arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 1337 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1337 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Staff Performance 8.9
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.4

9.3 aird O.
United Kingdom
October 27, 2012
Beautiful resort with excellent staff
Fabulous resort, with everything you want and need
we had a wonderful time during our stay, i added an extra day on to our original booking as we had been told by friends that the resort experience was exceptional - they where right, we have had a very enjoyable and relaxing time. i would recommend this resort to anybody that wants to be treated like royalty, the staff are extremely pleasant and always willing to help you. well done and a big thank you to the resort staff and management.

6 LAURA H.
France
October 26, 2012
So so
Nice welcome, great resort
Very convenient - Swimming pools are great, the beach is wonderful But great disappointment on rooms (oldfashioned, damp smell,...not in line with the price!!)

6 Wesley L.
Philippines
October 25, 2012
Shang but missing the ri-La
Beautiful location, some departments have quick and efficient service.
We were received warmly upon arriving. Check in was relatively quick since there were a lot of people checking in. Luggage arrived very promptly. The room was nice however, tv was old and picture was snowy. Bath tub had a lot of deep scratches making it look dirty. Other than the two, we did not have any complaints. Room air conditioning was nice and cool. Room service is very quick, but they miss anticipating the need for condiments. All positive for the pools and beach. Personnel at the pools were very friendly and quick to serve your needs. Food serving was rather slow in Tea of Spring. The breakfast buffet was jam packed so ordering omelletes at the egg station and coffee took a long time to be served. Checking out early in the morning was a bit of a hassle as there was only one receptionist at that time. We were rushing to the airport but had to wait in line. But in fairness, for guests like me who are no-nonsense type of guys, was able to be checked out in less than 5 minutes when my turn came. So my overall comment is that I have had better experiences at other Shangrila resorts and Shangrila Mactan was just as beautiful however misses in some points making it just a Shang... without the ri-La or it was incomplete. I have come to have a high expectation when it comes to their hotel/resort based on my previous experiences with their other resorts.

9.3 Hermann B.
Germany
October 25, 2012
Perfect service rooms average...
Exelent food,pools,bars,restaurants a beach..
A exelent hotel in service. Pool , Restaurants, but the rooms are poore and laud..overall compare with the Crimson nearby...if the hotel room is important..go to the Crimson.. If you want to be taken care of as a movie star come here.. I never got that importand feeling of being importand in any other hotel... You look up and someone is there to serve you.. Excelent!

7 Othilie N.
France
October 24, 2012
Family hotel wiht great service and location
Private white sand beach
We had a wonderful stay at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa. Location is really great, especially the private white sand beach. Rooms are Ok and can be sometimes a bit far away from the restaurant, as the complex is really big. Service is very good (as often in Asia). Food from the buffet was good too. I would not recommend it for a romantic escape, as it is really a big resort with many rooms. It's ideal for a family.

9 Ji P.
South Korea
October 19, 2012
very very fantastic place
Because hotel has a beautiful beach, it was convenient that we enjoy swiming and snorkeling.
The condition of room was good, but it is not that beautiful. Just it was neat and clean enoughly. But the beach of resort was perfect!!! So we could enjoy swimming and snorkeling enoughly. And I would like to recommend you to join the free class teaching snorkeling and etc. We should have experienced more classes! And though we didn't use the facilities for babies, the resort had some for babies or children. I think it is good point. Also all staffs were kind and restaurant was very good !!

10 Burton C.
United States
October 15, 2012
Great Hotel, great location
Service is great, view and facitlies perfect
This hotel is one of the best in the ShangriLa group

9.7 Teresa F.
United States
October 14, 2012
Paradise on the Beach
Colorful snorkeling and a great buffet
We booked in the Ocean Wing on Agoda, then purchased a reasonable upsell to a premiere suite when we arrived at check-in. The view from the balcony was gorgeous, the bathroom luxurious, and housekeeping left us fresh flowers and mangoes after tidying up. The beach is nice (especially on a sunny day). It's a bit rocky when you get in the water, but it makes the snorkeling excellent! We saw colorful parrot fish, clown fish, sargeant majors, eels, bright blue star fish and the list goes on. The staff was exceptionally friendly. You can't go wrong here if you're looking for a relaxing escape.

7.3 Jeremy C.
United States
October 12, 2012
Great Hotel but small rooms and too many kids
Nice facilities and nice private beach
i wrote an earlier review but don't know if it was submitted so here's a re-write/summary. i've stayed at this hotel several times prior and so decided to stay again. the biggest change is that this shangrila has now become more of a children and family-friendly hotel and definitely not for those adults who want a peaceful, romantic getaway with quietness and serenity. there were kids everywhere and if this is what you want, then bring your family and children here and they will love it. however, if you're an "adults-only" style traveler who want to enjoy some peace and quiet from more 'mature' company then sadly this shangrila has gone away from that and definitely is more for those with 2 or more kids! it's full of them and if you're a solo or lone couple you will definitely be a minority. the front-end checkin staff sadly did not perform to our expectations. they were rude, indifferent to our concerns, and just plain fake. however, all the other staff from the waiters, to servers, to bell-boys, concierge, security, housekeeping, beach valets, etc - were terrific. absolutely star performers and keeping with the shangrila brand and high quality. it made up for the front-end/check-in staffs incompetence.

9.3 Paul N.
Singapore
October 11, 2012
Fantastic hotel which just renovated
Private beach and close to the hotel
the staff were friendly and met all our needs. The private beach is very convenient and all outdoor activities are easily accessible. the restaurant served a fantastic cuisine