Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 2046 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2046 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.3
Sort by

Jo C. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
The Shangri La Experience
Shangri La brand with a Borneo Twist
It was a pleasant stay. It's the same with other Shangri La Hotels but I find the Cebu Hotel in the Phillipines more accommodating and pleasing to guests. I think the buffet breakfast has less selection than other Shangri La hotels. Nevertheless, the experience is good.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Tang K. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Fantastic
environment, location, food
my family and i enjoyed very much during our stay in the resort. The Kota kinabalu Club house is fantastic. It had separate checck-in and check-out counter which speed up the process. The complimentary tea break was phenomenal. The view, the kids water park and the swimming pool are good. I will stay in this resort again if i come to KK again.
Reviewed September 27, 2015

Hun O. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
poor f&b service
location,integrated, marina
It was good except for very poor f&b, not up to par for a 5* hotel, service was slow, food quality and selection very very poor
Reviewed September 26, 2015

ERIC S. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
A very pleasant experience
excellent facilities, superb staff, overall guest treatment
Although it was the most expensive hotel on our trip, our time at Shangri-La (Tanjung Aru) was also the most enjoyable. For people who are concerned about the price, you are paying for the facilities and service, not primarily the room. The room itself was OK (many amenities but mediocre size), but the hotel has many great restaurants and cafes, bars, a beautiful swimming pool, a marina offering diving, jetskiing, island trips, etc., a health club, and many more. You can happily spend a weekend just on the hotel premises. One of the things I enjoyed was that the staff ALWAYS treat you like royalty, even if you're dressed like a college student. They are so friendly and helpful. In particular, the staff who helped us with our bags (I forgot his name - sorry) was so kind, informative, and helpful. Also, the free wifi is also hassle-free, unlike many other hotels. If you choose the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, I'm sure you will have a great time. Just be sure to ask for a map of the hotel area when you check in, as there were things we didn't even know existed when we checked out 2 days later.
Reviewed September 20, 2015

Raechell R. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
Nothing short of 5 star quality
Staff/Service, Rooms, Hotel surroundings
We had initially booked two different rooms as the room we wanted wasn't available on the first day here in Agoda but upon checking in they were able to give us the same sea view room sparing us the hassle of moving rooms. So that was a plus :) Room was so comfortable as is to be expected from Shangri-La hotels. The location and their hotel surroundings were great for a hotel in the city. It gets quite "rowdy" and crowded during the sunset viewing though when visitors are allowed inside but the rest of the time the hotel is peaceful and relaxing. Food has a good selection though we think there are better breakfast buffets at other Shangri-La resorts hehe. We especially loved being able to visit their sister resort Rasa Ria (for a fee via their shuttle). That resort was really beautiful with a stunning beach plus a nature reserve as well!
Reviewed September 18, 2015

Nicole C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Not relaxing at all
Good view, nothing else
It was noisy because of the pool area. We were staying at 2nd floor of tanjung view..tho it says we get seaview but it was block by all the pool and water games etc. Room was dated and old. Outside of the room, can hear clearly people walking, talking. No free shuttle to town or airport since so near. Not even shuttle to the nearby food court. Definitely not worth money to stay again.
Reviewed September 07, 2015

Stephen H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Best Service
First thing about hotel is the sunset bar : second is the staff being so friendly and hospitable. We where here 7 years ago and we met the same waiters this time.:third best is the Food, lots of it
For around $300 a night with breakfast is was ok as there was so much to choose from. We are looking forward to coming back
Reviewed September 06, 2015

DONGHOO L. from South Korea
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
very Good~~~~
very Good~~~~
very Good~~~~
Reviewed September 04, 2015

Woon L. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Perfect Resort for Family with young children
Cleanliness, Friendly Staff, Lots of fun activities
Reviewed September 02, 2015

Rima D. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
great for families with children
children's needs are met. The suites are enormous.
Avoid if you're a honeymooner
Reviewed August 26, 2015


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: