My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shangri-la Hotel

78 Beishan Road, West Lake District - West Lake Scenic Area, Hangzhou, China 310007 (Show on map)

Book now!

Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - View Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Suite Room Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Lobby Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest Room Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest Room Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest Room Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest Room Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest Room Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest Room Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Restaurant Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Lobby Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Hotel Exterior Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Restaurant Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Buffet Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Restaurant Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Restaurant
Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Swimming Pool Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Restaurant Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Meeting Room Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Suite Room Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Suite Room
Hotel Area: West Lake District - West Lake Scenic Area Number of Rooms: 382
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

8.0

based on
150 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (150)
Sort by:
Cecile K. Solo travelers Hong Kong, February 19, 2014
Great quiet retreat

Close to West Lake, good service and friendly staff, all-inclusive services and facilities
7.7
Good, quiet stay for a short retreat, but I had a problem checking in because the hotel staff couldn't find my booking via agoda.com. While it was soon resolved and didn't cause any problem perhaps agoda.com and the hotel can work more closely to make sure the bookings are properly recorded and communicated. The hotel was a bit far from the eateries around West Lake on foot, at least 10-15 minutes. It was okay for me but probably not so for other family and individual travellers.
Wen M. Couples China, January 12, 2014
Great

location, Location and Location
7.3
Sook T. Couples Malaysia, January 1, 2014
Great Service at Horizon Club, Bad Coffee Garden

Service at Horizon Club, View from the Room, Quiet surroundings
6
A week prior to arriving,I called to ask about the dinner buffet on New Year's eve.I specifically asked if "hairy crabs" were a part of the dinner buffet,since it was a special occasion.I was told that they will be included on NYE,hence I decided to make a reservation.On the evening itself,I was utterly disappointed and felt cheated as not only was the quality of the food and service were so bad,there was no "hairy crabs" as was promised.When I couldn't find it,I asked a staff if they had any,and he answered me "all seafood is there" while pointing at an area.The staff at Coffee Garden were unattentive,and lack the kind of service you would expect from a 2-star hotel (let alone a 5-star?).Throughout the dinner,the staff were huddled together,chit chatting.There were many times when I had to walk to an area to request for the staff to clear my table when I return with a new plate but the table was still full with used plates.Not to mention,they lack smiles and the most basic service standards.The taste of the food was also not on par with the brand name. I did enjoy the professional service rendered by the staff at the Horizon Club.They reflected the 5-star brand image of the hotel.Every time I was there and happen to look over,the staff always had a smile.A few times I walked over to the coffee or tea area,the staff would quickly come over to offer help. After checking out,the staff at Horizon Club called the concierge to inform them that I would require a taxi.At the main lobby,a female staff approached me and said that "I would try to get you a taxi,but the customer prior to you had to wait for more than 1 hour,so if you are in a hurry to catch a flight/train,there is no guarantee you will arrive in time".After waiting for half an hour,the female staff approached me again and asked me to take the bus.Since I was in a rush,I agreed,and she took my luggage,then walked me out to the bus stand.She ensured I got onto the bus before she walked back into the hotel.
Tai G. Couples Malaysia, December 21, 2013
average

close to park, restaruant,
6
the hotel is old, but still consider ok and the wifi is free of charge this was fantastic
Joseph B. Couples Philippines, December 11, 2013
Relax and natural enviroment

Near to famous west lake, quiet and fresh air
8.3
Its very impressive in term of location near to famous west lake park. Good for morning exercise and evening with nice mist and fresh air
Chiang P. Families with young children Singapore, December 9, 2013
One of the better hotels in Hangzhou

Surrounding, cleanliness, Nice staffs
7.7
Generally it is a pleasant stay. The hotel staffs and restaurants were good, though the food prices are on the high side. The location is not that accessible as you have to walk down a long driveway to reach the main road, where public transport like buses and taxis are available. It is next to the well-known West Lake, so you can take a long walk to loop from the West Lake to the temple of Yue Fei.
Kim H. Couples Singapore, October 29, 2013
Comfortable, nice and friendly staff

nice room, friendly staff and good surroundings
8.7
No issues, our stay was very pleasant. We stayed in Villa room and we enjoyed the quiet and pleasant surroundings.
Veronica C. Business travelers Italy, October 21, 2013
Hotel in a quiet area

Size of room - Friendly staff - Food
7
Hotel faces the lake so it is a nice area to walk along the promenade. Check-in was really fast and the staff was very kind and eager to make sure I had a good time while staying with them.
Meng C. Solo travelers Taiwan, October 18, 2013
cozy place

location, quiet, cozy
9
It's in a nice and quiet location right next to west lake. Hotel is ancient like matching the historical site of Hangzhou.
Lais K. Couples Brazil, October 15, 2013
Nice hotel, great location

Location, friendly staff, Horizon Club
8
The hotel is nice and staff super friendly, always trying to help. Staying at the Horizon Club floor was great with a nice place fo breakfast, more exclusive with nice view, and complimentary happy hour drinks and snacks. The location is great, but the hotel is quite outdated and expensive for what it is, if i go to Hangzhou again, i would consider staying at the Hyatt, which is also has excellent location and a great Restaurant.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Shangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Hotel ExteriorShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - ViewShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Suite RoomShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - LobbyShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest RoomShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest RoomShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest RoomShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest RoomShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest RoomShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Guest RoomShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - RestaurantShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - LobbyShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Hotel ExteriorShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - RestaurantShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - BuffetShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - RestaurantShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - RestaurantShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Swimming PoolShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - RestaurantShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Meeting RoomShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Suite RoomShangri-la Hotel Hangzhou - Suite Room


AS-AGWEB-3B02