or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Seaview Room Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Mountain View Room Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Wing Presidential Seaview Suite Bedroom Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Wing Presidential Seaview Suite (Living Room) Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Club Executive Seaview Suite Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Spa Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Gym Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Shang Palace Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Food and Beverages Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Executive Lounge Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Cafe Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Coco Joe’s Bar & Grill Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Sunset Bar Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Cool Box Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kid’s club cookies activity Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kid’s club outdoor activity
Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Waterpark Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Yoga Sunset Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Golf Course Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Ballroom Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Beach Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Coco Joes Cabana and Beach Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Pool horizontal Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Chi The Spa Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - View Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - View
Area: Tanjung Aru Number of Rooms: 492
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.6

based on
1478 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (1478)
Sort by:
Jessie C. Families with young children Brunei Darussalam, July 29, 2014
Great place for a family

Service, facilities and rooms
8.3
Upon checking in at the hotel, we were told that our room was not ready yet as they were running at full capacity. We were disappointed as it was already 8pm by then and we were hoping to check in quickly and go into town to have dinner. The resort made up for it by buying us dinner and the staff personally bringing the keys to us at dinner, telling us the air conditioning had already been turned on so ensure the room was nice and cool when we went up. Walls are a bit thin as we found out that night. My children's happy shrieks in the bathtub were the source of complaint for one of the guests in a neighboring room. The next day we discovered the lovely pool which was strictly sectioned off so that very young children were not allowed where it is too deep. The water lagoon with all the slides was also fantastic for all. The kids also ventured to the kids club after breakfast for some great activity and play time. Upon checking out, we found out that guests who arrive early or leave later in the day after checking out are entitled to use the Star Lounge so you can choose to stay on in the resort and be able to enjoy the amenities with a place to refresh yourselves after even without a room. Definitely well worth it! The rooms are a nice size though the pillows a bit soft. Overall it was a good holiday as quoted by my 3 year old :)
Myoung S. Families with young children South Korea, July 22, 2014
it was amazing circumstance with good foods!

Nice location, fabulous foods, excellent swimming pool
9.7
It gave me luxury feeling and mind. It deserves to be called the best resort in KK over other places. Great environment to refresh myself and also good place to enjoy all with kids.
Wei Y. Business travelers Malaysia, July 20, 2014
noisy busy resort

near airport
4.3
need to refurbish
Lim M. Solo travelers Malaysia, July 20, 2014
Beautiful

The room, the location, the beach area
8.7
Great!
Ng S. Groups Hong Kong, July 17, 2014
Relaxed and enjoyable.

Relaxed, nature and fun! Provide after check out service!
8
Excellent and recommend to family with little kids! Fun water slides and pools for kids.
Kin Y. Families with young children Australia, July 17, 2014
Will go again

Child friendly swimming pool
9
Good
Philip H. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 15, 2014
Doesn't feel like a Shangri-La

Airport, Gardens & Sunset Bar
4
Having stayed in numerous Shangri-La hotels they have become my first choice for any stay in Asia. The Tanjung Aru doesn't feel like a Shangri La at all. The hotel lobby is chaotic, feeling more like an Indian train station than a luxury retreat. The food is poor, unless you love deep fried everything. Most surprising is the standard of breakfast, usually Shangri-La breakfasts are an absolute treat, breakfast here feels like a motorway service area with food to match. Patience at breakfast is a must, you will potentially queue for your table, eggs and toast. It took me 20 minutes to get my eggs. Finally I was surprised that the corridor to my room was scruffy with shabby carpets and my shower and sink were heavily stained by water mold. My confidence to book Shangri-La without thought has gone!
Chiew Y. Groups Malaysia, July 14, 2014
Value for money & wholesome family holiday

1) good location 2) clean & up to standard 3) service & staff very friendly & polite
7
My family enjoyed & Love it! Will definitely return :,)
Tze K. Families with young children Malaysia, July 14, 2014
Best hotel in Kota Kinabalu

Good food, Friendly staff and Nice beach
7.3
Overall I enjoyed my stay at Shangri-La and the staff attend to my every needs in a good manner.
Rajkumar M. Families with young children India, July 13, 2014
Piad much, but amazing experience

Extraordinary location, view of the south china sea, wide variety of activityes
9.7
We have requested for a early checkin and I called couple of times as I went with a one year old baby. Still the room was not ready when we went there. However, receptionist requested me to upgrade to kinabalu club room which has access to lounge and gave me a spectacular sea view room. As went with a one year old, we enjoyed in the room much, went to the toddler play area, went to toddler swimming pools. 2.5 of days gone in seconds. Kinabalu is bit away from the reception, swimming pools, hardly few mins but when you are with family, looks bit much. breakfast was awsome with 100s of varieties. If you prefer, lounge also serves breakfast for club room members which is more quite and nice ambience than the carnival-look cafe tatu in the morning. It has everything for everyone's needs. Am more of a jungle lodge person, still I enjoyed everything. If you need a bit quiter and more romantic time, choose the other resort (rasa riya shangrila). There are 100s of activities in the sea, banana boat, diving, island hoping, parasailing etc. Foodwise, we had little bit of issues, as the elders with us (indians) found bit hard for accomodating themselves for other cuisines. However, restaurant manager Mati was so good, he spent time with us. I can write pages about his courstesy, but in sentence, he is an asset!. Chef coco, accomodated our requests and prepared indian food off the menu. Taste was okay, but the hospitality was great. Best of everything is, the view from the room. Even though its expensive, go for sea view rooms and especially club room which give you access to lounge that offers light food and free flowing drink almost all day.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Chi The SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Seaview RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Mountain View RoomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Wing Presidential Seaview Suite BedroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung Wing Presidential Seaview Suite (Living Room)Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kinabalu Club Executive Seaview SuiteShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - GymShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Shang PalaceShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Food and BeveragesShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Executive LoungeShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - CafeShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Coco Joe’s Bar & GrillShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Sunset BarShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Cool BoxShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kid’s club cookies activityShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Kid’s club outdoor activityShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - WaterparkShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Yoga SunsetShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Golf CourseShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - BallroomShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Tanjung BeachShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Coco Joes Cabana and BeachShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Pool horizontalShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - Chi The SpaShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - ViewShangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu - View

Customer Reviews - Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

AS-AGWEB-3B02