or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok

89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road, Bangrak, Bangkok Riverside, Bangkok, Thailand 10500 (Show on map)

Book now!

Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Salathip Restaurant Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Salathip Restauarant Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Salathip Restaurant Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Angelini Restaurant Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Lobby Lounge Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Chi Spa Water Therapies Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - CHI The Spa Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Swimming Pool at Krungthep Wing Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Main Swimming Pool Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - One of the largest Fitness Centre in Bangkok Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Locker Room at Health Club Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Health Club Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - The Boardroom Suite Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - The Garden Gallery Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Thai Wedding Ceremony by the River Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Grand Ballroom Banqueting
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Shang Palace Entrance
Area: Bangkok Riverside Number of Rooms: 802
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Superb

9.1

based on
1503 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.4
Room Comfort/Standard
9.2
Food/Dining
8.8
All reviews (1503)
Sort by:
Roland A. Couples Philippines, January 2, 2013
Luxurious Hotel with Exceptional Service!

Great Location, Great Service, Exceptional View
10
Hotel location is perfect if you plan to explore the heart of Bangkok. Almost everything is just a few minutes away - River Cruise Station, Train Station etc. The hotel itself boasts luxurious rooms and amenities. What my wife and I really liked about the hotel are their personnel, all greeted us with warmth and was very accommodating. Overall, it was a superb experience especially as we celebrated our Wedding Anniversary and New Year's Eve!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The Floating Market trip is a must. Just make sure you book a cab from the hotel to avoid being ripped off by cab drivers as the trip takes almost 1.5 hours. Make sure to bring some budget for buying some things and foods at the market, and do not forget that you can always bargain with these friendly merchants. The SkyBar rooftop bar is also a great attraction, however it is usually crowded so avoid peak hours to have a great experience there. Bangkok is pretty much a hustle and bustle city and is more alive during the night.
Lindsay B. Couples Australia, January 1, 2013
good hotel

Location, Location,location
10
I have stayed at the Shangri la quite a few times over the last few years and its always good.We were there over new years and the atmosphere was good.The swimming pool was very very busy and there was a wait list for pool lounges.We didnt wait long tho and even a pool side meal came out in 20 minutes. The breakfasts are great as per usual and there was no waiting for a riverside table even though the hotel was full. The fireworks were spectacular and being on the 19th floor just a little bit above eye level.A truly great hotel
Wilfried M. Couples Belgium, December 31, 2012
Beautiful hotel on the river

spacious rooms, excellent restaurants, great staff, ideal situation close to skytrain
10
After the renovation, the hotel is even more superb than ever before; beautiful rooms, impeccable service; buffet breakfast is georgous; sometimes a little crowdy at the swimming pool, but staff very helpful in trying to accommodate everyone;
Travel tip: Great location on Chao Phraya river and at walking distance from skytrain, which makes it ideal to avoid Bangkok's increasing traffic jams
Stuart S. Couples United Kingdom, December 30, 2012
Good Location for Riverside and BTS

Good location
8
Good location if you want access to BTS skytrain and also river taxi. Pool very busy though and I noticed zee Germans had their towels down as early as 6am in the morning. So be prepared to get up early to stake your spot out of by the pool for the day.
Joyce G. Solo travelers Australia, December 29, 2012
An overall great 5 star resort hotel

Several restaurant options to suit varying tastes and requirements. Excellent relaxation and drinking locations within the complex.
9
I have nothing but praise about my stay at the hotel. My only negative comment is that table service at the river frontage bar was very, very slow. Loved the riverside evening entertainment, and the gentleman at the concierge desk was a very big help fast tracking a taxi for me ahead of quite a long queue. Thank you, I'll definitely be back.
Amy S. Couples United States of America, December 28, 2012
High end style

On the river, lovely service
8.7
Concierge was great and the food at the outdoor bar was good, though not fantastic. Cheaper and better food options close by for lunch - didn't try the main restaurants for dinner. There's a lot of very loud music playing at the bars, which was a bit much, but at least it's live. It's definitely a high end hotel, probably a little higher than we actually were going for, the vibe is more fancy than friendly. However, it was a great place to land in Bangkok, get over our jet lag and get help finding our way.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Being on the river is nice, and figuring out the river ferry system isn't so hard and a great way to get to Wat Pho and the Palace.
Graham H. Couples United Kingdom, December 28, 2012
First Rate Hotel

Quality of room,staff and excellent food
8.7
we chose the shang for our christmas break and we were not disappointed by any aspect of the hotels offerings.some of the restaurant staff looked a little stressed at times which idicated that perhaps they were stretched a little thin at times
Travel tip: Ask for the the wing that has rooms with balconies overlooking the river
Glenn C. Families with young children United States of America, December 28, 2012
Long in the tooth but long on service too!

Very good service, at times truly exceptional
8.3
The hotel shows its age at points despite recent updating. Still, hard to beat the river views and the location. The staff is also very good. The pool is lovely and though crowded at times, it is very well managed by the best pool staff I have ever seen in such a place. Put your trust in their hands and you will be treated. Food was also pretty good if pricey.
Hotel Feature Tip: River view room is definitely worth the cost.
Michael P. Families with young children United Kingdom, December 27, 2012
Great location by the river, room was a bit tired

Usual Shangri-La standards outweighed some service inflexibility
7
Enjoyed the location by the river, nice views and handy for river trips and the overhead railway. Breakfast at the Horizon Club was a bit limited in choice and disappeared exactly at 1030 even though people were still eating. Unhelpful Transportation Desk typical of service inflexibility generally, but overall an enjoyable stay.
Yeung T. Groups Hong Kong, December 26, 2012
Luxury room

Excellent service
8.7
Excellent service. Locate next to the BTS and pier. Nice river view. Welcoming fruits are prepared daily. Clean and comfortable beds. Good value for money.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: BTS takes around 20 minutes to city center If you have 2 or more persons, taking taxi maybe a better option. Beware of traffic jam when going into the city center.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok BangkokShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Salathip Restaurant Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Salathip RestauarantShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Salathip RestaurantShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Angelini RestaurantShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Lobby LoungeShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Chi Spa Water TherapiesShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - CHI The SpaShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Swimming Pool at Krungthep Wing Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Main Swimming PoolShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - One of the largest Fitness Centre in BangkokShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Locker Room at Health ClubShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Health ClubShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - The Boardroom SuiteShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - The Garden GalleryShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Thai Wedding Ceremony by the RiverShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Grand Ballroom BanquetingShangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Bangkok - Shang Palace Entrance

Customer Reviews - Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, Bangkok

AS-AGWEB-3B05