Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 9.0
Based on 2105 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2105 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 9.2
  • Value for money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 8.8
Sort by

Wing W. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
disappointed
location, breakfast,
I feel disappointed, as the furniture is old and the balcony view is not as good as i expected
Reviewed December 25, 2015

Janeen A. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Lovely setting and views
Breakfast, river view, location.
Our 3 night stay was fantastic! We had a deluxe king room with balcony in the Krungthep wing. The room was spacious, had a great river view of Chao Praya River, and included complimentary bottled water and fresh fruit. The breakfast at the riverside lounge was great: Pokky and staff were excellent. Breakfast included buffet of fresh and dried fruit, pastries, cereals, yogurts, cheeses, meats, fresh juices, coffee, tea, choice of menu hot entree such as eggs or waffles/pancakes/french toast, breads/toast, and Thai dishes among other items. There was also a complimentary afternoon tea with tea/coffee, finger sandwiches, scones, macarons and other sweets. In addition, there was complimentary happy hour from 5:30-7:30 with delicious canapés, desserts, and drinks. Delicious bites of food. In the room one day there were cookies to go with the in-room tea/coffee. This hotel fed us well! One night we dined at Salathip, the hotel's Thai restaurant on the river. Beautiful ambiance. However, service was not as good as the breakfast service. Plus, the staff left the doors open to outside and Mosquitos entered, which was annoying while eating having to shoo Mosquitos away. The food was good but not outstanding for the price. Lastly, the hotel offers a free shuttle boat ride (about 10-15 minutes) on the river to Asiatique, an outdoor touristy mall of restaurants, shops, Ferris wheel, shows, etc.
Reviewed December 24, 2015

Rosemary I. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Lovely hotel let down by quality of dining
Room, view, front desk staff
Very happy with the hotel overall except for our experience dining, which was so bad I would not return to this hotel again. The service was shambolic and the food extremely overpriced. I don't mind paying extra for dining in a 5 star hotel provided the meals and service are of a high standard. Unfortunately my experience of dining in this hotel was the exact opposite. On the positive side my room, which was only the basic option, was fantastic, with a good view of the river, in spite of not having paid the extra for a river view room. Front desk staff were extremely good, and room service was quick and attentive.
Reviewed December 24, 2015

Sidney A. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
river view
location
fine
Reviewed December 22, 2015

azwatee A. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Short getaway
Room comfort, location, river view.
No pool for children. The staff at Horizon Club (24th Floor) were not friendly and could not speak english. Some were very strict with time and did not allow me to take the food although i was only 5 min early.
Reviewed December 21, 2015

rahul T. from India
Families with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
excellent service
location, facilities and service
Had a great time. Horizon club service is great. Staff is very helpful and boat service is also excellent.
Reviewed December 20, 2015

charles W. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Great stay
Room, ammenities and staff
It was a perfect stay
Reviewed December 19, 2015

Fauzi J. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Best view and Location
Classic, Best Location and easy transportation
Stay with several friends at Shangri-la for office outing is good and convenience.
Reviewed December 17, 2015

ALVIN W. from Indonesia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
Probably one of the best hotels in Bangkok
Luxury, location, services
Well we only stayed for 1 night. Arriving in the evening and departing in early morning the next day. We booked the room facing to the river so the view is incredible from the balcony. And the staffs are very friendly, polite abd helpful. Shangri La never fails to deliver.
Reviewed December 17, 2015

Fauzi J. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Hotel conditon is old and need total renovation
Location, view and good ambience
Shangri-la is good name but unfortunate the hotel and facility old already. Need some renovation and extend the entertainment faacity such as club and disco
Reviewed December 15, 2015