Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.6

based on 1978 reviews

824 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
9.0
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (1978)
Sort by:
Marie K. Couples United States of America, October 21, 2015
Comfortable resort with attentive staff

Food, service, bed
9.7
The hotel was pleasant and the breakfast in the Kinabalu Club was good and generous. The staff were very helpful. Our room was a little worn and not as nice as we were expecting for the price (and when we returned later in our trip for another stay we had a much nicer room, which confirmed my feeling our first room was not up to standard). However, for just one night it was fine, and the bathroom, view, and comfortable bed were all extremely nice and made up for the slightly shabby furniture and carpet.
Report this review
Kong T. Couples Malaysia, October 19, 2015
Good location

Good view,good location,and room are nice
8
A good choices to stay
Report this review
Young L. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 16, 2015
Great vacation for family or group

The location and views, the convenience of the Star Marina at the hotel, the staff guides at the Star Marina
7.7
I went island hopping and snorkeling with the resort's Star Marina. I think that was the best part of our stay aside from the sunsets. Our dining experience at Cafe Tatu was not pleasant. The food and selections were great, but it's incredibly overcrowded and chaotic with so many east asian tourists and their children. I wouldn't have mind as much if I were there with a group of friends but for a 5-star resort, I was expecting it to be a bit more tranquil. The staff are friendly also but because the hotel was so overcrowded, it's hard for you to necessarily feel like an honored guest. Everyone is rushing around. But since everything is in one place, it was convenient, especially for the water activities. I definitely would not recommend to newlyweds going for a honeymoon here. If you do, make sure to get a nicer room on a higher floor. I got a Tanjung Wing Seaview room so that I could have a view of the sunset each evening, but what I ended up with was a view of the children's waterpark. Otherwise the hotel was a great place to stay and enjoy.
Report this review
Chwee W. Business travelers Malaysia, October 15, 2015
Overpriced hotel with aged rooms

Beach front, Views and landscape
4.7
Please note that the criticism is based on the status and pricing of the hotel and what I would expect from it. Hotel: The hotel is practically next to the airport (but not affected by flyby noises). The location is secluded from the public and yet close enough to the city via a short drive. Facilities: It has great landscaping with a choice of swimming in pools or an enclosed private beach. The Sunset Bar is a wonderful location to soak in the sunset before dinner. The lobby bar is a great place to chill with friendly service staff. Service: Staff is very friendly but probably seen a little too many well heeled travellers to go the extra mile. Meals: The buffet breakfast offers a wonderful spread with good quality food, pity about the taste. The tea and coffee is excellent. The ventilation needed a little work as I finished my breakfast smelling like the restaurant. Room: The rooms are old, and the age shows on the furniture. Although the room comes with full amenities. Unfortunately, by comparison to my previous stays in Shangri-Las, this one is way below par. This is my biggest complaint for the hotel, as they obviously need to refurbish the rooms to deliver value to the guests.
Report this review
Chi J. Families with young children China, October 11, 2015
nice sight see! good place for kids.

the swiming pool and the sliper with water are the interesting place for my son. the beach is nice! the food are good.
9.3
satisfied and happy with everything.
Report this review
Derrick G. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 11, 2015
Quick Getaway

Location, scenerary & comfort
8.7
Very nicely located resort. Has everything for whole famil from adults to children. Activities are there to choose from. Courteous and friendly staffs, willingness to help.
Report this review
Petrus C. Families with young children Malaysia, October 11, 2015
Excellent

Facilities, friendly staffs and relaxing place
9.7
Report this review
Gerald S. Families with young children Malaysia, October 11, 2015
My Shangri-la Tg Aru Experience

1. Most of the staff were very professional and attentive. 2. My upgraded room was breath-taking. 3. The outdoor pool were fantastic for my child, especially the slides.
8.3
Memorable. Will return for more stay in days.
Report this review
Jason T. Couples Malaysia, October 10, 2015
nice resort...best club sandwich ever...

good service...good location...wonderful view
7.3
service was as expected for a 5 star resort. food was generally overpriced but of good quality. but the view and location of the place was excellent!
Report this review
Nelson D. Couples Malaysia, October 10, 2015
Excellent location

Location, cleaness and staff hospitality
7
Enjoyed though a bit pricey
Report this review
Previous page 41 - 50 of 824 reviews Next page
Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota KinabaluShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - RestaurantShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Food and BeveragesShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ShopsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Fitness RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Guest RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Guest RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Guest RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BeachShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Nearby AttractionShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Guest RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Guest RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Meeting RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Meeting RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - InteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - RestaurantShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BeachShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BallroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BallroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Mountain View RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Mountain View RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Seaview RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Seaview RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung SeaviewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung SeaviewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Club Executive Seaview SuiteShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Deluxe SuiteShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Deluxe SuiteShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Executive Seaview SuiteShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Wing Presidential Seaview Suite Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Wing Presidential Seaview Suite (Living Room)Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BathroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BathroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Executive LoungeShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Executive LoungeShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - GymShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - WaterparkShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Swimming PoolShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Swimming PoolShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Yoga SunsetShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Shang PalaceShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Food and BeveragesShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - CafeShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Coco Joe’s Bar & GrillShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Sunset BarShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Cool BoxShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BallroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BallroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - GardenShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Golf CourseShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Coco Joes Cabana and BeachShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SurroundingsShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Pool horizontalShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BeachShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ExteriorShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Chi The Spa


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01