arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 1352 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1352 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.4

Jeongyeol S.
South Korea
October 08, 2012
it`s so huge but so, so...
it has a nice beach and lots of big, various fishes and a comfortable system and kind deploees.
it is a very huge resort and beautiful beach. and wonderful,various, lots of fishes. i was surprised with too many fishes. but, it has two small swimming pools and very poor poolchairs compatible many people. so, i was disppointed with pools. i couldn`t use poolchairs even if i had started my day at am 7:00. the others are good and better.

Brian N.
United States
October 07, 2012
Great hotel for extended weekend with young family
kids pool, clean beach, kids playroom, large rooms, great service
spent 3 days in October with my family (2 small kids 1y and 4y old)

Anthony F.
United Kingdom
October 05, 2012
(Complaint) "Stressful arrival"
Good restaurants
Dear Sir or Madam, Once again I would like to stress how grateful I am with the amendments made with the below booking and the original mix up with the dates etc. However, I really feel you will benefit from the feedback I am about to give you. On arrival to the Shangri La hotel in Mactan Cebu last Monday afternoon the concierge were unaware of the below booking because "Agoda had not forwarded these details to them (Shangri La)". Therefore, apart from feeling a great deal of embarrassment that I had somehow made a mistake, my girlfriend and I were told we would need to spend the entire day on stand by waiting for a room to become available as the hotel was full. This caused a great deal of stress for the both of us as we weren't sure if we would have to book another hotel in Cebu. Furthermore, we were wasting a large portion of the day we could be enjoying in our hotel room that I had previously paid for. I really feel that the hotel should have apologised for this mix up and we both felt some token of compensation was due - unfortunately they did not offer any apology or gesture of good will. It was only through my own perseverance and insistence that a room could finally be provided. I would please ask that you consider the above feedback for your future customers and ensure the appropriate contact is made prior to guests arriving. There was an unnecessary amount of stress and embarrassment here, that I'm sure you will agree will not bode well for your company. I have lost confidence in Agoda and I sincerely hope that it will be restored in the future. Many thanks Kind regards

chuli T.
Taiwan
October 02, 2012
great hotel perfect for honeymoon couples
romantic settings and friendly staffs
vaule for money.great facilities and beautiful rooms

Charles S.
Philippines
September 29, 2012
A paradise south of Manila
You never have to leave the resort as everything is there for a fun and relaxing weekend
Enjoyed my stay at Mactan Shang. The place is magical. Everything you need to have fun and relax is at the resort. The food is great. The rooms are really comfortable. The facilities available are ridiculous. You get lost in time while in this resort. The staff were extra friendly, it was a no fuss holiday until I left my camera in one of their hotel taxi's. They were never able to retrieve it. I felt that no one was really there to help me. Its not a cheap-o camera to say the least. It would have been a perfect vacation except for this incident.

bruce M.
Canada
September 20, 2012
great staff,
we were at the hotel for a ironman race, the hotel was the best organized we have seen so far
great staff, nice rooms and a very good wine store right in the lobby, had a good time and stay

Edna W.
Canada
September 14, 2012
Great location and excellent view from room.
Fantastic amenities.
rooms had excellent view of gardens and sea. staff at tides and aqua restaurant were attentive and gracious. hospitality staff at lobby were sometimes too stiff and followed too scripted roles. experience at vanafi was not so pleasant. credit card swipe machine did not function and charges were taken at front desk. it triggered a 'fraud' incident with credit card company. food choices were excellent at tides but a bit too pricey. car service was very good.

Emma V.
Philippines
September 14, 2012
One great hotel with superb service
amazing beach and pools, helpful and efficient staff, lovely rooms
we loved the aqua water park for my preschooler and the pristine beach, not to mention the spacious room and helpful staff. will definitely go back there!

Fion L.
Canada
September 13, 2012
Slow service but great property
beach and swimming pool
This is our second time staying here since we wanted to try the Aquaplay area. It's a bit small but my 1.5 year old loved it. The beach is not as nice as say Boracay's but it's got snorkelling right there so it's more fun. My major complaint is the slow service at the seafood restaurant. We ordered a grilled seafood platter for two and it took over one hour to come and the restaurant was half empty! The waitress explained it's because they only have one chef / one grill. OMG, what kind of seafood restaurant is this with $$$$$ menu. Anyways, while we were waiting, I saw a large rat running under another table. I supposed since the restaurant is outdoor, they can't really control that.

Jennifer H.
United States
September 13, 2012
A bit dated and didn't meet my expectations
Clean
Not sure if I my expectations were unreasonable, but I just wasn't impressed with the Shangri La. The rooms were dated, buffets were a nightmare with the crowds, beach wasn't all that great. Perhaps it is nice for family because it is an enclosed resort, but as a couple, we were ready to leave after a couple of days. For the price, I'd stay somewhere else. It wasn't terrible, but I was just expecting more.