Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 1367 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1367 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.4

Che Y. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
friendly staff. good facilities. delicious buffet
great place to go with a young family every one was happy loss to do at the resort. a bit pricey though
Reviewed December 02, 2014

Nathalie C. from France
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2014
for families - not a romantic escape
snorkeling, breakfast
Service is nice but inefficient, big complex, ideal for families, but not suited for couples or romatic vacations. Beach is OK not up to par with Boracay.
Reviewed December 01, 2014

Liza L. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in November 2014
great staff, good food, clean resort, great beach
great staff, nice pool, child friendly resort and good food
Overall satisfied. Very child friendly resort.
Reviewed December 01, 2014

Co L. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Pretty awesome hotel
Got it at discount, beautiful beach, friendly staff
We got the hotel at a huge discount which is why I gave a score of 5 for "Value for money". They had some construction going on, but the noise didn't bother us at all, it was just that we couldn't see the entire lobby as to what it should look like. Great staff, no complaints at all. Very accommodating and courteous! Rooms were very clean, neat, very nice and comfortable! If only the TV could have HD =(
Reviewed November 28, 2014

LIA L. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Superb
The staff, the facilities, the room
Reviewed November 24, 2014

andrian S. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
nice hotel
the staff is so kind
memorable
Reviewed November 22, 2014

Ma A. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
awesome
wish i could stay a bit longer..
Reviewed November 21, 2014

Nancy W. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Get away to relax
service was great from arrival to departure time. service staffs were attentive. great service especially at the front desk n the assistant manager.
Overall was very good. Unfortunately when I wanted to use the toilet in my room after checking in, I was shocked to see a tiny poo floating on the toilet bowl. I flushed few times n cleaned the seat before using it. When I was soaking in the tub, to my amazement I noticed poo stains around the toilet bowl and the shower curtain was stained with algae. As it was late I rest the matter till the following day. I called guest service the next morning to request for my toilet bowl to be cleaned with full information on the condition of the toilet bowl. When I returned from my swim, the same stains were still there. After my shower I got hold of the chambermaid and I gave her the instructions to clean and change the shower curtain which wasn't the job of hotel guest. I wonder if the guests service counter understood of my complain and communicated well with housekeeping department. Poo in the toilet bowl and stains upon checking in is not a small matter, but they didn't seem to take it seriously so much so I had to give direct instructions to the chambermaid. I believe before any check out room is released for new guest, the housekeeper should check thoroughly which in my case was not carried out. I took pictures of the curtain and stained toilet bowl. This is not acceptable at all for any hotel n especially Shangrila. I didn't make a big fuss as I didn't want the chambermaid to take the blame n ask to leave. I am writing so as to let Shangrila Mactan housekeeping department to improve. If you need the pictures as proof, I can provide them. I hope Shangrila Mactan gets a copy of what I am writing.
Reviewed November 21, 2014

Jeremiah J. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2014
The best
Everything
Reviewed November 18, 2014

CECILIA W. from South Korea
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2014
Unacceptable breakfast situation
Extensive grounds/activities available, friendly staff that tried their best (but you can tell they were stressed by the crowd) and reasonably comfortable sleep.
All was good except for the exceptional crowd the day we stayed and the need to queue/wait for breakfast. This the first time I have to queue to eat breakfast at a 5-star location. To me, this is unacceptable especially given the rate I paid. The facilities to cater for breakfast for a hotel that size was inadequate. I feel sorry for the staff that really tried their best to manage the crowd. I would like to commend the hotel on attempting to give me a room earlier, this was really appreciated. This made me feel that it is indeed a 5-star hotel abeit marred by the breakfast experience.
Reviewed November 17, 2014