Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 1367 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1367 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.4

Edna W.
Canada
September 14, 2012
Great location and excellent view from room.
Fantastic amenities.
rooms had excellent view of gardens and sea. staff at tides and aqua restaurant were attentive and gracious. hospitality staff at lobby were sometimes too stiff and followed too scripted roles. experience at vanafi was not so pleasant. credit card swipe machine did not function and charges were taken at front desk. it triggered a 'fraud' incident with credit card company. food choices were excellent at tides but a bit too pricey. car service was very good.

Emma V.
Philippines
September 14, 2012
One great hotel with superb service
amazing beach and pools, helpful and efficient staff, lovely rooms
we loved the aqua water park for my preschooler and the pristine beach, not to mention the spacious room and helpful staff. will definitely go back there!

Fion L.
Canada
September 13, 2012
Slow service but great property
beach and swimming pool
This is our second time staying here since we wanted to try the Aquaplay area. It's a bit small but my 1.5 year old loved it. The beach is not as nice as say Boracay's but it's got snorkelling right there so it's more fun. My major complaint is the slow service at the seafood restaurant. We ordered a grilled seafood platter for two and it took over one hour to come and the restaurant was half empty! The waitress explained it's because they only have one chef / one grill. OMG, what kind of seafood restaurant is this with $$$$$ menu. Anyways, while we were waiting, I saw a large rat running under another table. I supposed since the restaurant is outdoor, they can't really control that.

Jennifer H.
United States
September 13, 2012
A bit dated and didn't meet my expectations
Clean
Not sure if I my expectations were unreasonable, but I just wasn't impressed with the Shangri La. The rooms were dated, buffets were a nightmare with the crowds, beach wasn't all that great. Perhaps it is nice for family because it is an enclosed resort, but as a couple, we were ready to leave after a couple of days. For the price, I'd stay somewhere else. It wasn't terrible, but I was just expecting more.

Kevin M.
Canada
September 11, 2012
Perfect family hotel
Pools, kids room, friendly staff
We had a terrific stay at the Shang Mactan. Airport transfer were smooth and easy. The hotel had amazing facilities for kids. The pools were great and there were even a few small waterslides that our 3.5 year old loved. The beach had a covered area with staff available to help children build sand castles. The lifeguard took our son to search for hermit crabs on the beach. Our son is still talking about the lovely Jean and Uncle Michael from the beach. What friendly and helpful staff! When we needed a break from the beach there was a huge playroom to enjoy.. Even Mom and Dad loved the slides. Food was average. It would be good to see such a great resort raise the qualit of the food. That being said, the pizza and ice cream were terrific.

Melvin C.
Hong Kong
September 10, 2012
excellent Getaway
best of class in Cebu, excellent place for weekend getaway
nice warm water pools for all ages. excellent private beach for relaxation or aqua sports. Excellent service, with great breakfast. the only setback is slightly far from Cebu main city, but honestly, with everything you can enjoy in the resort, there is really no point of leaving the hotel at all.

Sock C.
Singapore
September 10, 2012
Room with Mouldy Smell & Power Trip at night
extensive breakfast spread
1) the 'deluxe seaview' room = room with pool view + v far-distance sea view. NOT worth the extra price paid, should just opt for normal garden view. 2) my room, 6085, has got a mouldy smell, like it's been closed for a long time and un-used. 3)in the middle of the night, while turning on the lights, I accidently caused a power trip at 4am! didnt want the serviceman to come to my room to fix the thing, and I waited (while sleeping) till 7am before calling the serviceman to check and fix the problem. 4) the rooms are located very close to each other, and I can clearly hear when my neighbours are back to their rooms or going out. I could even hear the telephone ringing sound of the connecting room next to my room!

Ryan R.
United States
September 04, 2012
Great Stay
Beach Beach Beach
Amazing beach and water sports at Shangri La Mactan, the sand is super soft and the water is super clear. Beautiful fish are to be seen as soon as walking into the water in 10 steps. The staff at the hotel were great as well, very accommodating and informative. The resort, overall, is the complete package and doesn't have many downsides, if any at all.

CIELA U.
Philippines
August 30, 2012
Great location and complete amenities
Very near the airport and child-friendly
This is our family's favorite vacation hotel to date. We've stayed at this hotel at least three times already. In our recent stay, it was to celebrate my daughter's 7th birthday. And we also brought along my 4-year old son. We had a great family-bonding time. The kids enjoyed the Aquaplay and the adventure zone! All of us enjoyed swimming in the different pools - main pool and ocean wing pool. My husband enjoyed swimming in the open water. I, particularly, enjoyed the buffet at Tides. This hotel has everything a family needs.

DAESEO P.
South Korea
August 29, 2012
Great hotel in the Philippines...
Swimming pool and restaurant "Tides"
ShangrilLa's Mactan Resort & Spa is a best place to take a rest. Comfortable room, delicious food, exciting swimming pool and kid's amusement places. It was great time for my family. Thank you^^