Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 1366 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1366 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.4
Sort by

Ruth K. from United Kingdom
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Very friendly and great location
great pool, and buffet breakfast and dinner, and the kids eat free!
we were delayed getting there by a typhoon but once we got there they were extremely welcoming and helpful. They gave me a cake and flowers on my birthday!
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Margie O. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Great hotel with awesome beach
Nice rooms with a view and awesome beach for swimming and snorkling
The hotel was grand. Accomodations was wonderful. Shuttle was not free, but convenient from the airport. Beach and swimming pool areas are awesome. Food was mediocre and very expensive. Everytime you buy something it includes service charge and 12% VAT. The hotel was supposed to be a double occupancy but I was charged double because on my hotel voucher from Agoda it only showed 1 person. Anyways, I didn't want to ruin my short and expensive stay in this hotel, so I went ahead and just pay for it and never complained. But as far as I was concerned, that was stupid for them to do that.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

aird O. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Fabulous location and beautiful resort
Excellent experience
Magnificent resort, staff treat you like royalty, very comforting environment. It was an absolute delight staying here and would recommend it to anybody, you pay a bit more than avarege but well worth it. We sampled most of the restaurants and all of them were excellent. Can't wait until we return for another totally relaxing time. One thing to watch out for is the taxi's don't like going to the resort and want to charge you more than the meter rate, as they say they can't get a return fare, I didn't understand this as they are a short distance way from the airport...
Reviewed October 27, 2012

aird O. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2012
Beautiful resort with excellent staff
Fabulous resort, with everything you want and need
we had a wonderful time during our stay, i added an extra day on to our original booking as we had been told by friends that the resort experience was exceptional - they where right, we have had a very enjoyable and relaxing time. i would recommend this resort to anybody that wants to be treated like royalty, the staff are extremely pleasant and always willing to help you. well done and a big thank you to the resort staff and management.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

LAURA H. from France
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
So so
Nice welcome, great resort
Very convenient - Swimming pools are great, the beach is wonderful But great disappointment on rooms (oldfashioned, damp smell,...not in line with the price!!)
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wesley L. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Shang but missing the ri-La
Beautiful location, some departments have quick and efficient service.
We were received warmly upon arriving. Check in was relatively quick since there were a lot of people checking in. Luggage arrived very promptly. The room was nice however, tv was old and picture was snowy. Bath tub had a lot of deep scratches making it look dirty. Other than the two, we did not have any complaints. Room air conditioning was nice and cool. Room service is very quick, but they miss anticipating the need for condiments. All positive for the pools and beach. Personnel at the pools were very friendly and quick to serve your needs. Food serving was rather slow in Tea of Spring. The breakfast buffet was jam packed so ordering omelletes at the egg station and coffee took a long time to be served. Checking out early in the morning was a bit of a hassle as there was only one receptionist at that time. We were rushing to the airport but had to wait in line. But in fairness, for guests like me who are no-nonsense type of guys, was able to be checked out in less than 5 minutes when my turn came. So my overall comment is that I have had better experiences at other Shangrila resorts and Shangrila Mactan was just as beautiful however misses in some points making it just a Shang... without the ri-La or it was incomplete. I have come to have a high expectation when it comes to their hotel/resort based on my previous experiences with their other resorts.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hermann B. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Perfect service rooms average...
Exelent food,pools,bars,restaurants a beach..
A exelent hotel in service. Pool , Restaurants, but the rooms are poore and laud..overall compare with the Crimson nearby...if the hotel room is important..go to the Crimson.. If you want to be taken care of as a movie star come here.. I never got that importand feeling of being importand in any other hotel... You look up and someone is there to serve you.. Excelent!
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Othilie N. from France
Groups
Stayed one night in July 2012
Family hotel wiht great service and location
Private white sand beach
We had a wonderful stay at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa. Location is really great, especially the private white sand beach. Rooms are Ok and can be sometimes a bit far away from the restaurant, as the complex is really big. Service is very good (as often in Asia). Food from the buffet was good too. I would not recommend it for a romantic escape, as it is really a big resort with many rooms. It's ideal for a family.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ji P. from South Korea
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
very very fantastic place
Because hotel has a beautiful beach, it was convenient that we enjoy swiming and snorkeling.
The condition of room was good, but it is not that beautiful. Just it was neat and clean enoughly. But the beach of resort was perfect!!! So we could enjoy swimming and snorkeling enoughly. And I would like to recommend you to join the free class teaching snorkeling and etc. We should have experienced more classes! And though we didn't use the facilities for babies, the resort had some for babies or children. I think it is good point. Also all staffs were kind and restaurant was very good !!
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Burton C. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2012
Great Hotel, great location
Service is great, view and facitlies perfect
This hotel is one of the best in the ShangriLa group
Reviewed October 15, 2012