arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 1353 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1353 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.4

Co L.
Canada
November 28, 2014
Pretty awesome hotel
Got it at discount, beautiful beach, friendly staff
We got the hotel at a huge discount which is why I gave a score of 5 for "Value for money". They had some construction going on, but the noise didn't bother us at all, it was just that we couldn't see the entire lobby as to what it should look like. Great staff, no complaints at all. Very accommodating and courteous! Rooms were very clean, neat, very nice and comfortable! If only the TV could have HD =(

LIA L.
Philippines
November 24, 2014
Superb
The staff, the facilities, the room

andrian S.
Philippines
November 22, 2014
nice hotel
the staff is so kind
memorable

Ma A.
Philippines
November 21, 2014
awesome
wish i could stay a bit longer..

Nancy W.
Indonesia
November 21, 2014
Get away to relax
service was great from arrival to departure time. service staffs were attentive. great service especially at the front desk n the assistant manager.
Overall was very good. Unfortunately when I wanted to use the toilet in my room after checking in, I was shocked to see a tiny poo floating on the toilet bowl. I flushed few times n cleaned the seat before using it. When I was soaking in the tub, to my amazement I noticed poo stains around the toilet bowl and the shower curtain was stained with algae. As it was late I rest the matter till the following day. I called guest service the next morning to request for my toilet bowl to be cleaned with full information on the condition of the toilet bowl. When I returned from my swim, the same stains were still there. After my shower I got hold of the chambermaid and I gave her the instructions to clean and change the shower curtain which wasn't the job of hotel guest. I wonder if the guests service counter understood of my complain and communicated well with housekeeping department. Poo in the toilet bowl and stains upon checking in is not a small matter, but they didn't seem to take it seriously so much so I had to give direct instructions to the chambermaid. I believe before any check out room is released for new guest, the housekeeper should check thoroughly which in my case was not carried out. I took pictures of the curtain and stained toilet bowl. This is not acceptable at all for any hotel n especially Shangrila. I didn't make a big fuss as I didn't want the chambermaid to take the blame n ask to leave. I am writing so as to let Shangrila Mactan housekeeping department to improve. If you need the pictures as proof, I can provide them. I hope Shangrila Mactan gets a copy of what I am writing.

Jeremiah J.
Philippines
November 18, 2014
The best
Everything

CECILIA W.
South Korea
November 17, 2014
Unacceptable breakfast situation
Extensive grounds/activities available, friendly staff that tried their best (but you can tell they were stressed by the crowd) and reasonably comfortable sleep.
All was good except for the exceptional crowd the day we stayed and the need to queue/wait for breakfast. This the first time I have to queue to eat breakfast at a 5-star location. To me, this is unacceptable especially given the rate I paid. The facilities to cater for breakfast for a hotel that size was inadequate. I feel sorry for the staff that really tried their best to manage the crowd. I would like to commend the hotel on attempting to give me a room earlier, this was really appreciated. This made me feel that it is indeed a 5-star hotel abeit marred by the breakfast experience.

Leif N.
Norway
November 14, 2014
Very nice with friendly and service minded staff.
Staff, food, beach
Even the weather was fantastic. Marvelous snorkeling trip with boat and the best guide.

Cristy S.
Philippines
November 09, 2014
Perfect for families
There is something for each member of the family. There was a wide range of water sports available. Snorkeling spots was very near to the beach.

Andre M.
Philippines
November 05, 2014
Kid-friendly resort
Pool, beach, kids' activity areas
Our stay was fantastic. My boys love the pool and activity area. The resort is the most kid-friendly resort we've ever been.