arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 2466 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2466 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.8

francisco O.
Spain
June 20, 2016
chinatown a nice place to eat.
Nice hotel, plenty places to eat, seven eleven nearby, staff nice, decoration from 1920 Shanghai very elaborated, nice life band at entrance every night, good food restaurant. No party around. Near the train station. Don't take the sleepers with you when checking out unless you want to pay for them. Fridge drinks and snacks for free. Tv channel. Safety box. Rooms a little dark. A place to go. Quiet and safe.

goh H.
Malaysia
June 20, 2016
Mu Dan suite
The location superb but Bangkok Royal Hotel better if u wAnna feel Chinatown night life. Bed v v v big. Can sleep 3 pax. Hotel environment nice. But no privacy in room. Separate shower but door see thru. Bath tub outside, in front of the bed. Outside the room is fish pool. Nice for kids. Good environment for westerners. 7-11 beside hotel. Staffs super friendly. Smell of food at 5am. My only complain, drain clog at shower room. The staff came to do 1 hour also cannot but just said ok. Haizzz...

Chua D.
Singapore
June 19, 2016
Excellent location in Chinatown!
Good location, room is clean & air-con working well!

Ong J.
Malaysia
June 18, 2016
Great location
Great location and nice decor room.

Benoit V.
Canada
June 18, 2016
Pretty impressive, I would return
In terms of hotel it's absolutely brilliant, well decorated, good amenities, friendly staff everything it needs to be a 5 star hotel. This said, being an old windowless building there are things you need to be aware of 1) smell of moisture is prevalent and can be quite shocking when checking in a room that has been unused and without ventilation for a while. 2) Cockroaches, saw a few but they seem to fog a fair bit so they were either dead or dying (but you can't avoid cockroaches in windowless buildings) 3) it's windowless, so no natural light. Beyond this there were a few signs of wear and tear here and there but nothing to worry about.

Ginny W.
Singapore
June 16, 2016
An Unique Experience
Great stay at wonderful prices! Location is perfect to explore day market and surrounded by local delicacies.

Kee L.
Singapore
June 12, 2016
Shortcomings
Reception not very helpful in providing a late check out and also in arranging a transfer on arrival. Main drawback is no swimming or gym and quite a walk to the subway. Very good jazz musicians

anita R.
Denmark
June 08, 2016
Great location - Beautiful interior - cool vibe.
Very nice hotel - located in the Centre of China Town. Loads of nice restaurants and 1000s of shops. The rooms are lovely - great vibe. Considering the hotel is situated in such a populated area the hotel boasts vast and very beautifully decorated open spaces inside. Our only negative is, that there are no rooms with windows or a balcony. and the coffeebar downstairs only opens at 11 am. No coffee in the room. We loved the atmosphere, great jazz at night and the staff was wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Veronica M.
United Kingdom
June 05, 2016
Quirky cool place in a interesting location
We stayed just one night before flying home, on our way back from an island. It's in the hearth of Chinatown and it is a cool area to explore some local flavours. There is a couple of alleys nearby with stalls selling local food products. And all sorts of street food vendors all over the neighbourhood. Going to and from the airport was easy but not too quick - around 40 minutes with no traffic. Cabs were easy to find in the area. Staff was not particularly helpful or nice and the place could do with some more cleanliness, but the rooms are HUGE and decor is pretty nice. The free minibar was not specially impressive - 2 sodas, 1 beer, cookies and chips. It would be better if they had some different local stuff for people to taste. The bar downstairs was quite cool with a great band - seemed like a nice place to hang out at the end of the day. Spa looked super fancy and stays open late - I would probably try if I had more time.

Bruce T.
New Zealand
June 04, 2016
Food Tour
Right in the heart of Chinatown. Great food tour map from concierge.