D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Something a bit different than your standard hotel
I absolutely loved our 2 night stay at Shanghai mansion. Our flight was delayed by 3.5 hours and we didn't arrive at the hotel till 1:30 am, but we were welcomed by a very nice staff member and some lovely green tea. The room was clean, big and very welcoming. The bed was big and there was a complimentary min bar (very basic - 1 beer, 2 soft drinks, some chips and biscuits - but still, a nice touch. Best feature of the room was the amazing shower. Big shower head and lots of pressure. We chose this hotel for it's location and because it looked a little different than your standard hotel room. It did not disappoint. Our room had no breakfast included, but for 399 Baht per person you get both buffet and a la carte menu. (they even serve eggs benedict which were delicious). We also had some issues with our sim card we purchased and the reception staff was very happy to help and called the call centre for us. Overall very happy with our choice, would recommend and would most definitely stay there again.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

LAI S. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2016
Great looking hotel
Staff are very polite and very clean room
Reviewed June 28, 2016

cham B. from Cambodia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Staff communication are terrible.
front counter staff has very bad communication skills
Reviewed June 24, 2016

Maros K. from Slovakia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Nice surprise
Was impressed with style and place as itself It was pleasant stay Just one thing I could point out is slow drainage in the shower Despite I'm coming back I like the design Nice work
Reviewed June 24, 2016

Gemma P. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2016
Feel like royalty
I felt so special here. The staff treat you like you're number one and the facilities, restaurant and room are beautiful. Clean, beautiful surrounds and the bustling china town on your front door.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

francisco O. from Spain
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
chinatown a nice place to eat.
Nice hotel, plenty places to eat, seven eleven nearby, staff nice, decoration from 1920 Shanghai very elaborated, nice life band at entrance every night, good food restaurant. No party around. Near the train station. Don't take the sleepers with you when checking out unless you want to pay for them. Fridge drinks and snacks for free. Tv channel. Safety box. Rooms a little dark. A place to go. Quiet and safe.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

goh H. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Mu Dan suite
The location superb but Bangkok Royal Hotel better if u wAnna feel Chinatown night life. Bed v v v big. Can sleep 3 pax. Hotel environment nice. But no privacy in room. Separate shower but door see thru. Bath tub outside, in front of the bed. Outside the room is fish pool. Nice for kids. Good environment for westerners. 7-11 beside hotel. Staffs super friendly. Smell of food at 5am. My only complain, drain clog at shower room. The staff came to do 1 hour also cannot but just said ok. Haizzz...
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Chua D. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Excellent location in Chinatown!
Good location, room is clean & air-con working well!
Reviewed June 19, 2016

Ong J. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2016
Great location
Great location and nice decor room.
Reviewed June 18, 2016

Benoit V. from Canada
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2016
Pretty impressive, I would return
In terms of hotel it's absolutely brilliant, well decorated, good amenities, friendly staff everything it needs to be a 5 star hotel. This said, being an old windowless building there are things you need to be aware of 1) smell of moisture is prevalent and can be quite shocking when checking in a room that has been unused and without ventilation for a while. 2) Cockroaches, saw a few but they seem to fog a fair bit so they were either dead or dying (but you can't avoid cockroaches in windowless buildings) 3) it's windowless, so no natural light. Beyond this there were a few signs of wear and tear here and there but nothing to worry about.
Reviewed June 18, 2016