Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.6

based on
1943 reviews

809 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
9.0
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (1943)
Sort by:
Yat C. Couples China, October 4, 2015
A nice and relax resort

Big swimming pool, fun water park for kids, great breakfast buffet
7.3
It was a great resort hotel, nice, clean, & relax. With great breakfast buffet.
Report this review
Erik E. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 4, 2015
Great stay!

views, pool, staff
10
all is well!!
Report this review
Mohd O. Couples Malaysia, September 29, 2015
Relax with in the reach of Kota Kinabalu City

Staff Location Room
10
One of the best hotel i stayed. Very friendly staff. good food. excellent swimming pool.
Report this review
Samantha C. Couples United Kingdom, September 27, 2015
Good if you need a base close to the airport and t

location, room, orang utan opportunity
6.7
Stay was fine, but I expect better from something like the Shangri-La. It was full of families and the service we received on check in (admittedly late at night) was awful. Luckily we were diving so didn't have to hang around too much, but the other Shangri La (Rasa Ria) looked much nicer, when we headed over to see the orang utans. The breakfast buffet is very tailored to Asian customers and give the dinner buffet a miss as over priced.
Report this review
Jo B. Couples Philippines, September 27, 2015
The Shangri La Experience

Shangri La brand with a Borneo Twist
8.7
It was a pleasant stay. It's the same with other Shangri La Hotels but I find the Cebu Hotel in the Phillipines more accommodating and pleasing to guests. I think the buffet breakfast has less selection than other Shangri La hotels. Nevertheless, the experience is good.
Report this review
Hun Y. Families with young children Malaysia, September 25, 2015
poor f&b service

location,integrated, marina
6.3
It was good except for very poor f&b, not up to par for a 5* hotel, service was slow, food quality and selection very very poor
Report this review
Tang L. Families with young children Malaysia, September 22, 2015
Fantastic

environment, location, food
8.7
my family and i enjoyed very much during our stay in the resort. The Kota kinabalu Club house is fantastic. It had separate checck-in and check-out counter which speed up the process. The complimentary tea break was phenomenal. The view, the kids water park and the swimming pool are good. I will stay in this resort again if i come to KK again.
Report this review
Eric S. Couples United States of America, September 19, 2015
A very pleasant experience

excellent facilities, superb staff, overall guest treatment
7.7
Although it was the most expensive hotel on our trip, our time at Shangri-La (Tanjung Aru) was also the most enjoyable. For people who are concerned about the price, you are paying for the facilities and service, not primarily the room. The room itself was OK (many amenities but mediocre size), but the hotel has many great restaurants and cafes, bars, a beautiful swimming pool, a marina offering diving, jetskiing, island trips, etc., a health club, and many more. You can happily spend a weekend just on the hotel premises. One of the things I enjoyed was that the staff ALWAYS treat you like royalty, even if you're dressed like a college student. They are so friendly and helpful. In particular, the staff who helped us with our bags (I forgot his name - sorry) was so kind, informative, and helpful. Also, the free wifi is also hassle-free, unlike many other hotels. If you choose the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, I'm sure you will have a great time. Just be sure to ask for a map of the hotel area when you check in, as there were things we didn't even know existed when we checked out 2 days later.
Report this review
Timothy A. Couples United Kingdom, September 16, 2015
Nice hotel but caters for mass tourism

Staff performance, seafront location, attached dive centre
7.7
Although it is a 5 star hotel with good amenities, wonderful service, great swimming pools and a good choice of restaurants/bars, it is catering for tourists en-masse, which I did not expect from a Shangri-La hotel. So if you expect exclusiveness, privacy and relaxation from this resort, you won’t get it. Breakfast buffet is ok but I had better breakfast buffets from other Shangri-La hotels and other hotels of the same calibre. The attached marine activities/dive centre is reasonably well run and there are regular boats out to the nearby marine park. However, the dive outfit facilities on the island are a bit rundown.
Report this review
Raechell A. Couples Philippines, September 14, 2015
Nothing short of 5 star quality

Staff/Service, Rooms, Hotel surroundings
9.7
We had initially booked two different rooms as the room we wanted wasn't available on the first day here in Agoda but upon checking in they were able to give us the same sea view room sparing us the hassle of moving rooms. So that was a plus :) Room was so comfortable as is to be expected from Shangri-La hotels. The location and their hotel surroundings were great for a hotel in the city. It gets quite "rowdy" and crowded during the sunset viewing though when visitors are allowed inside but the rest of the time the hotel is peaceful and relaxing. Food has a good selection though we think there are better breakfast buffets at other Shangri-La resorts hehe. We especially loved being able to visit their sister resort Rasa Ria (for a fee via their shuttle). That resort was really beautiful with a stunning beach plus a nature reserve as well!
Report this review
Previous page 41 - 50 of 809 reviews Next page
Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota KinabaluShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - RestaurantShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Food and BeveragesShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ShopsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Fitness RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Guest RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Guest RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Guest RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BeachShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Nearby AttractionShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Guest RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Guest RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Meeting RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Meeting RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - RestaurantShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BeachShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BallroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BallroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Mountain View RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Mountain View RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Seaview RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Seaview RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung SeaviewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung SeaviewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Club Executive Seaview SuiteShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Deluxe SuiteShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Deluxe SuiteShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Executive Seaview SuiteShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Wing Presidential Seaview Suite Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Wing Presidential Seaview Suite (Living Room)Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BathroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BathroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Executive LoungeShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Executive LoungeShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - GymShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - WaterparkShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Swimming PoolShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Swimming PoolShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Yoga SunsetShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Shang PalaceShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Food and BeveragesShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - CafeShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Coco Joe’s Bar & GrillShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Sunset BarShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Cool BoxShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BallroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BallroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - GardenShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Golf CourseShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Coco Joes Cabana and BeachShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Pool horizontalShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BeachShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Chi The Spa


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C05